We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as part of a ladies weekend. There were 60 people in our group and all commented how lovely their stay was. Excellent breakfast and meals, Joseph and his team looked after us exceptionally well. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be looking to book up again next year. Thanks!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    533
    416
    222
    141
See reviews for
526
692
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Don't let the tired, dated exterior put you off, inside the main areas of interest: reception, bar, lounge, restaurant and rooms are all very modern and clean. Room was excellent - good size and facilities (although separate digital tv box and remote a little cumbersome). Reception staff a little indifferent but all the rest very friendly. A good choice for this part of the country.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived at The Sandbanks Hotel to a very warm, efficient welcome from the reception team. We had purchased a Wowcher voucher and were a little apprehensive to see if it did prove to be good value. We need not have worried. We were given a super room on the third floor which was large and had a balcony overlooking the Poole harbour side. The lounges in the hotel are very modern and comfortable. There was a good selection for breakfast and we cannot comment on dinner as we were on a bed and breakfast rate. The staff all seemed to be hardworking and cheerful. The following day we went to the Haven hotel which is also part of the group and used their swimming pool and hot tub. Amazingly, the sun came out and we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub outside. The steam room and sauna were also very good. The young lady in reception at the Spa was very kind and welcoming. After posting a review sometime ago and receiving a very negative response from the owner I vowed never to place any more reviews. However, the Sandbanks Hotel and staff deserve a good review.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor but as mentioned by other guests the lift only goes to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here in room 127 and had a lovely big room with a fabulous view which had 2 windows so plenty to look at. The bed was super comfy, shower hot and powerful. Lovely drinks tray with all sorts of tea, coffee and chocolate with biscuits, this was refreshed every day. There was a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The only down side was my room radiator was not working properly and with the gaps in the window the wind howled in and made it extra cold plus kept me awake. On ringing reception they sent me electric radiators and maintenance came and corrected some of the faults the next day. The food was lovely with the exception of the pork meal, this was supposed to be slow cooked so I was expecting it to be tender but it was very fatty and left a sour taste. I could not eat it. The staff went out of their way to help you and I was greeted every morning by staff at all levels which made a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My friend & i booked the Spa Day with lunch at the Sandbanks Hotel.
The lunch was excellent & restaurant manager & staff also excellent - they saved the day!
This hotel is not at all ready to advertise things such as a spa day. Its fascilities are just not ready! Communal showers & loos with only a curtain between you & the pool meaning showering with swimwear on. The pool was nice & warm but included 8 under 10yr old children screaming & running riot! (the pool is only 10m so no room to swim). Tried to dodge the cannon balling & being hit by their foam bullets! This is not acceptable on a spa day.
There were a few cubicles to dress in but no where to do hair or make up. There was a old fashioned hairdryer & mirror poolside which was old fashioned and insufficient & i felt stupid stood by the poolside in my posh dress trying to dry my hair - infact it got so hot i burnt my hand.
The lockers & changing cubicles are pool side meaning people come in fully dressed & with shoes on right where you get out of the pool - hygiene?!! No shoe covers. There was an attendant who didnt move from his desk. At one point there was a 13ish yr old who'd got out of the pool & then dressed and then went in the gym with wet hair using equipment (im sure you should be 18 for gym). Spa day this was not. I do not want to share my relaxing day this way! Id travelles to meet my friend for this from Wales! Usual price for 'spa' is £25- joke. Full of children and not a nice relaxing spa day. Fascilities very very poor. Very unhappy. If you're staying in the hotel it is very basic but could be ok but as a spa day or even day pass, it is not ready.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RockReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The bedroom walls are not insulated and the windows are not double glazed hence it is very noisy inside the rooms when people move past. You can hear everything they say or do.

There was confusion amongst the receptionists.They claimed I was booked whilst I was booked. Eventually, it took ages to resolve. Then, on checking out, I was charged for three nights even though I stayed for two nights.

The hotel also charge you for a charity fee which one was not made aware of until the billing comes. I don't mind donating to charity at all but I will like it to be done with my own consent rather than it being forced upon me or done fraudulently.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet place to stay, then look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked a carvery lunch & spa deal through Groupon for £39 for both of us.

At reception we had a nice welcome & a porter showed us the pool & spa facilities. We were taken down a rather dingy & grubby stair case to the pool area & we were greeted by the sound of screeching children in a rather small pool. The pool itself was really warm but far too small to have a decent swim, it was full of children splashing about & my husband said it was like having a bath with lots of children so he got out straight away! The shower area wasn't too good as it was communal with just a curtain hiding you from the pool. The changing cubicles and locker area were really cramped & quite dark. We didn't stay in the pool area for long as the atmosphere really wasn't very relaxing at all. We really didn't like the fact that everybody had to walk right past the pool in their outdoor clothes & shoes to get changed as other hotels we have stayed at make you put plastic shoe covers on for hygiene reasons.

The setting for the hotel is beautiful, right on the beach & the views are tremendous from the function rooms. There is a very pleasant terrace area which backs right on to the beach. There is also a children's play area right next to the beach. In the summer months it must be heaven to sit outside with a coffee listening to the sound of the sea.

The carvery lunch really was a lovely experience. We were seated by the restaurant manager & enjoyed a table for two with gorgeous sea views. The carvery food was self service & extremely plentiful & well presented. The meats on offer were turkey, lamb, pork or matured beef. The vegetables on offer included broccoli, carrots, roast vegetables, cauliflower cheese ( which was very tasty!) & red cabbage. We had a passion fruit cheesecake for dessert which was very good quality. Our deal also included a glass of house wine each.

We would return here for Sunday lunch again but definitely would not bother to use the dreadful pool/spa area again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing