We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless stay! Lovely hotel”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Faultless stay! Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've stated here several times, but on this occasion it was for my birthday. We had a family room, and was more than happy with the space. This hotel is perfect if you like beaches and sightseeing. The indoor and outdoor pool is a massive plus. The bar is decent and the staff are friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    511
    274
    150
    81
See reviews for
271
749
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were late for the lunch menu (2.30pm) so ordered haddock and chips from the bar menu (£14.95) but ate in the restaurant overlooking Poole Bay. The fish was moist, the batter light and crisp, the chunky chips crunchy, the tartare sauce full of capers and not vinegary, and the mushy peas were simply crushed garden peas with mint. Large glasses of New Zealand sauvignon blanc full of gooseberry flavour, but expensive (£8 a glass). Good expresson coffee (Lilly). Excellent and attentive service from the young waiting staff. After a long walk, this was a great find in a superb location right on the sea front near the Sandbanks/Studland ferry - but it´s not cheap.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel, only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willybach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have stayed numerous times @ the classic , fantastically located hotel but ,this time , was rather disappointed ,,, perhaps it is the low winter season but overall the impression on this visit wasnt v good ... having stayed there frequently on viists to the UK , it was galling to pay extra for an Ocean view room , especially as the hotel appeared to be almost empty ,,,, I was looking forward to the usual excellent dinner but there was only a shortened menu with just 4 entries , none of which were in the least bit appealing ,,, we asked for an ' a la carte ' , only to be told there wasnt one so we got up & left

Room Tip: smile @ the receptionist more sweetly than we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Haven as a Christmas Gift from the children. We found the room large and luxurious, we had dinner in the resturant on the first evening, found this to be expensive with a limited choice, the self service breakfast was good. In summary we would definatly stay here again, but we would not eat in the resturant

Room Tip: When booking ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for a long weekend here which didn't start too well. The first room we were checked into was very cramped, dark and the window was frosted which made it very claustrophobic. However the staff were accommodating and we were given a much larger room overlooking the carpark. However this room was noisy what with staff leaving in the late hours and delivery lorries at 5 and 6am. Our final room was at the back of the hotel, which was comfortable and quiet. Unfortunately I didn't find the hotel communal toilets very clean, but the rest of the facilities were. The spa pool was great and there is an outdoor heated swimming pool - which is usable in the winter too. The restaurant food was very good as was the service. The location is great - especially if you want to explore the purbeck peninsula. If you have bikes with you, there is a place you can get them locked away in. In the hotel itself has plenty of comfortable areas to sit and admire the views of the harbour. If you're looking for evening entertainment outside the hotel, then you'd be looking at a 15min drive to Poole or 20min drive to Bournemouth, however there are a couple of restaurants a 5 min drive in Canford Cliffs. Despite our problems with the rooms, I would still recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Room not overlooking the car park. Also you can request a board to be placed under the mattress as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Couldn't be nearer the ocean unless you are sinking. Pan-European staff have superb culinary and service standards. Worth paying for room upgrades. Wine prices are OTT but the location compensates -almost. Overall - we will revisit on similar terms. BB Cardiff/2 nights in Jan

Room Tip: Sea or harbour with balcony - channel/sunsets/fog/ferries all great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Sandbanks has the 4th highest land value in the world, after New York, London and Tokyo. So you'd expect the 4 star hotel at the end of Britain 's Palm Beach to be on a par with some of the swankiest hotels around. Well I didn't bump into George Clooney over dinner but I did have a superb time flitting between the outdoor pool and the sauna on a frosty evening.

The Haven is a great place to stay if you like spa facilities and sea views but there's a couple of things that take the shine off what is otherwise one of the top places to stay in Poole. Firstly the dinner isn't brilliant. I only wanted one course and I'm vegetarian. With only one option on the menu I didn't have a lot of choice. I ordered the gnocchi and was disappointed with both the oiliness and the portion size. After my exercise in the pool I was hungry and there wasn't a lot on my plate. Thank god for the mini packs of biscuits in the room!

Secondly the walls between the rooms overlooking the back of the hotel are quite thin. I heard my neighbours talking two nights in a row. If I had wanted company I would have brought a companion!

That said, overall the hotel is brilliant. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are comfortable and have everything you need for a good stay. Look out for online offers and you can boast that you stayed in Britain's Palm Beach!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
877 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing