We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4-day stay in one the most expensive housing areas in the world”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 4-day stay in one the most expensive housing areas in the world”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second stay at The Haven. The views from the dining room and many of the rooms are amazing with plenty of activity on the water and ferries from France coming and going. We didn't have a sea view but our room was comfortable and we slept well. Tea/coffee making facilities were plentiful and there was a large TV.
Breakfast was self-service and the choice of food was enormous. The evening meal offered a choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses and 4 sweets and was adventurous.
Local ferries offered the chance to visit (and land if you wishes) on Brownsea Island where Baden Powell had his first Scout camp. We then took a second ferry on to Poole itself and after exploring made our way back to the hotel on a third ferry. The captain gave a running commentary all the while - especially pointing out the homes of various football managers in what is, literally, millionaires' row.
A car-carrying, chain-linked ferry runs backward and forward across the harbour mouth which saves an otherwise long drive around to the other side. The New Forest is a short drive away ; wild ponies and interesting pubs abound.

Room Tip: We booked through an agency which gave us little choice. Next time we will deal direct with the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLey-Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    501
    262
    146
    74
See reviews for
260
734
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just spent a couple of nights at The Haven hotel and couldn't fault it. Initially I had thought it was quite expensive but it was worth every penny. The room was lovely with a very well appointed bathroom, the breakfast was excellent with a wonderful choice and the staff were lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had booked a double room through booking.com about 6 weeks ago. the rate was almost £190 per night, so not cheap. we were shown to our room which had an unexpected but welcome sea view and a small, grubby balcony but no seats on it. the room was very small, warm, tired and had the worst small mattress that I have had the misfortune to sleep on for a long time. I immediately alerted front desk, asked to be moved but the only room available had opaque windows as it obviously faced the kitchen or similar. the duty manager said that he would find an alternative mattress but they were unable to do this as the bed was not standard size.
We spent 1 very uncomfortable night there and cancelled our booking for the second night and came home.
Very Dissappointing, even travel lodge and premier inn realise that a decent bed is important. the management need to spend some money upgrading the facilities.

Room Tip: Check the location, bed size and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OxfordshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely hotel, great location. service excellent. I think the price is very reasonable. rooms are quite spacious, love that the hotel is overlooking the sea, also access from the pool to the beach. this was my second visit. first with my husband, second time with my grandson, just a year old and daughter and friend, 14 years old. in my opinion i dont feel its ideal for babies. it was quite a struggle with the buggie with so many steps. The rooms were not baby friendly. i could not relax with the baby.

Room Tip: high floors less noise, not suitable for babies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel-Sims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for a few days break and it was wonderful. The views are stunning of the bay. The food was great although I did think a little pricey. We had brilliant sleeps and it is a good location for exploring.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really like this hotel. The rooms are ok but the vista, location and service is excellent. Great amenities and lovely local beach. Breakfast is excellent.

Only two slight gripes:
on cleaniless of the pool - plenty of sand in the outdoor pool which was not removed each day and the indoor pool neeed a thorough clean. For the first time it was cooler than the outdoor pool. Easy things to fix if the maintenance team are attentive.
The shower in the room has no power at all - we gave up with the bath for the kids due to the length of time it took to fill.

The place needs just a little more TLC and money spent. We will be back for the overall experiance. It is a special place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the5moos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a relaxing 3 day stay at the hotel. The views are outstanding and its position is great. The double room we stayed in was large but in places rather tired. The pool facilities are ok. There is a problem in that the health club members use this area as well as hotel guests. At times there were not enough sun loungers for everyone. However there is a beach next to the hotel. We stayed at the hotel on a secret escapes deal. I would definitely come again to explore more of the area. If you want to eat out you have to travel some distance as there isn't anywhere nearby. However you can eat in the hotel restaurant or have a bar snack.

Room Tip: Rooms 210, 208 have balconies but overlook the roof of the leisure centre. Upgrading should provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 304Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing