We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was not a 'Spa day' - very disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was not a 'Spa day' - very disappointed.”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My friend & i booked the Spa Day with lunch at the Sandbanks Hotel.
The lunch was excellent & restaurant manager & staff also excellent - they saved the day!
This hotel is not at all ready to advertise things such as a spa day. Its fascilities are just not ready! Communal showers & loos with only a curtain between you & the pool meaning showering with swimwear on. The pool was nice & warm but included 8 under 10yr old children screaming & running riot! (the pool is only 10m so no room to swim). Tried to dodge the cannon balling & being hit by their foam bullets! This is not acceptable on a spa day.
There were a few cubicles to dress in but no where to do hair or make up. There was a old fashioned hairdryer & mirror poolside which was old fashioned and insufficient & i felt stupid stood by the poolside in my posh dress trying to dry my hair - infact it got so hot i burnt my hand.
The lockers & changing cubicles are pool side meaning people come in fully dressed & with shoes on right where you get out of the pool - hygiene?!! No shoe covers. There was an attendant who didnt move from his desk. At one point there was a 13ish yr old who'd got out of the pool & then dressed and then went in the gym with wet hair using equipment (im sure you should be 18 for gym). Spa day this was not. I do not want to share my relaxing day this way! Id travelles to meet my friend for this from Wales! Usual price for 'spa' is £25- joke. Full of children and not a nice relaxing spa day. Fascilities very very poor. Very unhappy. If you're staying in the hotel it is very basic but could be ok but as a spa day or even day pass, it is not ready.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RockReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    503
    392
    206
    128
See reviews for
500
647
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The bedroom walls are not insulated and the windows are not double glazed hence it is very noisy inside the rooms when people move past. You can hear everything they say or do.

There was confusion amongst the receptionists.They claimed I was booked whilst I was booked. Eventually, it took ages to resolve. Then, on checking out, I was charged for three nights even though I stayed for two nights.

The hotel also charge you for a charity fee which one was not made aware of until the billing comes. I don't mind donating to charity at all but I will like it to be done with my own consent rather than it being forced upon me or done fraudulently.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet place to stay, then look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked a carvery lunch & spa deal through Groupon for £39 for both of us.

At reception we had a nice welcome & a porter showed us the pool & spa facilities. We were taken down a rather dingy & grubby stair case to the pool area & we were greeted by the sound of screeching children in a rather small pool. The pool itself was really warm but far too small to have a decent swim, it was full of children splashing about & my husband said it was like having a bath with lots of children so he got out straight away! The shower area wasn't too good as it was communal with just a curtain hiding you from the pool. The changing cubicles and locker area were really cramped & quite dark. We didn't stay in the pool area for long as the atmosphere really wasn't very relaxing at all. We really didn't like the fact that everybody had to walk right past the pool in their outdoor clothes & shoes to get changed as other hotels we have stayed at make you put plastic shoe covers on for hygiene reasons.

The setting for the hotel is beautiful, right on the beach & the views are tremendous from the function rooms. There is a very pleasant terrace area which backs right on to the beach. There is also a children's play area right next to the beach. In the summer months it must be heaven to sit outside with a coffee listening to the sound of the sea.

The carvery lunch really was a lovely experience. We were seated by the restaurant manager & enjoyed a table for two with gorgeous sea views. The carvery food was self service & extremely plentiful & well presented. The meats on offer were turkey, lamb, pork or matured beef. The vegetables on offer included broccoli, carrots, roast vegetables, cauliflower cheese ( which was very tasty!) & red cabbage. We had a passion fruit cheesecake for dessert which was very good quality. Our deal also included a glass of house wine each.

We would return here for Sunday lunch again but definitely would not bother to use the dreadful pool/spa area again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for a week in February. Excellent stay, lovely food, fantastic sea views, customer service outstanding. Both the bedroom and public areas of the hotel were very comfortable. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

On arrival my heart sank, really old and paint peeling building. We walked into the reception area and there was a damp smell. However, I then perked up when I saw the views and our room. Take your own toiletries, they do supply some in the room but not enough to even wash my big toe! Tea, coffee and biscuits are plentiful and very nice. Breakfast was very nice with both continental and full english for choice. Although not my usual standard I would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It is understood that the first hotel on this site was the South Haven Inn in the early 19th century. It is believed that the origins of the current hotel date back to the 1920s, where an advertisement in the 1929 Poole Guide apparently refers to it as formerly the Sandacres Hotel.
In the 20th century it was owned by Sir Ernest Cassel (Lady Edwina Mountbatten's Grandfather) as a seaside home, used during 1918 as a convalescent home for soldiers.
FJB Hotel group took over the Hotel around 1967 so it has seen some history!
2 day break mid week was very quiet & relaxing & the Hotel staff were very pleasant & attentive. The room 227 was spacious with a balcony & had an excellent view over the sea. At the time, due to heavy storms in Dorset & the south coast, the incoming tide was running unusually high with huge 'white horses' sending waves nearly up to the hotel's defense wall. On the night of arrival the storm was unbelievably heavy later that night,so much so, that the hotel was actually swaying very slightly(which my wife also noticed)......interestingly enough we discussed this in town with an ex staff member & he confirmed that huge investment was particularly concentrated on the initial strengthening of the foundations & steel girders due to the proximity of the sea & sub sandy soil/rock....... We were relieved to hear it!!-The current owners(FJB Hotel Group) have had the hotel some 47 years since purchase & we feel it still deserves its 4* rating,& certainly in its heyday was very much 'up market' with its enviable immediate access to a Blue Flag beach,the beach patio area being pleasantly modernised with stylish patio furniture & lighting. The children's play area was well catered for. Worth noting most major facilities are all there, from small indoor swimming pool,gym,spa etc, however the Hotel in certain areas would probably need some further refurbishment in the near future (particularly upgrading/refurbishing bedrooms & dining area etc which are starting to look a little tired)-Maybe its quirkiness is what the regular 'silver surfers' want & that is how the Hotel will remain being perhaps distinct from others.....comfortable in a type of time warp?....who knows?
We were visiting friends & did have dinner at the Hotel, so can't comment on the food.
The only complaint we had (& made) was on both occasions the full English breakfast was sadly not hot enough.
We love this particular resort of Sandbanks and can well believe in 2000 the Sandbanks area was named as the 4th most expensive piece of real estate in the world!
As we are part of the contributing grey economy & also silver surfers,.....we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 227(second floor) excellent sea view with balcony, but would recommend rooms nearer to 200(mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed two nights midweek last week of January 2014, we stayed on a Wowcher two nights b&b with the first night dinner in the restaurant . We were given a splendid room on the 3rd floor (319) with a balcony looking over Poole harbour, very nice. The room was excellent well spacious , one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in, the bathroom was spacious & seemed quite new. Not quite what we expected as we were staying on a Wowcher & had previous bad experiences with hotel rooms booked this way but we needn't have worried. We ate in the restaurant the first night , the food , ambience, setting was delightfull, the waiting staff were very professional. Price of the house wine was very reasonable, as were the drinks prices in the bar.
Breakfast was very good with a choice of continental or full English buffet style.
We could not fault this hotel & would recommend it, especially if you can stay on deal as we did.
There was free wifi internet throughout the hotel which worked ok, nice large tv in the room. There is a large car park at the front on the hotel, which is not chargeable. The only downside we found is that there are no pubs in the area, maybe too posh, so we stayed in the hotel bar. 2nd night we got a taxi to Bournemouth West cliff area to go to very nice Thai restaurant (Tiien Thai) taxis are expensive though.

Room Tip: 3rd floor harbour side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActionLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
845 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing