We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Room needed attention”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Room 17 needs attention with dripping taps and broken trouser press.
Hotel has poor parking when a function is on.
Bar staff need to be trained more
Breakfast and Sunday lunch hot plates need to be turned up as the food was luke warm.
Cravery is a bit of a begging session trying to get a regular plate of food.
Great Location though

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for your review Jayboy44, we are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location, however are very sorry to learn of your disappointment at some of the features in the hotel. We would like to assure you that we do listen to all such views and take your comments seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have stayed in this Hotel before and had occasion to complain after the last visit in August 2102. However, as we were assured that the management had taken the feedback onboard and the children love the Funsters and the location so we decided to go back again.

The room was very nice except for a cracked basin in the bathroom and lack of hot water, and the children's entertainment by the Funsters was good again.

The restaurant for dinner was a BIG mistake and the service was unbelievably bad and took 40 minutes before out order was taken! We had to ask the same waiter twice for a high chair and we felt we were generally ignored for a 50th Anniversary going on in the restaurant at the same time. They even managed to serve food that was not ordered for one of the main courses. Service could not have been worse and not suitable for children having to wait so long.

What is more upsetting is that there was no management in the restaurant and even though I have sent in feedback to the customer services the management have not responded and do not seem to care about unhappy guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dancera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Although we didn't stay overnight at the hotel, I had such a lovely time that I thought it was worth a mention. I'm getting married soon and my mum hired their Compass Room for me and my friends/family to have an afternoon tea bridal shower. When we arrived early to set the room up, the hotel had already done the hard work for us so that all we need to do was add a few personal touches with bunting, etc.
The staff we're really friendly and helpful, we'd even been given a member of staff just for us and she was around to top up our glasses. The food and drink for the afternoon tea was brilliant and there was plenty of it! The afternoon tea had a great selection of sandwiches and little cakes and the scones were to die for.
Last but not least, the location is stunning and we really lucked out with the weather.
My only little jiggle is that parking may be a bit of an issue so I'd suggest getting there a bit early so make sure you get a space.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamKitwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just got back from a one night stay at this hotel with my wife. Fantastic location, very dated exterior and bedroom. Clean room! Breakfast was standard (sausage very poor quality). Some staff were polite, however a few need to seek a different type of employment. We paid £200 for the one night - not value for money, but they seemed busy with coach parties and wedding plus it was a bank holiday weekend.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timothyblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My Fiance and I stayed at the sandbanks the last weekend of April this year. We were there for two nights and have stayed before so knew what to expect. This time we stayed in a standard double which was in the refurbished side of the hotel. The room was pleasant and had everything we needed but the carpets in the hall (which are new) were stained in a lot of places.

We wanted to eat in the restaurant but there was a very limited menu both nights which although I'm sure would taste nice I prefer a choice of more than four items to pick from as a main. There is the option to eat from the bar menu which contains bar food but nothing to fancy. The first night we ended up eating at the Harbor Heights hotel (Part of the same chain) which was very nice and can't fault the meal. The second night we ate at Cafe Shore which is a five min walk up the road (This has great views of the harbor). We would have eaten in the hotel had they more choice.

Breakfast on the first day was fine a buffet choice system which we both enjoyed. However on the second morning just as I was finishing my breakfast I found a WOODLICE in my beans/mushrooms (not sure which one it came from). I informed the restaurant manger who was very apologetic and offered me a replacement meal from the extras list but having already eaten I wasn't hungry any more (probably full up with woodlice).

I did inform reception upon check out who were also very apologetic however it did put a bit of a dampener on our stay and I very much hope things improve by next year as we have already booked to get married here and would dread it to happen to one of our guests

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmcgrath1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We used the hotel in conjunction with a "Groupon" deal. 2 nights per couple B&B for £99. What great value and a lovely location. The room was large, clean and very quiet and a good choice of food for breakfast. The bus stops almost outside the hotel so very convenient for getting around the area and is particularly good for crossing the ferry across to Poole. Bus takes priority so no excessive queuing and ferry fare included with the bus. Even better if you're old enough to have a bus pass!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beasles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Location is lovely, and this is what you pay for.
Room was a nice surprise with balcony, although dated and a bit dirty
The pool was also clean and quiet
There problems begin when you ask for something
Asked for a bed guard for a 3. Year old, did not have one, or never arrived
Ordering drinks in the evening when a wedding was on took forever as not enough staff, or some staff just not paying any attention, and bar staff not well prepared and all over the place.
Ordered food in 2nd day, asked one with no fish, they removed the salmon, but put on anchovies
Also had wrong table number, had to chase food around to get it, as waitress was clueless.
Got a supervisor who sorted it, they were going to just remove the fish, we eventually got a new one.
Bar in the evening was em.pty, but still a shambles, and no straws for kids, forgot ice, ran out of lemon. For drinks
So if its the location you want it's got it, if its service you want look elsewhere, they are lucky they don't nave competition else they would have the up the game, maybe this is the problem.
Listening and attentiveness training for bar and waiting staff would not go Amis.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tremayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
986 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £73 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing