We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Attended wedding in Poole and stayed at the Haven,beautiful spot, rooms comfortable maybe dated but clean, with great view over the harbour. Staff are are very professional and I would stay again. Restaurant good value and great views with helpful staff.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking harbour a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonchirpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    517
    279
    152
    83
See reviews for
273
762
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We came to stay here for a family event for my partners parents wedding anniversary as when they use to take all there family holidays in the area when the children were young.

When arriving at the hotel we were met at the door and the porter who was very nice he took our luggage and we checked in we had a corner suite which was ok a bit basic but on closer inspection there were dirty marks on the walls round the light switches and paint flaking of the walls in areas but apart form that the room was really comfortable and clean.
As we had a nice hot summer I went to switch the air conditioning on but it kept coming up with an error message but wasn’t the end of the world. Later that day when we went to the pool I mentioned to the receptionist that it wasn’t working and if someone would take a look in case I was doing something wrong, I got a blank look from here but I guested she had taken in.
When we came up that evening to change for dinner there was a letter on the desk “we are sorry the air conditioning is broken and we have been waiting for a part to arrive, if you need a fan please go to the front desk where one will be supplied” Now this I thought was unacceptable not only had they sold us a room at full price (which for what we got I thought was horribly overpriced but it wasn’t my choice it was a family trip) but obviously the reason I had said it wasn’t working is because I wanted it on so why they felt it wouldn’t have been a good idea to put a fan in the room while they were up there was completely beyond me.
I have to say the main bar was nice and the staff there were very friendly as where the waiting staff at breakfast.
The staff at the pool bar however nice and friendly they were they also liked to have in-depth conversations with each and felt that this was much more important than serving their guests. At one point there was 4 of them behind the bar 2 of them looking directly at me as I stood about 4ft away from them all of them chatting away I actually had to say “if I’m not interrupting could I order a round of drinks” this was met with a half scowl. Now you may think I’m being fussy but I work in a hotel and that behaviour is unacceptable at no point for the 2 days we were there did I see a manager come out a check the staff at the pool and the point they were all discussing the hotel and people who worked in it, in good ear shot of the guests I thought was very unprofessional. However as I said they were all very friendly but in need of some customer service training.

The day we checked out I mention the air con incident to the receptionist and about the note once again a blank look, no sorry, no is there anything we can do. I said “I thought we deserved a rate reduction as we hadn’t got what we had paid for” but again nothing…….? So with all my partners family in ear shot I wasn’t going to start ranting so I just smile paid the bill and walked off, however I did write a letter to the manger but never heard back.

As a hotel receptionist myself I very rarely writer a bad review on staff but I am also aware of the level of customer service that guests should receive in our industry and this hotel did not come anywhere close to it.

To sum it up it was alright, the views were nice and it was clean but for the cost of the room I would have rather stayed in a much cheaper hotel if I was ever in the area again. Hopefully with better customer care.

Room Tip: find a cheaper hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVES_A_HOLIDAY_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Simply the best views over the sea to the Isle of Purbeck. Excellent reception staff and bar staff. Communal and bar areas in very good condition. Not so bedrooms- in need of updating. Other reviews have been critical of the restaurant. We didn't dine there, but our friends did and were not impressed - expensive and food not hot enough. Breakfast though was well up to standard. Pool area was perfect, especially the steam room. Big criticism though that the public were allowed to wander through the area in outdoor shoes. Surely a health hazard.
Is it a 4* hotel? No; top end of 3* probably.
Would we return. Oh yes for sure, for the happy, helpful staff and stunning, stunning views.

Room Tip: Try not to get one overlooking the main entrance. A delivery van calls there each morning between 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I attended a friend's 80th birthday lunch at the Haven Hotel a week or so ago. As I had things to do in the area next day, I decided to stay overnight. Their off-season late booking B&B price of £54.95 seemed very good value, so I went for it. I knew what to expect as I have stayed before. Although the communal areas are a bit dated in places, the room modern, clean and well equipped, if small. It had a balcony with great views out towards Old Harry rocks and the Isle of Purbeck. Breakfast was excellent. As well as dining in their "La Roche" restaurant at lunchtime, I dined there in the evening with a friend. The food was OK, with out being exceptional. Portions are fairly small and you need three courses to feel you have had a good meal, which at virtually £30 feels expensive for what you get. The range of menu choices is also small with about 5 mains, and the lunchtime and evening menus had a very similar feel. On every visit I have made the menu has had Creedy Chicken on it (whatever that is). I love the location, the staff were efficient and polite, the room was lovely and well priced, but please revamp the restaurant offering.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked the Haven as it had been a firm favourite of ours in the past. However when I read some of the reviews on here I almost cancelled ! Glad I didn't, the hotel is as charming as ever, the room we had was in excellent condition with comfy beds , great shower , TV that worked and a great view. Breakfast was of a good quality and plentiful. The outdoor pool was warm enough to swim in, in November - so we did! The staff were , without exception , helpful, friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar drinks are expensive and for the price they could have been colder. But what a view! You could be on a 1930's ship with the large glass windows and fabulous views of the sea surrounding the bar. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

All pretty average. We took a suite and was surprised that small touches such as gowns and slippers were missing. The sister hotel, Harbour Heights provided these.

Clean room with good sea view. Breakfast was self serve and average.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

The place does need a refurb, seems stuck in an original refurb if many years back. Great building with which they should do more. Could be spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be in a better location for the chain ferry, with wonderful views of the sea around the hotel. Lovely to relax in the bar and watch the sunset over the water with a good glass of wine. Room was dated and in need of a serious refurb but everything we needed was there and it worked. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfasts variable-it depends what time you get there as the hot buffet can be really good or sad and dried out; might be better if they replenished a little but often to keep everything fresh. Good and varied cold buffet, and a reasonable selection of made to order dishes including eggs royale at no extra cost. Didn't use the spa or the restaurant in the evening so can't comment on these. All in all we had an enjoyable stay and would happily visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anonKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing