We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of update”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In need of update”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Used this hotel as a base for a stay over in Sandbanks. The hotel itself was clean and tidy, the rooms were adaquate with the upgraded view and balcony as ordered. It is evident that this hotel is in need of a good makeover, and is getting one in winter months. But dont be put off by its need of a spruce up!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ianandrew46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    512
    399
    210
    128
See reviews for
505
661
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I had a one night stay at the Sandbanks hotel. It was for business, so I wasn't there for the enjoyment of the surroundings. However, I found all the staff very friendly, the room was huge and had all the amenities that I needed. There was a sign in the lobby saying that all the rooms were getting new decor.
I really don't understand the miserable reviews that people are putting about this hotel. It's a lovely building with an amazing view in one of the most expensive pieces of real estate on the south coast.
Breakfast was lovely and served very quickly. We didn't eat in the restaurant because it was very quiet, but we were given some excellent suggestions by the girl behind the bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Asked for twin bed, on 2 occasions - was given double so had to sleep with teen age son. At breakfast, ordered tea 3 times before it arrived and then no milk. Had to ask staff twice if we could order breakfast and then wrong order arrived. Generally inattentive and did not deliver. But food good when it finally arrived.
Sun deck at rear of hotel spoiled by amount a litter blowing around.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed her during the week in late September when the UK had fab weather.
The hotel could only do one night which didn’t matter we jumped in the car and headed for the sea.
It’s a pretty ugly hotel if I am honest. In places it looks tired and the front of the hotel is west facing so if you want to sit in the later afternoon sun on a terrace you overlook the car park.

Sun beds really ropey and dirty...........you helped yourself and carried them on the beach

We had an executive room which was in the 1960’s looking extension on the third floor...the lift only went up to the second. OK but nothing brilliant

They scrimp on soap (I hate that.......two people two bits of soap please!)
We had lunch on the terrace overlooking the sea.view great service awful. To be fair they probably won’t expecting the hotel to be full....but even so. If you’re open you are open.
Chaotic ordering system where you have to queue up and order at an external bar and pay there and then......not enough staff...and half of the menu was off by the time I ordered.

We walked up the coast to the sister hotel which overlooks the ferry to Studland and had a drink there.........looks a better prospect if I am honest

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just come back from a spa day and feel very spoiled and pampered. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had a lovely time using all the leisure facilities and our therapist Kerry couldn't be more wonderful!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gazza935k
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I arranged to meet up with friends from a Canarian holiday in Bournemouth at short notice and decided to check the Sandbanks Hotel which I had passed many times on other visits. I wasn't disappointed..the location, service and stylist bars/ beach club/ restaurant are excellent. My single room was just that, small but ensuite with quality fittings but the view from my balcony was straight onto the beach/ bay/ sea. Worth every penny. The sand is silky white and the water clean and clear...this is like being in the Spanish costa's or California...if you have withdrawal symptoms of a recent foreign beach holiday then stay here asap !!!
It caters for Couples, Families and solo guests alike...my room was accessed through true ballroom....I enjoyed seeing the kids so enthralled by the entertainers...its not all about x-boxes after all.....and it didn't intrude on the peace of my room or into the beach club terrace bar.
This has to be my favourite UK hotel to date and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Every room has a view as far as i'm aware...either harbour or main beach/ sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazza935k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I have just returned from an overnight stay at Sandbanks Hotel. My partner and I went for a romantic stay at this hotel mid-week. I had read the reviews and was apprehensive, but she had stayed there over different times many years ago and had enjoyed it, she believed in those past glories so we went.
The check-in was not smooth, as the room she had reserved had been allocated to some one else. There was a conference of teachers checking in, my partner cannot use lifts so she had wanted a first floor room.
The room we were offered was very small, so the only alternative room was on the next floor up so we had that room. The bed was as in the other room, a small double bed, those used to a king-size bed will understand how cramped this can be.
We decided not to venture out for evening meal and dined instead at the hotel.
Any chance of a romantic quiet meal was blown out of the water when the teaching group turned-up it was like a works canteen. The eastern European staff although smartly dressed, seemed phased by all the orders flying around and the woman who seemed to be in charge in a grey trouser outfit seemed unconcerned by the bedlam as she chatted to some one in the corner. Only seeming interested when after trying to catch her eye I had to go to her repeatedly for items for the table.
The next morning was interesting a fire alarm went off at 7.50am and at 8.15 a heavy knock at the door sounded, it was from the maids wanting to make-up the room.
At breakfast all was quiet (9am), but the breakfast food set out as a self serve buffet was as another solitary guest observed, well and truly overdone, the poached eggs had turned to a hard lump. Our tea and coffee turned up at the table, only to find no tea bag in the teapot?
What was the most delightful thing about our stay was the position of the hotel, the beach and setting as the sun was out this was glorious for October.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SouthforkWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing