We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“xmas party again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“xmas party again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

the Haven ticked all the box`s this year, great room with sea view, top class food and good pool area all we needed for our xmas party stay. its best to stay at front of hotel as these have the best view

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    495
    254
    140
    71
See reviews for
254
716
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Haven Hotel has a wonderful position at the end of the Sandbanks peninsula. The double room overlooked the car park, was spacious with a large double bed but the furniture was a bit tired. The food and the service were very good.
At check out no invoice was available, an emailed invoice was promised. Unfortunately the invoice for someone else was sent to me, complete with his name and address.
All attempts to obtain my invoice have meet with silent indifference.
I would suggest that if you stay at this hotel, be very careful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Player66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from a lovely few days at The Haven. We paid for an upgrade to a sea view delux room. Although the view was great the room, didnt really feel that delux, but it was clean and comfy. Although the bed made an odd noise whenever you sat on it (218). Some parts of the hotel feel a bit dated, others quite luxurious. The spa was a lovely facility and my wife enjoyed a few treatments. The gym was prehaps the best and most modern equipped I have seen in a hotel. I'd love to come back in the summer and make use of the outdoor pool and beach. Although I suspect it may get a but busy/cramped.

We stayed using the Amazon promotion, which I flet was briliant value. The food in the La Roche restaurant was excellent and staff service very good across the whole hotel. I'd happily recommend it and can see myself coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Not often do you go away and everything goes smoothly - from checking in - to checking out!
Lovely hotel, attentive staff, fantastic breakfast and of course the wonderful location - all in all, made this a totally stress free break - Thank you

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade - the room and view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdatwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great location right on the beach and harbour entrance.
Standard room was small - but well equipped, even had a Jacuzzi and a lovely powerful shower, and was given a sea view.
Room decor a bit dated, but in good condition throughout.
Had a very good meal in La Roche restaurant - recommended. Meal good value, but wine list overpriced. A bottle of average Prosecco that costs £7.99 in any supermarket shouldn't cost a much as what was a very nice 3 course meal. Nor should a shot of lime in a larger cost £2.30. These things stopped me rating it higher.
Hearty breakfast with plenty of choice.
Excellent service in the restaurants and throughout the hotel.
Spa looked very good though we didn't have time to use it. Outdoor pool looked very inviting too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Did an overnight here prior to early ferry to Cherbourg. The Hotel is just perfect, lovely comfortable well appointed rooms, lots facilities including Spa and Treatments. Restaurant VERY VERY good. When you consider all you get, it's not expensive at all.

Highly recommended.

We had an early start next morning, our breakfast delivered to our room at 06:45. with a smile.

We will return.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEXREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just come back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We booked this through Amazon and got a really good deal to include an evening meal on the first night. The hotel is situated right by the beach on Sandbanks and right next to the chain ferry which takes you over to Swanage. It is in a truly stunning location. The hotel itself is very impressive, the staff are attentive and friendly. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and good value. I would say that the drinks are expensive but you expect that from a four star hotel. The bedroom we were given was clean and well presented but we did not expect to get one of the best rooms as we were on a "deal" although we did get a small balcony with a side view of the sea and beach. The hotel also has a very nice indoor and outdoor pool and spa. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing