We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I went here on a spa and fitness weekend with a group. Really enjoyed my stay here. Lovely room, twin, large, but I think because we were on the car park side it was a large room as I heard the sea view rooms were smaller. Room was lovely and clean, good temperature, nice bathroom.

The dining in La Roche I highly recommend. Really excellent food here and really good value for money at £29.50 for 3 courses. Cannot fault this dining experience at all. Restaurant Manager Nadine was really wonderful and so helpful, all the waiting staff were excellent too.

Buffet dining the following night at the same price was a bit lacking, all food was nicely prepared but didn't live up to the previous night although the price was the same which was disappointing. Bar menu was a bit limited in my opinion, and I had a Nicoise salad which was odd to say the least. At £12.50 I expected proper tuna and actual olives but instead it was a very mayonaissey tuna mush and some puree olive, can't say I'd recommend it.

I enjoyed the spa and used all the facilities. Hotel had no robes when we were there which was disappointing but not a major problem (although I did manage to get one!). Loved the outdoor pool, hydro pool, outdoor hot tub, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room but, behind the strange slatted things on the walls it was a bit grubby, could do with a deep clean. Still I felt excellent facilities and was included in the cost of hotel stay unlike many places. There is also a gym and tennis courts.

Very busy at breakfast but they really kept the food coming out. The usual english breakfast fare but also excellent poached fruit and fantastic muesli bar with nuts, dried fruits and seeds, very much enjoyed that.

Overall very good.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are smaller, if you can manage not having a view when you are in your room you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    517
    279
    152
    83
See reviews for
273
762
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a break away with my partner. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. Nothing was too much for the staff. The room was spacious and clean. Good food all round. Would recommend the hotel with an amazing location nothing like eating your meals over looking the sea.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulnicholls37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked this and took my mum here for her birthday. The spa was 'OKish' but the changing rooms and other facilities were not good. The showers were cold and dirty as were changing rooms. The general place was just grotty and was in need of a good clean. I would not say this was a 4 star hotel and spa. The afternoon tea was OK the champagne wasn't nice and the bread on the sandwiches were really hard and seemed like they had been laying around for days! When I went the air con wasn't working so the room was so hot and all the windows had steamed up so we couldn't see the view out over the sea. The staff weren't very helpful. I would not go back to this hotel as its not worth the money. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE! very disappointing.

Room Tip: I didn't stay the night here but judging by the spa I wouldn't want to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JessVaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked this for my wife's 50th birthday surprise.I had no need to worry as the stay was faultless.We were given a room with superb views that was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and very friendly,special thanks to Emma who was our first point of contact and made us feel special. The facilities available exceeded our expectations and we took full advantage during our stay and in doing so met some nice people.
I would hesitate in recommending this hotel as you will not be disappointed, the hotel may not be rated as 5 star but all the staff we encountered were. Many thanks to all my wife was delighted.

Room Tip: Whilst not always available for obvious reasons, go for harbour or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GERRY037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Myself and my staff and partners stayed and celebrated our 15 year anniversary in business. We had a private function room (The Brownsea) and everything was just superb. From the moment I arrived we were welcomed and nothing was too much trouble.
I have to say a big thank you to Christina and her events team for organising this and a special mention for Nicole who looked after us all evening.
Wonderful food and just a brilliant evening.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedabloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very disappointed with our room it was dull and even had a 1980's television set! We weren't impressed with the food not a great deal of choice and expensive for what we were given. However the breakfast was excellent lots to eat and fresh. Can't complain about staff or how clean the hotel was. The other complaint is that lots of people had to walk through the bar/restaurant to get to the spa and they were in their dressing gowns!! We found this very unacceptable!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've stated here several times, but on this occasion it was for my birthday. We had a family room, and was more than happy with the space. This hotel is perfect if you like beaches and sightseeing. The indoor and outdoor pool is a massive plus. The bar is decent and the staff are friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing