We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, fantastic location”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend, it was a busy weekend with weddings booked in each night (I was not part of them). It has an amazing location right on the beach with a fantastic outdoor bar and food area. Rooms are modern and well sized some with a beach facing balcony. They don't really make full use of the outdoor bar and food area as it shuts at 9pm while the indoor bar was poorly staffed. I did feel the hotel was very focused on its wedding guests and forgot the normal guest a little.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank Jonesy-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,466 - 1,472 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is not 4 star as advertised. It's provincial 3 star at best.
Rooms are ok, even relatively spacious, but should be at £200+ per night.

The restaurant is comical - it's like a time warp from the seventies. Service is
virtually non-existent and the food is genuinely the worst I have seen in years.
The Chef nor owners of this property could have been out in the real world
recently. It is truly awful. I don't have the energy to write here just how bad
this is. A seaside restaurant pretending badly, to be decent, and it failed
hands down.
Breakfast is a bun fight with everyone else, and the content is that of a poor
Blackpool B&B. Sad, in this day and age.

Room Tip: my tip is to book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david19London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

hmmmmm not sure about this hotel. the staff were lovely - very friendly and welcoming... some nice looking ones too.

however, restaurant terrrible with a poor selection of food, service poor (except room service) and bathroom in my family room was poor. smelt damp. we were given the kids menu in the restaurant and then werent allowed to order from it to eat in the restaurant. breakfast was poor. i wouldnt describe hotel as child friendly. a small park but nothing else. Funsters didnt work for my child. Except the food in the surf shack.

as someone has previously said, the decor was tired and used room service plates were left outside a door on my floor creating a nasty smell all day! not nice! shower in my room was quite weak - not quite a power shower.
Surf shack was very very good - top service from Conor the Manager (I think).

have stayed in caravans self catering in the past and these have been better value for money and the bathrooms havent smelt.
to sum up, poor restaurant plus service, damp smelling bathroom, menu limited but very nice staff and good Surf shack meal.

Room Tip: dont pick a Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197LouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have stayed at Sandbanks Hotel as an extended family for the past 7 years on a 3 night once a year get together. The Hotel has a fantastic location right on the beach and the terrace at the hotel is what makes the Hotel both relaxing and appealing. This time however when we arrived we were told that the room was not ready until 3, thats fine, so we went to the terrace for lunch, which has been refurbished to a very high standard with new tables and chairs. When we finally got into the room, it was still dated and tired, they tell us every year that it is due to be refurbished but it is still the same every year ! However this year the sofa in the room was threadbear and broken. We informed reception who sent someone up to have a look, he ummmed and ahhhhhed, not sure what we can do he said, I will let you know. Incidentally we could not sit on it !!
Long and short of it after two more notifications to reception there was nothing done about it and we gave up asking. The rooms were cleaned to a very low standard, one day bed only made and no dirty cups, glasses removed, we had to ask again !!
It is a real shame as the Hotel has a great location but there is a real lack of Management presence and if there was another hotel near by with the terrace bar, we would book there instead !!!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a refurbished room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for everyone --we visited in july 16-23 2012 and stayed in a great room with balcony overlooking the sea --and were entertained day and night with folk enjoying the beach and the sea
The room was large and comfortable and well presented --from morning tea in bed watching the sea to drinks on he balcony before and after dinner -we hardly wanted to leave the room
Breakfast was great --whatever you wanted --dinner beautifully presented and delicious
The new terrace bar was just opened that week and it was proving a big hit with the guests as well as the locals
Although we had no kids there were pleanty around --but not in the way --and there seemed to be plenty of entertainment for them all day --so would have to sy that this is a good all round hotel for families as well as couples --and right on the beach too
The weather in the second half of the week was brilliant blazing sunshine --will definatly come back grrrreat place

Room Tip: Rooms on either side are ok --depends on what you want --sea one side --harbour the other --cant fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomal-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed last year and the terrace bar has definitely improved, they have lovely new chairs and tables and loungers. Unfortunately the restaurant is still terrible, the service got slower and slower as the week went on and more people were staying and they kept running out of things on the menu which you wouldn't expect seeing as it was high season and not even the end of the season, we twice asked for a bottle of champagne on the list and they never had it. On the last night we sat down at 8.00 and didn't get asked what we wanted for 25 minutes and we had to ask if we could order, we eventually got our main course at 9.20 but it wasn't what we wanted as they had run out. We'd waited so long we weren't hungry anymore and wanted to watch the show at 9.30 so just walked out. I also wanted something off the cocktail list but they only had about 5 on there and when we asked for one they opened the fridge and didn't have half of the ingrediants.
On the other hand my children absolutely loved the funsters and were in there every opportunity they could. And the location is excellent, right on the beach front.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were glad we didn't believe all the negative reviews. We booked a Sea view double and requested a refurbished room which was lovely. Amazing view of beach from balcony.
The lobby and bar area is newly decorated and was full of people on the sunny days!
Corridors are a little tired and there is a lack of bathroom products you would expect of a hotel of this standard-bring your own body lotion!
Relaxed atmosphere,amazing location and very child friendly.
A popular wedding reception venue so request at time of booking for a quiet and recently refurbished room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelt0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,523 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £81 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing