We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Poole
midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Sandbanks Hotel for a weekend, and we regularly do so each January. This year our experience was even better than last year.
A warm welcome at reception greeted us as before and we found the room to be spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Excellent hospitality tray and bathroom toiletries. Yes the room may be in need of redecoration but the odd scuff mark on a wall does not affect your stay. The bathroom appeared to have been recently re-tiled.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent!! In our opinion the food was of 5* quality, in both content, presentation and service. The restaurant was full as we were attending a function, however, due to the professionalism of Restaurant manager Joseph (Jose Martin) and his well organised team, all food was served promptly, efficiently and with style. Joseph is indeed a valuable asset to Sandbanks Hotel. Despite being in charge of a full restaurant Joseph had no trouble in the timely provision of alternative menu items where needed, he also made a point of asking each table if everything was alright. He managed to do this with genuine concern despite being so busy.
To sum up, our experience was superb, and throughout the hotel we found all the staff to have the right balance between being highly professional and proficient as well as having a friendly disposition. We look forward to a future visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    495
    386
    201
    126
See reviews for
492
631
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
windsor
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We went here a little hesitant, given some of the less than positive reviews on here, but how wrong were we. I have to say this was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had, a great room, great views, lovely food and attentive staff. In particular I'd like to say a big thank you to Mick, the Duty Manager, who went above the call of duty to make us feel welcome.
Well done to all of you there, we had a most enjoyable stay, and will be back

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A fantastic stay at the Sandbanks Hotel over Christmas. The staff were all very attentive. The Funsters worked their magic and put on a great Panto. Even Santa made an appearance and gave out some wonderful pressies for the children. The Salvation Army were back this time and lead us all in carol singing which was lovely. Far too much food and drink as always but a really enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are lovely but even the Harbour view can be nice as there is more to see with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I had a 1 night stay at the hotel on 13th December 2013, I didn't even think about Christmas party night and the hotel held a lot on one night, staff were attentive to non party goers and we ate out, as the menu was not inspiring. The party music could be heard throughout the hotel and it took a little longer to get to sleep than usual. We had 2 rooms one double one single (for a teenager) I thought they would have put us on the same floor and was silly not to ask. The single room had the better room overlooking the beach, the double looked over the car park we did have a balcony and from it could see into neighbouring rooms. I was happy with the cleanliness of the room along with the nice breakfast. Would I rave like others no not really some areas are tired but this is about right for a seaside hotel and not much in the area so if I were to go to Poole again I would actually stay in Poole, more places to eat and night life.
Overall I would say this an okay hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a front balcony room keep your curtains drawn as others can see in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently went here for a quick break over the winter holidays with friends.
The view from some rooms is amazing and you can see the sea, but from others you can just see the car park. The food is not good, there is very littlle choice at breakfast and most of the food tastes like school dinners. The staff are polite but are not willing to do much for you. At the Sands Bar you have to go and order the food yourself from the counter and it takes a long time to be served.
The rooms are horrible. They are outdated and badly decorated. The beds are awful. In the children's bunk beds the child on the lower bunk can't sit up with out hurting themselves. The rooms are clean but the bath and shower water was yellow!
Some of the facilities were brilliant. The kids club was amazing. There was all day activities where you could leave the kids. There is even a soft play for young children, but apparently they took the balls out the ball pits because the children kept peeing on them. The swimming pool was lovely. It was warm and no one went in it apart from us and an elderly couple. There is also a tiny gym and sauna.
I think you should go only if you have young children, as activities are exclusively for ages 4-8.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadvising2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the sandbanks hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a lovely room with a fantastic view and balcony overlooking the sea.
The room was very spacious and clean and the staff were very pleasant. We ate in the restaurant and found the food very good and the breakfasts excellent.
I can only say that although there are some bad reviews on this site we found it a lovely friendly hotel with a perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greymirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had our wedding here for the whole day but I also stayed here the night before and the night of the wedding in two separate rooms. As a wedding venue, I could not fault it, Sebastien and Lauren, the wedding coordinators, were extremely helpful and attentive. The guests had a fabulous time and the Compass Room is beautiful. The food was delicious too, both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet items.

As a guest on my first night, I had booked a family suite for myself and the bridesmaids. Check in was efficient and the porters were very helpful. The room was large, clean and perfect for the evening with a lovely balcony. We went to the bar for dinner and the food there was good. However, when we tried to go to sleep, we found we had been placed on top of or nearly on top of the function room, which had a Christmas party in it and the music did not stop until 1am. I phoned reception to find out when the party would be over about 12am and the receptionist apologised profusely but said there was nothing he could do. Not helpful before the wedding.

The buffet breakfast in the morning (served 8 - 10am) was much needed and was delicious. Very friendly waiting staff and lots of choice of hot and cold food and fruit juices.

The suite that we stayed in on the night of our wedding was gorgeous. Very comfortable bed, good size bathroom and again, a lovely balcony.

In both rooms, however, we found that there was little hot water or that it took a long time to turn hot. In fact, on the morning after the wedding, we were not able to have a shower and had to have one when we went home.

Apart from that though, the staff were faultless, the food excellent and the rooms were lovely. We are looking forward to going back for our anniversary meal and all our friends seemed to have enjoyed their stay at the hotel. They certainly enjoyed the breakfast!!

Room Tip: Ensure you are not placed near a function room. Sea view really is worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing