We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location ,nice 4star hotel bars and restaurant but bedroom not that speci”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
cardiff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely location ,nice 4star hotel bars and restaurant but bedroom not that speci”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

john mills, i stayed june 2008,hotel in a very nice location ,all the staff very friendly and courteous .hotel bedroom was not up to a 4star rating nothing special ,shower-head in the over the bath shower was u/s reported this, took till the following day to sort out. bars and restaurant were however 4star ,food was excellent recommend the breakfast

  • Liked — downstairs of hotel
  • Disliked — bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brucewillisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    503
    392
    206
    128
See reviews for
500
647
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

This is an excellent hotel but a few things did niggle us for our Mothers day break. I booked a family room at this hotel and I must admit the room was lovely (had an adjoining small room in the family room), plasma in each room, very clean, nice bathroom, all very impressive. The niggles were, unresponsive greeting upon arrival by the staff, we had our baby daughter with us and the staff did not want to assist in providing a high chair or welcoming us to the hotel. We ordered a sandwich at lunch which was expensive at £8.00 (which is a rip off) and the lunch food we got was terrible for that price. However, we ate in the evening at the hotel and the food was fantastic and reasonably priced and the evening staff were very friendly (especially the sommelier).

Overall we had a fantastic time at Sandbanks and it's location is absolutely fantastic and I would stay here again - especially in the summer.

  • Liked — Location and the room
  • Disliked — reception staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

I stayed for business for one night on 22nd November and stayed in room 120 a single.
The two ladies on reception were charming and made me feel very welcome.
The room however was in no way worth the corporate rate I paid £75, never mind whatever the standard rate is,it was possibly the smallest room I have ever stayed in, I usually book a double even if I'm on my own, but unfortunately I didn't book this one myself, last time I make that mistake. Yes there was a super view from the balconey, pity the bolt locking the door shut was so cheap it took a Herculean effort to open it. I'm not the tallest person in the world at 5' 4" and I only just fitted in the bed, I would be amazed if this bed was a standard length. The walls in the room were very scruffy with ripped and marked wallpaper and why on earth was there a public convenience style vacant / occupied lock on the bathroom door of a single room, surely a nice plain lock would have been more suitable for what was billed as a 4* hotel.
Breakfast was grim and doesn't start being served until 7.30am which is quite late for a weekday, I arrived for breakfast at 7.40 and was directed to my table and the buffet style of the meal was explained and I was offered tea, which I accepted, big mistake, it was brought to my table in a stainless steel teapot reminiscent of a truckers caff and inside there was 1 tiny little bargain basement tea-bag. The hot buffet was barely luke warm and the bacon was stone cold, even though the breakfast service only started 10 mins before I got there. The toast machine was a farce, if you chose the speciality breads on the first pass through you got warm bread and second pass it was cremated and you also had to reach deep inside the machine to retrieve the slices.
It comes to something when the best thing you can say about breakfast in a 4* hotel is 'nice orange juice'
All in all a very disappointing stay and this is not a hotel I would stay in again or recomend.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank kaztg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2007

I recently stayed at The Sandbanks Hotel on business between the 19th and 22nd November.

I have to say from the moment I arrived at the hotel the staff were extremely helpful. The room price was also very reasonable. On checking in I was upgraded to room 212 which consisted of a bedroom with king size bed and flat screen very large television. There was a separate lounge with another television, sofa and two chairs. There was a dressing area with wardrobe and and also a modern bathroom. I also had a very large balcony with 3 separate doors leading out to the balcony.

The breakfast each day was excellent. The staff will make porridge/poached eggs or smoked haddock to order for no extra cost. The view at breakfast and also in the room was nothing less than superb - you get a view across to Bournemouth, you can see the Needles on the Isle Of Wight, you can see Old Harry Rock's on the Isle Of Purbeck.

I didn't use any of the other facilities such as the Swimming Pool so can't comment on these facilities.

All in all from my point of view the Hotel was excellent value for money in an enviable location with sea on both sides of the hotel.

  • Liked — The room/food and stunning views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Model_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Booked a break for my Wife's birthday and traveled with my 8 week old son.
We booked 2 nights in a suite on the first floor which was magnificent.

Bedroom - huge double bed, plenty of room for the travel cot next to the bed, doors openeing onto the balcony, flat screen tv (never turned it on due to the amazing view!!).

Lounge area - 2 seater sofa (Comfy), 2 armchairs and a good sized coffee table, tv and double doors opening onto balcony.

Dressing area - large wardrobe and chest of drawers. This came in handy as we adapted it into a changing station for our son, perfect.

Bathroom - 2 sinks, fluffy white robes, good clean towels, batch with shower, very clean.

The room service food was excellent, not a wide choice but it meant our baby could stick to his routine and sleep in the bedroom whilst we had dinner and a bottle of wine in the lounge area and large balcony.

Most of the staff were very helpful and all were very polite. Restaurant staff and room service staff were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble and they cleared away our tray after we had eaten without disturbing the baby.

This suite was 100% value for money (£200 per night).

The view is breathtaking, such a beautiful location, would encurage you to book room 111.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Salados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Just spend 2 days at Sandbanks Hotel. We travelled from London with our 23 month old baby and were greeted by 2 reception staff who carried out the bare minimum in terms of welcome or helpfulness. An early check-in request to allow our baby to have nap was refused.
On checking into room, my husband found a prescription tablet on bathroom floor - luckily our toddler hadn't found it first!!
Next request for soya or goat's milk for our baby was met with another "no" from reception staff, they did give directions to nearest Tesco but that was it...
Staff serving bar food on terrace were equally miserable, one actually brought us our food and when asked if he could get us a drink told us no, we have to go inside to the bar ourselves.....
Late checkout was also refused, even though hotel was quiet. Having paid £196 for 1 night, I would have expected a more professional and helpful staff. Rooms were average, had to use 2 pillows together to get enough filling to support head!!! This hotel is trading purely on it's beach front location - very complacent.. Rip off.....

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank nmb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnb2006, General Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2007
For the benefit of Trip Advisor readers, a response to the post by nmb3. It may also assist readers to know that the hotel hosts approximately 40,000 residential guest nights per year, all of whom have breakfast included in their terms, and the vast majority Dinner also. There are currently around 44 guest feedback posts showing here, good and bad, stretching back 4 years. In that period around 160,000 guests’ stays will have taken place, and readers may like to be aware of this in relation to the number posts, which represent a very small sample of actual stays.

We want all of our Guests to enjoy their stay, and our success or failure in that respect can often be a subjective matter I agree, but if you are not happy with any aspect of your stay then do please tell us at the time! We will always try and put matters right for you during the course of your stay. Just ask for the Duty Manager, day or night.

The post from nmb3 provides opportunity to inform everyone that check-in times are from 2pm each day, and we ask that you vacate your room by 11am on the day of departure please. This poster actually checked out at 12.28pm having been granted a complimentary late checkout by Reception staff, contrary to what is stated. An early check-in could not be accommodated because rooms were simply not ready when they arrived early before midday.

Soya or Goats milk is not kept in stock because there is little demand. We can however obtain it upon request. If you can give us a reasonable 24 hours advance notice of any dietary requirements, or indeed any early arrival or late departure needs, then we will always do our best to meet your request. In this instance Reception staff offered to obtain the milk for later that day, and asked the client if they would require any ordering for the following day. Unfortunately staff were not immediately available to run out to the shops there and then. This Guest was therefore given directions to the shops, since the requirement was stated as immediate, and could not wait.

The “average” room nmb3 occupied is a first floor sea-facing Double room with king size bed, sliding patio style doors opening onto a balcony overlooking the terrace and award winning beach, separate lounge area, dressing room, flat screen TV and air-conditioning!

It perhaps illustrates how subjective the various postings can be, when you consider the comments posted by Salados. Both these posters in fact occupied the same room for their respective stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Great corporate website and location - promised so much but delivered so little. At £200 a night we expected a lot better than this.

Initially we were shown to one of the unredecorated rooms. Nasty. Typical of British seaside hotel/B&B at their worst. Made even worse by the fact the room hadn't been made up; wet towels on bed, newspaper and rubbish on floor, dirty bathroom etc etc. To their credit we were immediately moved to one of the refurbed family rooms. Miles better but nothing special.

Staff were suitably apologetic and friendly but this place has seen better days and certainly isn't a premium hotel.

If you are lucky enough to get a refurbed room think "not quite as good as Travelodge" by-the-sea, but at twice the price...

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Tired, poor value for money.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jimi1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
845 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing