We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good two day break”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Torquay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good two day break”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Have just returned from a two day break at this hotel and was very satisfied with the accommodation, the food was excellent (Joseph the head waiter charming) the rest of the staff were very polite and helpful. Situated in a delightful position would certainly return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsiemayTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    517
    405
    214
    131
See reviews for
507
671
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
henley on thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After a traumatic few weeks my dear friend from Devon and I decided to meet half-way at this hotel.
Very hard to fault it.
Service was impeccable, spotlessly clean and the food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented.
We went with an open mind as this was a true 'bargain break' and didn't know quite what to expect. It was amazing value for money and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a balcony and one of the already refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henleycrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just back from a wonderful 2 day break at this hotel. It was lovely and could not recommend it more.
The room was great, food excellent and staff very efficient, helpful and polite (especially the young lad in the pool area) who was helpful to the older guests having problems exiting the pool.

The views from the back and front of the hotel are lovely, especially if you get a balcony with your room. The hotel does look a bit tired from the outside but it was just after some major storms so had been battered a bit. Its right on the beach and such a wonderful place to stay so will defo be going back.

Room Tip: try to make sure you get a balcony - sea side I feel is better but fron or back of hotel the views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrown8157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

i visited this hotel last year and i found it to be just as good as last year. the difference now is that i had a bad fall and the staff reacted magnificently. i would like to pass on my thanks to the restaurant staff, sergio et al, and particularly to ian who reacted so well to my situation, he arranged for taxis, paid on the hotel account, and room service when we returned from a &e. this was greatly appreciated by my husband and myself. i am typing this with one hand due to a broken humorus (not funny at all) and hope to be near normal in 6 weeks or so. if i get the chance again next year i shall be back! fortunately(?) the accident happened on our last night so we still can say we had a great time.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr0dden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the sea. Stunning view, very clean, warm, the bed was a little uncomfortable. Plenty of tea/coffee.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Free parking
Evening meal , excellent presentation, tasty.
The bar was very comfortable and had a beautiful outside area overlooking the sea.
Very very enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Having read earlier reports about this hotel we were a little apprehensive, but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, our room with Sea View and balcony was large, refurbished and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The hotel is in an excellent position right on the beach. Breakfast was good, we didn't eat dinner in the Hotel and thought the menu was a bit expensive. The swimming pool was good. This is a family Hotel and I could see it might be a bit noisy and busy during school holidays but was quiet when we were there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I went with my husband Friday to Sunday it was fab . The hotel is so clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent never tasted sure tender meat. Breakfast was very good. Our room was so big with a balcony with tablet and chairs and a lounger the bed was big and very comfortable. The weather was fantastic so we sat having coffee and reading sitting by the sea on they lovely chairs can't wait to be able to go again

Room Tip: We had 239 it was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonnebracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
875 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing