We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a turnaround!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a turnaround!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years and have felt that it had been going down hill. We arrived this year and they had pulled out all the stops. New Manager, new Head Chef, new Restaurant Manager. Everything was great, the lovely weather made it a fantastic holiday. I travelled with my 86 year old mum and 11 year old son. Everyone made their stay as well as mine wonderful.
Well done FJB for dealing with the issues and putting Sandbanks back on the top of my Best Hotel List.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    503
    393
    207
    128
See reviews for
500
648
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just come back from our annual visit to this lovely hotel. Hard to fault really. Good food, really helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location. Nothing is too much trouble. Looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely location, right on the beach and if you have a sandbanks beach facing room with a balcony you can hear the sea all day and night - lovely. Fabulous outside terrace with bar, you can eat, drink with beach and sea views. Hotel slightly tired, showing its age a bit - lift was one of those old fashioned style and very tiny. Evening meal was fabulous - beef that literally melted in the mouth, breakfast not such a good experience - buffet style and wasn't very hot, none of it. Not always as customer focussed as need to be - but that said location is amazing, just need to up their game on the décor along the hallways and get the staff to be on the ball.
Will definitely visit again though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickyhotelguru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Sandbanks Hotel in a family room with our 2 young boys – the room had plenty of space, and a side room (cell?) contained a bunk bed for the kids. Our room was missing the fridge, that was mentioned on the room amenities...it would of been handy to have one. There was a sofa area and balcony, which did provide a lovely view onto the beach. Although, we were situated next door to the room that held the kids club and entertainment in the evening, and yes, we could it all from our up until around 11pm.

Through out the hotel it is finished to a nice standard, especially so the terrace, which looks out onto the beautiful sandy beach, however the rooms themselves are tired and dated. The facilities, such as the pool, is much smaller then seen on the website, and it was often overcrowded. The gym, again was small, but we didn't use this facility. Our eldest did attend the kids club, which he loved, and won 'funster of the day', but we often found the noise from the kids games in the evening too much... The entertainers 'funsters' were always around, and all seem great (slightly annoying to us) for the kids!

We always arrived early for breakfast, so there was always plenty to choose from, and requests from the menu could be made with no waiting time. However, when we did arrive at 'rush hour' it was quite a different breakfast...the tables are arranged so that it's very difficult to walk through the dining area without asking a million times to be excused.

Dinner in the evening was a hit with the rest of the family (I'm vegetarian), and enjoyed by all, unfortunately, not the vegetarian as I was often eating the same/similar foods. There was always plenty of staff around, whether they knew what they were doing is another question...I think a lot of the staff did not have much experience, as we often found our questions being passed onto other members of staff, or them not fully understanding our requests.

A summary...great location – you have the beach, or harbour on the other side (kids will love the crabbing) – lots of families, so you don't have to worry about your kids being the noisy ones, but not up to the standard we expected, or saw from the website.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I was really worried seeing the poor reviews on this hotel but due to the location being on the beach decided to take a chance anyway!
I was pleasantly surprised! Yes it's not a 5 star hotel but reception staff were really good, the breakfast was very good if not excellent and the rooms were large and very spacious for the UK (had booked harbour view).

We ate on the terrace twice and the food was fast and very good - not too over pricey considering the location!

Being in the hotel industry myself I enquired about the refurbishments as I noticed not all the rooms were the same! They said the 3rd floor had been refurbed and some of the seafacing rooms and advised that one could request a newly refurbed room. I asked if my room was recently refurbished and they said no - I expected this but in fairness the room was fine, large and clean so I had no issues!

Where does the hotel let itself down - the exterior does look tired but the biggest let down is the bottom floor indoor pool and gym area - verging on awful and dirty! Urgently needs a complete rehall! Other than that I really don't know why everyone complains so much! I would certainly be happy staying here again but with the knowledge that its just your average 4 star hotel but in the best location in England!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TsielepiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at Sandbanks for the 10th or 11th Year - Can't remember now (8th,9th,10th,11th Aug 13) - been so many times !
As always the beach and location are superb. Food is good although a little unimaginative. Breakfast is great. Terrace bar is really good now that it has been updated but you still have some work to do resolving the bar service system on the terrace. Staff are friendly however there are not enough and there is always ambiguity around who gets served next - normally the person with the loudest shout - stop relying on the guests to manage your bar....if it can't be resolved by the staff - introduce a roped queuing system and alleviate the frustration....its supposed to be a relaxing experience. These are only little points to raise but they make a big difference. Please, Please, Please get some new bedroom furniture and carpets.........its letting down this excellent hotel.....we hold our breath each year hoping you will !!....just one last thing....furniture on the balconies appears to be a mismatch of the old terrace furniture...again its letting you down. We understand investment is limited however Sandbanks is one of the most expensive property locations in the world. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and love Sandbanks - hope you will listen.

Room Tip: Facing the sea room are the best but do prepare for them to be a little tired and worn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is a very special place to us as a family. My husband experienced wonderful and happy memories here as a child and now we are building the same for our children. The staff are so very friendly and extremely accommodating nothing is too much trouble and its brilliant seeing the lovely Joseph back with his enigmatic smile!! the dining area and the fabulous outdoor terrace area are run efficiently and the food choices are varied and very tasty!! For us the main reason we return time and time again is for our children to see the 'funsters' entertainment! They are the 'hotel' . Genuinely lovely people who adore children and are extremely talented with their professional singing and dancing!! An amazing show was put on and the children just love them!! They provide games on the beach, face painting, crafts, games and fun quizzes and much more and are extremely funny to watch!! So to sum up, if you're looking for a relaxed, fun and entertaining short break or a summer holiday I would recommend this hotel as a lovely family hotel for memories to build on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelilyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing