We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Exteremly Overpriced!”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, Exteremly Overpriced!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed in a double room with a balcony and sea view. Apart from the lady at the reception desk who was a bit glum, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was very spacious and clean but there was no mini bar/fridge in the room.

We do make regular visits to the area which we find quite peaceful and one of the best beaches in the UK. The hotel's location is very good, right next to the beach.

When we were there, they were building a new bar at the outdoor dining area. I am pretty sure once it is up and running, it would be a great place to lunch.

We had our dinner in the main restaurant. Despite the other reviewers, the food was average.

The only negative comment I can make for the hotel is its price, which we found quite expensive.

I would suggest people who wish to stay in Sandbanks to go for a cheaper accommodation closer to the Poole town centre and visit Sandbanks and its beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erginuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    510
    399
    210
    128
See reviews for
504
660
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very disappointed at the rooms realy need a refurb, very annoyed after phoning and saying which room we wanted from the photos, cannot believe how ruff they where very dated, also booked a table for breakfast , and they never got the order, asked for window with sea views, left feeling very disappointed, starff need a good talking to

Room Tip: Very surprised at the rooms even after booking buy phone and making sure I got the room I asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Littlehampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I spent one night here in a family room, which actually had two separate bedrooms and a shared bathroom, This was a very good arrangement. The rooms were large and clean with plenty of towels etc. The bar and lunch menu prices were very expensive. We didn't have dinner there as we were away at a wedding, but the breakfast, which is included in the price, was plentiful and there was a vast selection of food and drinks to help yourself to. All in all, a nice place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollymay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My Fiancée and I love the Dorset coastline and have recently got engaged and so have been looking for an ideal hotel venue. We have looked at a number of locations with the specific idea of finding one with a sea view.

We had narrowed our search down to two locations with the sandbanks hotel being one of them so after mixed reviews we decided that we should stay there before we commit to a venue.

We opted for the Deluxe Suite with sea view and I would be the first to say that it was very shabby and run down. If we had been staying more than one night perhaps we would have felt more disappointed. The view from the room was second to none. It just needed a spruce up and carpet change.

As we were not there to just see the room we had dinner in the restaurant. The hotel itself was very busy as there was a school prom going on but the restaurant was pretty empty. We sat down and ordered dinner which was a three course a la carte menu. Its was a top notch meal and the staff were very friendly and helpful. After dinner we had a couple of drinks and although the hotel was busy we still got served quickly.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down as it is a buffet breakfast which at high season is probably ideal but it means that the food sits around and becomes rubbery which is a shame as it seemed to be a good quality food used.

Upon check out the receptionist asked if everything was OK and I explained that I didn't feel the hotel room was worth the price which she didn't seem to interested in.

If I had not spoken to the wedding co-ordinator Sebastien I probably would have been disappointed however he showed us around the whole hotel and explained that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and it will take time for all the rooms to be the same standard. He showed us a couple of new rooms which we both thought were done to a very high standard.

In all I would definitely recommend this hotel especially if you have children and once the refurbishment is complete I'm sure it will be a lovely venue.

As for me I booked my wedding here for June 2014 and shall definitely be going back before then

Room Tip: When booking ask for a refurbished room if they have any left
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmcgrath1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

As this is located at Sandbanks we expected and looked forward to a special hotel for the money we had paid. We were very disappointed. The room was not up to standard due to a very dated 70's appearance, old windows which were extremely draughty especially in the bathroom, the sink taps were loose and difficult to turn on and off and the bedroom really needed decorating. The restaurant staff were not trained to the service expected in a 4star hotel and were very slow. We chose the first bottle of wine off the menu and it was not available, we chose a second and that was not available either. Place mats or/and tablecloths would have made the restaurant look less like a canteen and the food was extremely expensive for what it was. We had the wrong newspaper delivered to our room and on the whole we were very disappointed in our stay. We will not be staying again, the cost is far too much for what we received.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KACH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Thought this hotel would be quite special given location and number of starts. Staff were friendly but undertrained, and service whilst friendly was very slow.n downstairs is in need of redecoration, rooms were fine and beds were comfy. Pool was ok, but again the pool are was in need of decoration. Stay here if you can get a good price but don't expect annoying too special.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidsandcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This must be about the tenth time I have stayed in this hotel. I have have always been very satisfied with the venue, food and general ambience.
The hotel is right on the sea-front and has sea views from both sides of th hotel, as it is on a peninsula. We were looking out to sea with views of Bournemouth and Poole..The beach is sandy, and we were able to watch a variety of water-sports, including wind surfing and jet ski-ing.
On our first morning in the hotel, we walked around Poole Harbour, looking out at Brownsea Island. We only had a couple of days away, but it was very restful and enjoyable.

Room Tip: They are all good, but get booked very fast, so book in plenty of time or you will be unlucky. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing