We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year what a great end and great start to the year”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 3 January 2014

On christmas day we realised that our new year away was going to be an issue due to work commitments and therefore giving no option other than to cancel our night of 1/1/14, we had paid in full non refundable and booked a suite so quite expensive; on christmas night i rang the hotel and explained our dilemma, within 30 minutes we had a call back to say we could go a night earlier and have dinner as paid for; what a service!!! the staff here are a credit to their employer and are on a parr with any 5 star hotel anywhere in the world;

we duly arived and were greeted with a great sense of humour and cammraderie regarding our "problem" we had a fabulous two nights and a great new years eve.

Thank you to every one at The Haven, we love staying with you and every stay gets better and more friendly, the food is wonderful and the location cannot be beaten even during the horrific gales that tried but failed to dampen our spirits xxx

Room Tip: Always book the best sea view 111 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Have been to The Haven about 4 times now, twixt Xmas and New Year. Why ?

Firstly, location:- Haven is at the entrance to Poole Harbour, one of the most beautiful estuaries in Britain, and fronts onto Sandbanks beach - a sandy beach walk all the way round to Bournemouth (or ferry to Studland on the other side).

Secondly:- we like swimming in the heated outdoor pool. Be warned that this involves (in winter) sort of freezing temporarily until you get into the water ... or you can wimp out and lounge around in the indoor pool.

At full rate the hotel is quite pricey, and attracts the 'Made in Chelsea' set who are best ignored. Look out for out of season bargains - this improves the value ratio !

We have been in various rooms over the years, this time in the more expensive sea view room which I found small-ish but modern. Great view though, and terrace; it is nice to hear the sound of the sea, and it was flooded with sunlight in the morning. In previous years we have overlooked the ferry (noisy), or had a family room over the Tennis court (spacious but boring).

Breakfast is a 'good hotel' buffet with fruits, ham, cheese and pastries in addition to cooked breakfast. One tip I can give you is to try the eggs benedict or florentine, which are delicious, but have to be ordered. This time we did not eat dinner in the hotel (other than light lunch at the bar) so can't comment on that, but in previous years the brasserie has been pretty good, and again the highlight of dining at the Haven is the view, including passing ferries at 'touching distance'. For a change this time we tried the nearby Cafe Shore, which is special, but pricey.

The way I look at it - a few days at the Haven makes a nice treat without the hassle and cost of flying somewhere - so why not ?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damist38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile


It was dirty, I ordered food and was relaxing ( that's the idea of a spa day) I was asked 5 times by 5 different staff had I paid for my food? We're those your plates did you pay for your food!!!!! Even though i offered to pay for the food when it was delivered, they said its ok you can pay when you leave. One of the waiting staff came over, this was the 5th person and I said " I hope you are not going to ask me if I've paid for my food too because I will be really cross , she scowled at me and shook her head just glaring at me, now if looks could kill she would have!!!! Discussing behavior. I had a treatment of a massage and during the massage she asked me if I had paid for my treatment upfront!!! And said during the treatment I will check on the payment... Not what you want to blimin hear while trying to relax for heavens sake!!!! After
I got very cross and and told them, I'm still in my towel, I am not running out the door, all my stuff is still here, I'm going to leave now as I'm more stressed now than when I came in.....
They made me walk into the restaurant in my towel In front of all the lovely dressed customers having their teas And coffee And afternoon snaks. They then told me the pay machine did not work in there and told me I would have to come into the bar where I would have had to stand a foot away from the guests. I was not happy. I left letting them know how unhappy I was. It was for my 50 th birthday surprise from my husband. He was so cross they ruined what was supposed to be a great day. I have pictures of how disgusting. The changing rooms were and the pat testing was out of date too!!!!!!
You really managed to ruin what was supposed to be a great day. I am going to put pictures on trip advisor and I have put them on Facebook too. It was absolutely discussing. See for yourself on my face book. Sarah Beaumont!!!!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
11  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We went there for a couple of nights as a pre-Christmas break. Arrived on Saturday afternoon to be warned that there was a function in the hotel that night so to expect noise. We certainly did not hear any noise from our room. The only disruption from the party was the length of time it took to get dinner.
The food for dinner was excellent, very good menu and good value for the quality. The waitress offered us the coffees as we had been waiting long, which was a nice gesture.
Breakfast was great too.
We used the spa with my son in the time that children are allowed but it seems that not everybody follows the same rules so why have rules?
We always had the feeling that staff could not do enough for you, which is brilliant.
The only issue and the reason why I can't give the hotel an excellent rating is the noise generated by the aircon unit (used for heating) in the room. We did complain after the first night and apparently something was done about it but it still made enough noise during the second night to wake us up.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

had a fabulous 3 day voucher offer in the summer, so wish I had bought more! stayed an extra night at full rack price and still loved every minute.
nothing to fault.
all staff were helpful and freindly.
liesure facilities second to none. and easy to make friends on the sun terraces. plus great staff
a few steps and you can join the beach and sea outside, very safe swimming area.
everywhere very clean inside and ouside the hotel
loved the fact that the kitchen had huge windows on 3 sides so you could tell eveything was clean and ship shape, nothing hidden in dark basements!
when in the restaurant it's like being on a cruise liner, the ferries and boats pass by, only a few meters away, you can see the sea lapping on the terrace walls,
fantastic breakfast.
eating outside on the terrace is just like being abroad

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

`A three day break at the Haven Hotel,Dec.15th to 18th. I had often looked at this hotel with its lovely location from the ferry & after finding a reasonable deal on the hotel website we booked a room with a panoramic view.
The trip did not begin well, the panoramic view turned out to be a quite faded first floor space with 50% of the vista being the corrugated iron roof of the spa . I asked in my polite English way if we could be moved but was told rooms were booked.After a short space of time I returned to reception & stated quietly that I was unhappy with the room and in terms of price and description it did not reflect the room I had selected from their website. Could they help? It was agreed we would be moved the following day when a room would be available.
From this point the hotel could not have been more helpful or friendly.The new room was perfect with glorious views & a great atmosphere . It was terrific to see the life of the ferry through one window & the great space of sea and sky on the other side.What a great place to be & so refreshing after the busy streets of London.

The food was excellent & in particular the breakfasts, high quality muesli, sausage and bacon.Breakfast was served in a room with huge windows right next to the beach and sea.Dinner was very well served and food & wine brilliant.

We particularly enjoyed the spa facilities. A very up to date gym ,spacious sauna ,heated pools and a great outdoor hot tub.Great to watch the dawn come up over the sea .

A hotel with a charming ambiance & a very warm and friendly staff.A perfect location to be in and also a very good base for walks upon the beach & the hills of Purbeck.
I was very impressed with the way our request was dealt with,effiicient and gracious.

Would love to return and enjoy the sea , the space and a very decent establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMoss186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

At the same party and have to agree with everything Kayleigh said. Disappointing after the event last year which prompted our company to return again. Food good (eventually) but service appalling. Disco dreadful. Bar service for those of us staying overnight was reluctant, tardy and prices twice that charged in the afternoon. A hotel that does not value its customers.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sooty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £63 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing