We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star?”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The amount of complaints I have had to make is astronomical. The service in the restaurant is slow, the food is not fit for a 4 star hotel and the price is somewhat of a joke. The bedrooms are small, the beds are uncomfortable and the water pressure in the shower is equivalent to the dribble of a hungry dog. I am not impressed.

Stayed: April 2014
7  Thank Anonymous_UserUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you would like a sea view with your cream tea £8.95 sister hotel Sandbanks is cheaper and the scones are much better. There is a bar which looks over the harbour/ferry to studland. We order a round of sandwiches with salmon and crab. It took 28 mins to be told there was no crab left. When the sandwich came we were quite shocked on how it was presented. We then order a cream tea at 5.30 p.m. to be told. Cream teas had finished. There were two different menues displaying 5.p.m. and 6p.m. This was queried at reception and we did get served a cream tea. Yet again quite basic presentation. The bar is a very nice place to sit and have a drink.

We would return just for the view and to sit and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidayer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had Haven afternoon tea. Slow service. Food good particularly scones but didn't meet expectations set from website visuals. Would have expected better China, polished cake stand, and a bit more umph! Setting deserves better.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Poor bed,
Poor food
20min wait for breakfast,
Two many staff apart from the reception staff, who can't communicate in English,
Don't what to stay in a £169 a night room where I can hear the guess in the next room using the toilet, hotel doesn't match up to the location

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRTJounery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We loved the Haven Hotel. I stayed there with my husband for two nights in the last week of March on their winter warmer offer, which was very good value. We had paid for the upgrade to a superior room with balcony and sea view which was well worth it, as we had a wonderful big balcony ( room 118) and we felt happy to just sit and look at the sky and the changing light on the sea for much of the time. I enjoyed the spa with its several jacuzzis and was brave enough to swim in the outside pool once, which was not particularly warm, but was invigorating. The indoor pool does not have much room for actual swimming. We had dinner included on the first night, and we enjoyed the meal, although service was a bit slow. They had some unusual dishes, such as apricot Danish pastry pudding, which was delicious. The breakfast was very good, and service was prompt and attentive on both days. I asked for soya milk and there was no problem about giving me some. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We would certainly go back to this hotel, and it would be perhaps worth paying more to go there in the summer.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Needs a complete refurbishment and good clean.
The spa changing rooms are filthy and showers have cracked tiles and the pool chlorine levels seem to be mixed wrongly as ones skin burns and the smell is so strong.
The bedroom bathrooms are tired and old, need modernising.
The afternoon tea priced at £15.50 pp needs to be a good standard, we got stale bread, sandwich fillings old, ham fatty, it seemed that the chef was using up old ingredients that were going to be out of date very soon.
No apology when explaining our disappointment to the staff and the manager Mr Carmichael was made aware of the situation that was obvious by his staff and didn't have the professionalism to come over and apologise and look at what was the problem instead we had to go and speak to him ourselves. The fact that the chef allowed this to leave the kitchen is unforgivable and was our first impression of the food so was very disappointing.
This hotel needs to update its decor throughout, needs a good clean, the staff need more training as seem disinterested and very unprofessional and the chef needs to be more vigilant on the standards of food me his kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we spent three nights here. What an incredible location with beautiful views. Sadly the hotel's interior is generally dark and dingy and needs a good sort out - it needs lovely marine colours to lift it. Staff are helpful and very pleasant. Enormous room which was comfortable, needed more than two drawers however. Food in La Roche restaurant was mediocre and expensive for what it was.Breakfast was excellent with superb choice. The spa needs a major overhaul and is a bit mouldy, damp with cracked tiles. Such a strong smell of chlorine I made a hasty exit.

Room Tip: Amazing rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
3.0 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £60 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing