We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Break”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

At last have done the Haven hotel Sandbanks, and it was good, Really good service, room was excellent, asked for a fridge and it was no problem, Location was as good as it gets if you want to be by the sea,
If the weather is grim then this is the hotel to stay as there is plenty to do indoors, Pool, steam room etc. The breakfast was excellent. If there is a down side i think the evening menu could be better, as the choice is not great, i did speak to some people who were eating out as they thought the choice was not poor.
But what food i did see going past my table looked great.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms could do with better signs to find the lift and stairs etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    495
    254
    140
    70
See reviews for
254
716
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barking, ESSEX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We booked a weekend away via Secret Escapes and felt a little bit disappointed. We had a big room, it was warm and cosy on a blustery weekend but so much about the overall experience was a let down. To start we ate in the bar on the first night and £9 for 2 pints of Coke is a rip off no matter where you're buying it!! I clearly placed and order for 2 meals and the waitress laid the table for 2 people but when the food appeared there was only one meal! And as it was a Brie and Bacon Panini surely that would be wonderful in such a high class establishment. Wrong!!! It had very little Brie inside but LOTS of very fatty bacon. We shared the meal but it was disappointing that the order had been so misunderstood and spoilt the first night a little.

We retired to our room which as stated was warm and cosy and of a very good size for a standard room. It was very clean and the lighting was good. The bathroom had a good deep bath but tiles under the sink were broken which is a shame as things like that let the place down. We'd also noticed that the wallpaper under the bedroom window was stained as though water had got on to it. We decided to watch TV that evening but annoyingly the TV's volume was set to a whisper as its loudest setting which was really annoying. Another thing that we didn't like was the fact that the sound insulation was so poor that we could hear people in the surrounding rooms using the toilet!! NOT good. And surely the fire evacuation route should be clearly signposted in all hotels?

Breakfast the next morning was disappointing as it's a buffet style, serve yourself affair which we weren't expecting in a 4 star hotel. I'm sure the food was of good quality but it hadn't benefitted from being kept warm under heat lamps. But we had enough to eat and on subsequent mornings we ordered Eggs Benedict which was very good, probably because it was cooked to order.

On our 2nd day we had The Haven Cream Tea in La Roche Restaurant but again this was disappointing. I had assumed that one of the sandwiches was Cheese and Cucumber but no it turned out to be very thickly spread butter and not cheese. We've had Afternoon Tea in several different establishments and this was not as good as other places we've been to.

The setting is stunning and the views are magnificent. Had we known that our standard room overlooked the car park we'd have opted for a sea view but that didn't spoil things for us as we only had to walk outside to see the views.

To sum up, it feels like a substandard 3 star hotel. Indeed we've stayed in 3 star hotels, and even in B&Bs, where the food is of a much higher standard and it really was a disappointment to us. On the surface things look very grand but dig a bit deeper and it's not as grand as it would like to believe it is.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Strange, but after living in the area for 35 I've never been in this hotel before......what have I been missing.

Stayed three nights over last weekend, ok, it was a good offer so the room didn't quite overlook Studland and the harbour, but fair enough. In fact the room was the only downside, as the soundproofing could be better, as you can hear next door talking.

That said, the room was perfectly clean, very well maintained, had great blackout curtains that fitted well and a good sized bathroom with a powerful shower.

What really impressed me, was the staff. Reception, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, all perfectly professional in that beautifully informal/natural way you find in the far east. No pretence, no false smiles, but a great atmosphere and attitude. I can often turn a blind eye if the fabric of a hotel is wanting, (and the fabric is very good indeed here) but for me, it's the staff who make or break any hotel. This one certainly has a wow factor on that score. Was there one thing that surprised me? Yes....in many very good hotels around the world, it's the night team who can let the rest down, not here! On the three evening we returned late, different night staff served/reopened he bar with the aplomb and entertaining chat of professional barmen. That for me was a wonderful advertisment for this hotel, thank you.

The food is very good, breakfast is well organised and unhurried, even on a busy Sunday morning, and the views, well...........someone remind me again why I've never stayed here before. There can be few hotels anywhere with the view the Haven has......ok, maybe the Sheraton Falls at Niagara or the Shangri-La Sydney, the entrance to Poole Harbour may be less iconic, but it's pretty stunning.

The standards are such, that I know this wasn't just a lucky stay, this is one very good hotel. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea-view room! Even on a rainy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyBoy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at The Haven a few times. We go for a weekend break and R&R away from the stresses of London. What brings me back to this hotel is the views and beach. We always stay in a room with balcony, which looks onto the beautiful sea. I love laying in bed looking at the sea, reading the papers. The room is not luxurious, I think it had been repainted, but the bathroom is basic and the furnishings are mdf style. The breakfast is quite standard for a hotel, it was ok, but the staff struggled to keep it all going on the weekend. However again the views of the sea made the breakfast taste better. The la Roche restaurant menu was not extensive, the food was ok and enjoyable. I would not say it was amazing, it is convenient going downstairs to eat. We also ordered room service, the menu was not big, but good food and we ate on the balcony. The spa is lovely, a good gym, the steam and hydro pools were good, but the best was the hot tub looking out to the ocean. The spa has replaced all its furniture and loungers, so much better. The direct access onto the beach is great for long walks. The staff are so friendly. The hotel has a certain type of clientele which is also why I return, it's not your typical 'seaside' hotel. I will return again, I miss the sea view already.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rubynicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a 2 night, 3 day stay at the Haven hotel, part of the fjb group, the food was very good and staff very professional, i would recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay, with great views from the bar and restaurant. I would single out Connor, from the restaurant for great service, and congratulate the general manage, Mr John Belk, for running a superb hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Two of us stayed here at the beginning of October, our first visit. Our room was fine, breakfast excellent and a marvellous choice. However, it seemed impossible to get well cooked meat for the main course at dinner. Husband had fish, which was good. First night I tried duck, which I asked for 'well done' - it was pink, I ate about half of it. Second, recklessly, I tried chicken, two miserable legs, it didn't taste good, I ate a small amount - later I made many rapid visits to the bathroom, luckily I had imodium with me. A very poor experience. We had hoped to return here and our friends were also awaiting the result of this trial visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed numerous times at this hotel and we have come to the conclusion that for value for money the car park view room is the best. This is due to the fact the rooms are bigger, the bed is bigger, the tv is bigger and they arent as neglected as the sea view rooms. When we got to the hotel we said the same things to ourselves "it could do with a paint job" "they seem to neglect the people that come here the most" etc (we still come back for the location like all the others). We were told by some poor bloke who was paying almost £1000 for his family to stay for three nights that he was chased out of the restaurant for a soft drink, that they failed to add to the bill and that this had tipped him over the edge to not come back. Something still needs to be done about the outside pool, I was told it was 24/26 degrees on two occasions... If it is that warm why do I almost go into shock and struggle to breathe when I get in? I also see that they are finally using branded glasses at the bar so the beer doesn't go instantly flat. Good move to be honest for the amount you pay for it! Furthermore the overall feel of the hotel from a few months ago feels cleaner. Almost forgot to add... on the last day I was down for breakfast at 730,food didn't come out till 745 and the sausages were still raw in the middle. Be warned...

This review is from someone who doesn't moan very often but I feel the hotel could certainly do with a face lift and it is about time you listen to your customers. DECORATE THE HOTEL, SORT THE SEA VIEW ROOMS OUT ESPECIALLY 214 WITH THE MASSIVE CRACK IN THE SINK (you have been told three times by me, and that's JUST me!) AND TREAT LOYAL CYSTOMERS WITH A BIT MORE RESPECT BECAUSE YOU ARE LOSING THEM. Many thanks

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Mbates84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,619 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
844 reviews
5.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing