We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from really lovely weekend. Amazing weather, lovely room with amazing views from balcony. However just one comment, on arrival Friday at about 5.30pm we were unable to book in for dinner, they were full. Very disappointed. We ate in bar but not quite the romantic meal we envisaged.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    520
    280
    153
    87
See reviews for
278
767
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
banstead
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Hotel is in an excellent location immediately adjoining the coastline.

However the hotel is run down and very old in places.

The staff were very nice albeit the service in the bar area was a little slow on the first day but the food in the restaurant was OK and overall had an enjoyable stay.

The location of this Hotel is the main positive and takes away some of the negatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have stayed at the Haven several times with our young children and have always enjoyed a relaxing stay. The hotel has excellent facilities and is in a great location. It is located at the tip of the sandbanks, right next to the chain ferry. The trip over is well worth it and there are gorgeous costal walks. The health spa is wonderful and we enjoyed outdoor swims even during the middle of winter. Breakfast is superb, with a wide range of food. The staff are hugely helpful and accommodating. We also found Emma brilliant; extremely helpful and welcoming. We look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerynH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here on my birthday and we ordered lamb shank. What a really lovely dinner and the service was the best also. A must for those who love to eat out by the sea. We have returned on for morning coffee/tea which was lovely although service could have been improved slightly as the waitress forgot to bring milk. We chased her for it and when she brought the milk she sadly didn't apologise. Overall great place

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolebred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few days break and found the location fantastic at the tip of Sandbanks next to the ferry, with views from bar and restaurant over the sea and able to step straight onto the long beach from the heated outdoor pool area. Emma at reception was brilliant, so welcoming and friendly she talked through where everything was located in hotel and answered all queries. The Haven has a well equipped gym with free and machine weights, which is part of a small on site spa that has attentive and skilled therapists. Bedrooms overlooking car park are very spacious and nicely furnished. Sea view rooms are smaller but with fantastic views. Food at La Roche excellent with attentive and friendly staff. Buffet style breakfast has a good range again with helpful staff. Overall lovely relaxing hotel with attentive and helpful staff in a great location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location upgraded to balcony room and three course meal. Not able to open doors due to gale force conditions seas were spectacular. Ferry across was expensive and exciting. Health spa facilities brilliant. Our stay included a bottle of wine and whilst booking it was agreed wine to be brought to our dinner table. On arrival again confirmation sought, wine to be brought to dinner table on second night. When we sat for dinner waiting staff unaware of agreement no wine, became tedious and embarrassing having to repeatedly explain then demand wine. Later in bar area other customers were having heated discussion with staff over costs. Poor staff comms.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to balcony sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Such a beautiful hotel with great food and staff. I love this hotel and highly recommend. They have a beautiful spa area with a heated pool outside which over looks the ocean.
I cant wait to go back again as great value for money in the most beautiful location.

Room Tip: Ive stayed several times and always had a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,730 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
917 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Property: Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing