We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break in a lovely location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Poole
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely break in a lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We have had a lovely week here. Our room although a bit of a trek was newly decorated with a great view. The staff were friendly the views stunning and the restaurant food was defiantly five star. Add to that a great spa with a lounging area outside and poolside bar and an adjacent beach were the seawater is so crystal clear you could be anywhere in the world. All in all so pleased all this is available just a few hours from home brilliant. Just so you don't think my review is unnaturally perfect the windows could do with an inspection everyday as the same stain has been on the lounge one all week but other than that thanks to all the staff for making our week so relaxing

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank severnheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    485
    249
    139
    69
See reviews for
250
705
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having looked forward to staying at the hotel, we felt very disappointed. Reception was fine and helpful, but we weren't expecting to have to lug cases up and down steps to get to our room. The room was reasonable, except for the badly stained carpet, although the walls were very thin. The TV was not even digital, took an age to switch on with very complicated instructions, and the sound was barely audible even at the highest setting. The outer doors of both our room and the one next door were impossible to shut quietly but slammed every time, and the bathroom door was difficult to shut. On returning to our room on the second day we were very annoyed to find dirty glasses, and cups that still had stains on them, plus the hospitality tray had not been refilled. On requesting a rubber mat to put in the bath, we had the ludicrous request to sign a disclaimer that we wouldn't claim against the hotel if we slipped while using it!

We looked at the dinner menu, but with so few choices for each course we didn't feel it was value for money, so we ate at the Cafe Shore about 10 minutes' walk away - much better choice. We thought the breakfast dining room was dismal and we didn't even get a good morning any day - just 'Room number?'. There was no explanation of how the system worked - we have never had self-service for tea and coffee before in a 4 star hotel. The hot food was only lukewarn and the eggs were congealed - not a good start to the day. Dirty plates were left to mount up on the table until nearly the end of the meal before they were cleared - except for one morning when the table was cleared whilst we were at the buffet!

The hotel itself appeared to be in a time warp with old fashioned decor. The situation on the edge of the water is stunning, but with cream walls and brown furniture and the dirty carpet in the dining room the whole place is in need of an update to reflect its position. How about some white paint and clear colours?

To summarise, this is supposedly a four star hotel which doesn't really deserve that rating. The only part we enjoyed was the view from the terrace of the coast and water, and perhaps the owners hope that guests will overlook the very obvious shortcomings. Sorry, we won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from 3 nights at the Haven hotel...We can't wait to go back. We paid extra for a room with a sea view and we weren't disappointed...it was fabulous. Our room was modern, very clean and beautifully furnished...the bathroom was bigger than at home lol. Breakfast was lovely, it was plentiful, fresh...with lots of choice either hot or cold. The staff were very polite and friendly. Located right on the beach you couldn't want a better location, the views were spectacular, we travelled by bus all over on a day saver which was great value. Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in in this country and we will definitely be going back...with a balcony next time :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clairen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at the Haven hotel and it was even better than the first time we stayed some years ago. The weather was fantastic so we were really lucky to be able to enjoy the use of the sun terrace and outdoor pool as it was so hot! The staff here are lovely very polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room we had did not have a view but we booked very last minute but it was lovely and clean and fresh with free wifi and tv.
The breakfast was lovely lots of choice and all cooked fresh. We also had evening meal which did not disappoint and the cheese and biscuits was lovely lots of different cheeses washed down with some port! We had not prebooked a table but they did fit us in which was really good. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adellebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and welcoming.

Love the separate rooms that you can have a quiet drink on the coach in.

The reception staff could do with being a bit less grumpy.

All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just spent a night at the Haven hotel, it was lovely, the room, the staff excellent. The only disappointment was the Sunday lunch. Myself and my family, thought the meals small for the price, and were left hungry. However, we sat outside, with drinks and coffee, and watched the boats go by. The location is really beautiful. Would come again, especially for the breakfast, but not lunch! sorry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

First time at the haven although we have stayed at the chine many years ago. I've always wanted to come because the beach looks amazing.. We came for 3nights, 2 nights on summer sizzler and moved for one night to harbour view. Everything was great for us and of course the fantastic weather helped... We went to shell bay, studland and brownsea island, I had investigated the location and things to do beforehand. We went to poole on the bus and I'm glad we didn't stay there as I wanted a relaxing beach holiday and certainly got that!! The breakfast was fantastic, and the staff very helpful. We ate out as we were always out and our only little problem was the tv in the first room, a weird tv and sat setup which was in the second room, just normal tv, so we had to ring to get help but someone came straight away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitecompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
5.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing