We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with my Sister”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a great couple of days at Sandbanks , spent meny a lovely time there when we were kids with our Uncle and Aunt who lived there , lots of vey happy memories ! The beach is lovely and do go on the ferry over to Studland and visit Corfe Castle !

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the beach
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
There are newer reviews for Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a couple of days away and chose The Haven hotel as it had a Hydro pool. On our first visit to this pool we found it a bit chilly, we mentioned this to reception who said they would look into it. The next day we tried again but it was even colder and could not stay in it although once again reception said they would look into it, it was too late for us as we had to leave to return home. We could not fault the room, food and the staff were extremely pleasant and cheerful. Unfortunately some of the hotel needed a bit of T.L.C. there is no air conditioning and was given a fan as it was extremely hot. Doubt if we will be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room which is not overlooking the car park and is cool in the summer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank albarb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We have had a lovely week here. Our room although a bit of a trek was newly decorated with a great view. The staff were friendly the views stunning and the restaurant food was defiantly five star. Add to that a great spa with a lounging area outside and poolside bar and an adjacent beach were the seawater is so crystal clear you could be anywhere in the world. All in all so pleased all this is available just a few hours from home brilliant. Just so you don't think my review is unnaturally perfect the windows could do with an inspection everyday as the same stain has been on the lounge one all week but other than that thanks to all the staff for making our week so relaxing

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank severnheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having looked forward to staying at the hotel, we felt very disappointed. Reception was fine and helpful, but we weren't expecting to have to lug cases up and down steps to get to our room. The room was reasonable, except for the badly stained carpet, although the walls were very thin. The TV was not even digital, took an age to switch on with very complicated instructions, and the sound was barely audible even at the highest setting. The outer doors of both our room and the one next door were impossible to shut quietly but slammed every time, and the bathroom door was difficult to shut. On returning to our room on the second day we were very annoyed to find dirty glasses, and cups that still had stains on them, plus the hospitality tray had not been refilled. On requesting a rubber mat to put in the bath, we had the ludicrous request to sign a disclaimer that we wouldn't claim against the hotel if we slipped while using it!

We looked at the dinner menu, but with so few choices for each course we didn't feel it was value for money, so we ate at the Cafe Shore about 10 minutes' walk away - much better choice. We thought the breakfast dining room was dismal and we didn't even get a good morning any day - just 'Room number?'. There was no explanation of how the system worked - we have never had self-service for tea and coffee before in a 4 star hotel. The hot food was only lukewarn and the eggs were congealed - not a good start to the day. Dirty plates were left to mount up on the table until nearly the end of the meal before they were cleared - except for one morning when the table was cleared whilst we were at the buffet!

The hotel itself appeared to be in a time warp with old fashioned decor. The situation on the edge of the water is stunning, but with cream walls and brown furniture and the dirty carpet in the dining room the whole place is in need of an update to reflect its position. How about some white paint and clear colours?

To summarise, this is supposedly a four star hotel which doesn't really deserve that rating. The only part we enjoyed was the view from the terrace of the coast and water, and perhaps the owners hope that guests will overlook the very obvious shortcomings. Sorry, we won't be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having just returned from 3 nights at the Haven hotel...We can't wait to go back. We paid extra for a room with a sea view and we weren't disappointed...it was fabulous. Our room was modern, very clean and beautifully furnished...the bathroom was bigger than at home lol. Breakfast was lovely, it was plentiful, fresh...with lots of choice either hot or cold. The staff were very polite and friendly. Located right on the beach you couldn't want a better location, the views were spectacular, we travelled by bus all over on a day saver which was great value. Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in in this country and we will definitely be going back...with a balcony next time :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank clairen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at the Haven hotel and it was even better than the first time we stayed some years ago. The weather was fantastic so we were really lucky to be able to enjoy the use of the sun terrace and outdoor pool as it was so hot! The staff here are lovely very polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room we had did not have a view but we booked very last minute but it was lovely and clean and fresh with free wifi and tv.
The breakfast was lovely lots of choice and all cooked fresh. We also had evening meal which did not disappoint and the cheese and biscuits was lovely lots of different cheeses washed down with some port! We had not prebooked a table but they did fit us in which was really good. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Adellebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and welcoming.

Love the separate rooms that you can have a quiet drink on the coach in.

The reception staff could do with being a bit less grumpy.

All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £58 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing