We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 12 March 2014

i visited this hotel last year and i found it to be just as good as last year. the difference now is that i had a bad fall and the staff reacted magnificently. i would like to pass on my thanks to the restaurant staff, sergio et al, and particularly to ian who reacted so well to my situation, he arranged for taxis, paid on the hotel account, and room service when we returned from a &e. this was greatly appreciated by my husband and myself. i am typing this with one hand due to a broken humorus (not funny at all) and hope to be near normal in 6 weeks or so. if i get the chance again next year i shall be back! fortunately(?) the accident happened on our last night so we still can say we had a great time.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr0dden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the sea. Stunning view, very clean, warm, the bed was a little uncomfortable. Plenty of tea/coffee.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Free parking
Evening meal , excellent presentation, tasty.
The bar was very comfortable and had a beautiful outside area overlooking the sea.
Very very enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having read earlier reports about this hotel we were a little apprehensive, but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, our room with Sea View and balcony was large, refurbished and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The hotel is in an excellent position right on the beach. Breakfast was good, we didn't eat dinner in the Hotel and thought the menu was a bit expensive. The swimming pool was good. This is a family Hotel and I could see it might be a bit noisy and busy during school holidays but was quiet when we were there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephanie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I went with my husband Friday to Sunday it was fab . The hotel is so clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent never tasted sure tender meat. Breakfast was very good. Our room was so big with a balcony with tablet and chairs and a lounger the bed was big and very comfortable. The weather was fantastic so we sat having coffee and reading sitting by the sea on they lovely chairs can't wait to be able to go again

Room Tip: We had 239 it was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonnebracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch and spa with a groupon voucher.
Its was a busy weekend with fab weather and where better to enjoy it
The spa facilities are a bit basic, but the lack of wow there was definitely made up for with the lovely carvery lunch and tea on the veranda with great views out to sea.
2 course lunch £15.95 each and well worth treating yourself.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1Julie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed 4/5th March, had room 114. We got these 2 days on a Travel Zoo deal and were very surprised to find we had been given a great room. We knew it would have a balcony and sea view but we did not expect a his and hers wash basin in a very nice bathroom. My wife called me to look at a door she opened fully expecting it to be a wardrobe. Instead it was a sitting room with another set of patio doors leading to the balcony . The food was excellent both evening and morning, the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
2 downsides. Our room at night occasionally had a loud noise which sounded like a jet engine starting up. It was not the air conditioning because we turned it off.
The second was the drinks we ordered at the dinner table in the evening . You can either put money behind the reception to pay for any purchases or pay as you go. We chose pay as you go. When I asked for the bill for our 2 drinks it already included 10% for a tip which it said on the bill was optional! I requested another bill without that option, its a bit of a cheek to present the bill like that! Overall it was a good stay, the weather was lovely.

Room Tip: More activity in the harbour at this time of year and lovely sunsets. So a room at the back may be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrived on a Sunday for a short break of a few days and found the staff very helpful even though they were very busy with people booking out.
Our room was clean, comfortable and regularly tidied for us with a plentiful and varied supply of sachets for making drinks. The only irritations were that there was no fridge in the room and our balcony was close to one of the kitchen vents such that occasionally we had the smell of cooking.
In the restaurant everything was clean with attentive staff. Each day, breakfast was comprehensive and plentiful. Certainly a good set up for the day.
We only had dinner on one night in the restaurant because we were out and about most of the time but, again, no complaints about either the menu, the way the food was presented, and the ever attentive and helpful staff.
The pool was OK but shut for a short while without any real explanation.
It would have been nice if we could have stayed longer because, from a bad start, the weather improved steadily while we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,523 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £81 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing