We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haven Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,637)
Filter reviews
1,637 results
Traveller rating
469
561
323
178
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
561
323
178
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain ferrysea viewpoint restaurantsteam roomoutdoor poolspa areawatching the boatsamazing locationpoole harbourold harry rocksleisure facilitiespublic areasbrownsea islandfantastic viewsbit datedsister hotelbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 1,637 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had booeked this hotel then got really worried due to lots of negative reveiws. We can be a bit picky and expected the wrost. In truth it wasn't that bad. The room was acceptable - it was big enough for us and the pram, had a flat screen TV, coffee facilities, couple of marks on the floor, looked over carpark (whichwe knew about) but no noise interferance. We were surprised. The hallways in the hotel are dated but to be honest the room was alright adn hallways are seldom seen. There are a few stairs here and there and doors too which is a pain with a pram but just about acheivable. The breakfast was ok, plenty of choice and buffet style. The waiters were rubbish and never gave us tea or coffee despite asking - just sort yourself out at the buffet and you'll be fine. We chose not to eat in the restaurant due to the number of bad reviews. The views are excellent and a walk onto the beach from the pool area is a massive plus. If we revisit the area we will most likely chose the sister hotel down the road but this hotel was fine despite our worries.

Room Tip: Room 139 has carpark view but it's quiet and has blackout curtains. It is also quite big and ok for a pram. Couple of steps to access it using main lift by reception.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location the best, reception know what they are doing, dinner expensive and nouvelle cuisine and cold. Plenty of choice for breakfast but even the "hot" food and ordered eggs cold. Bar lacks atmosphere and don't think children should be in it at 9 pm. F&B need a tighter grip, and management needs to be present cos the inexperienced waiting staff are letting them down. Room overlooking the car park upgraded, large, clean and toiletries, tea, coffee replenished daily. Good towels. Walls paper thin so can hear everything the neighbour says. Definitely wouldn't rate it 4 star which I expected for the price paid.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park much bigger and upgraded than the sea and harbour facing rooms we viewed, so check them out before you pay the extra!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jainhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Three of us (me, the wife and our 6 year old daughter) had a couple of nights here and really enjoyed it. The hotel is an odd mixture of classic Victorian seaside retreat with exposed wood and polished brass, and very modern up-to-date dining area and spa. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and while the food was very tasty, the portion size was way too small. I ordered the breast of duck, which turned out to be four thin slices of duck breast. It's a good job my daughter didn't eat all of her (very tasty) chicken or I would have left hungry.
The room (208) was big enough for 3 of us, with a good sea view, but a bit tired. In fact, everything in the old bit of the hotel was a bit tired, which contrasts with the pools, spa and main dining area which is all polished chrome.
Fantastic location, right on the beach, with very friendly and helpful staff. We could have stayed for a long time, and will look forward to coming back. I just hope they're a bit less stingy on the portions.

Room Tip: My guess is that even number rooms on the south, east and west sides will have some kind of sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SL-JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great room,( and it was a single). with balcony overlooking the sea, super bathroom, nice big towels, robe & slippers. Great breakfast, good staff. Super outdoor and indoor pools. Lovely spa and reasonably priced treatments. Good rate-in fact amazing for a single room.

They lost a couple of marks because the doors need soft closers on them - they bang bang bang! And because we went in school holidays - by accident - the children there finish earlier than ours - the pool times for children were confusing and not adhered to.

Room Tip: IF you don't have kids make sure you don't go in school hols! Ask for a room with a sea view and balcony-they are superb.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valhackett30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked a secret escapes 2 night stay. Arrived and joked that I expected to get a broom cupboard for the lower price I paid, checked out the room and I was right....it was awful. Went back to reception and met the lovely Emma Carter. Very professional and we agreed upon a better room at a slightly higher price, but it was worth it. Like previous reviewers have said , the hotel is a little tired and the room was too, but......the view was to die for .Weather was great, which made it better still. Balcony and bottle of wine just relaxing. Ate in the restaurant in the evening, which was pricey for what it was. Sea Bass fillet must have come from a minnow . Two Broccoli spears , a bit of wilted spinach and two new potatoes cut in half. I have to say I was hungry after that, but the flavour of the sauce was excellent. Wife had beautiful calves liver so was well pleased. Breakfast was fab on the first morning, sitting gazing out across the bay in full sunshine. Help yourself to whatever you like from cereal and fresh fruit with yoghurt, Full English (Bacon was really tasty and sausages were beautiful and not too herbie, which is what i like for breakfast) Plenty of tea and coffee with toast. Restaurant was busy and on the second morning it was really busy as there had been a reception of some sort I think and there were lots of overnight stayers.Bedroom was comfy. Cleaned well. Staff were pleasant throughout, but the reception team were excellent. Sat around the outside pool which was pleasant, the indoor looked fine but was a bit "clammy" for me. The Spa and facilities looked good too. Used the ferry adjacent to the hotel and took the car around the loop visiting all of the stops on the way and came back to Poole Harbour the long way around. I would give 5 stars, but for the hiccup with the room and the cracked tiles and broken glass panes on the balcony, but I can forgive that as we had a great time. Hope to get back again one day.

Room Tip: Facing the sea with a balcony for views. Some larger rooms are tidier but overlook a car park, which defeats the object really.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews