We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Bagshot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

we booked via Wowcher so our expectations were not high. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff. Very nice and approachable. very smooth check in. explained everything the hotel had to offer.

Our room was on the second floor. it was a nice size but had a broken toilet seat. I called down to reception and they sent someone up to take a look. They could not repair the problem so we were offered another room. This one was on the beach side and had a living area as well as the bedroom.

The hotel does need a lick of paint in areas but thtis is to be expected as it is fairly exposed to the sea air.

Really enjoyed our 2 nights and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagshotSpoonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    495
    386
    201
    126
See reviews for
492
631
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is okay, but nothing too special. Rooms are pleasant and spacious with the usual facilities, including free wifi. I was on the ground floor overlooking the car park, so you are probably better off with a room on a higher floor. The rooms on one side overlook the harbour, on the other they overlook the sea. I didn't get the chance to use the pool and leisure facilities. The evening meals were okay, but disappointed that the breakfast options did not include black pudding and fried bread.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor overlooking the car park, so you are probably better off with a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband, myself and baby daughter arrived at The Sandbanks Hotel for a mini break last week. Arriving with 3 bags and a buggy we tried to use the ramp and Disabled access by pressing the doorbell, after several attempts no reply we had to go back to the main reception and struggle with a few trips up several steps with no help from unoccupied staff in reception. So they put us on the 3rd floor. the lift goes to the 2nd and then 2 flights of stairs again with a buggy. The staff told us to leave our luggage and someone would bring it up to our room. BIG MISTAKE. Our iPad was in the bag left in reception and never to be seen again……. gutted as our baby girls newborn photos and our wedding photos are lost forever. A very rude Manager, Mr [--] could not care less! Horrible attitude. So disappointing. Awaiting a reply from the MD but not holding out any hope as staff seem to be too incompetent to even look around when made aware of the lost iPad. A few other things to note, if you're a family expect to be seated in the corner for breakfast and dinner and do not expect to be offered any drinks/tea/coffee. Rooms very tatty, sofa arm materiel all ripped. old furniture and furnishings. There shall probably be some mono tone reply to this review but I assure you these are facts and as much as the reply will say its been looked into, the iPad went missing from reception to our room, that speaks for itself!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightonbelle900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, General Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Brightonbelle900,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay at Sandbanks Hotel.

I am sorry that your first impression of the hotel was marred by the problem you had to endure with the door bell not working on the ramped entrance to the hotel there is no excuse for this and the problem was rectified as soon as you mentioned it to reception. I am sure that had one of you gone to reception the door would have been opened straight away and thereby making your arrival less traumatic.

Regarding room allocations we do get a number of families requesting third floor rooms as they are quieter and enjoy uniterrupted views over the beach to the Purbecks and the Isle of Wight. I have been advised that as soon as you mentioned the steps to the room an alternative room was made available on the first floor.

I can certainly understand your feelings about the iPad but when a customer makes accusations to fairly junior members of staff on reception rather than speaking to a member of management who are on duty 24hrs a day, then reactions may not be as you had expected. Your first contact with the hotel regarding the missing iPad was after you left the hotel which was 72 hrs after you have indicated it went missing. The police have investigated the whole incident and were very happy with the procedures that the hotel had followed, including the reading of bedroom door locks and viewing of CCTV cameras which cover the reception area.

As you see from other reviews of Sandbanks we are very used to dealing with families, most families do ask to be placed at the side of the restaurant as this is less disruptive to small children and I am sorry that you felt you were ignored in rspect of drinks/teas/coffees I am sure that had this been unacceptable you would have made your feelings known at the time.

Once again please accept my apologies for the problems on arrival and be assured we have co operated fully with police on the missing iPad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

midlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had an overnight stay here and we were not disappointed with anything about it. Staff were helpful and polite at all levels. The location has to be second to none, being on the beach with direct access. You can either have a sea view or a harbour view both are good

Room Tip: Room 119 is on 1st floor with sea view. A family room with seating area and separate bedroom with bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Sandbanks Hotel. The staff and food are second to none especially Joseph who is the Restaurant Manager . He is the most helpful, professional and organised member of staff . He provided first class service to our 140 guests without a hitch. The hotel was spotless and well run. Everyone from Joseph to the waiter just brilliant , they are a great team . The hotel could do with a facelift but it is more that adequate for our party.

Room Tip: Ask receiption for a good sea view as soom rooms overlook the car park and that really spoils your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4383Ruth4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked a 2 night stay using a Groupon offer. Arrived at 2.30 - half an hour before check in - and we had to wait until 3pm to check in. The Hotel was not full, and I suspect this was someone just being pedantic! However, the room was excellent. Huge bed, enormous bathroom with 2 sinks, settee, two easy chairs and a coffee table. Tea and coffee making facilities, and lovely biscuits. The balcony end of the room was all window, with a sliding door to the balcony. This overlooked the car park and the beach and sea. Free wi fi.

Our room was on the third floor, at the far end of the building. The lift only goes to the second floor, so be prepared for stairs and walking. Some of the corridors and stairwell areas are a bit grotty, but the main Reception, bar areas and dining room are good. There's a nice outdoor seating area at the back, overlooking the sea. It's great that this Hotel has sea at the front and back, so almost any window you look out of has a sea view.

Breakfast and dinner was excellent and service good.

We used the swimming pool, and although it's only 10 metres long, it seemed clean and well maintained. There is also a sauna and gym. The pool area is one of the few places with no sea view. A larger outdoor pool would be a brilliant addition to this hotel.

The steps to the Reception from the car park could be problematic for anyone with mobility issues. I didn't notice a ramp. The corridors to the room also involved some small flights of stairs.

This part of the coast is close to the beginning of the Sandbanks peninsula, directly opposite Brownsea Island with Studland Bay over to the left. Poole is 5 miles from the Hotel around the coast, with a cycle path most of the way. Bournemouth is 5 miles along the coastal path in the other direction.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility issues should let the hotel know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The rooms do have a great view on the south-east side facing the sea. The staff all seem to be very cheerful and helpful. Our room 210 had a seating area as mentioned on an earlier review which was a bonus. Unfortunately we also had the extractor fan type noise disturbing our sleep and disappointingly drowning out the lovely sound of the waves at night. We also were charged the "optional" extra 10% on paying for our wine. I think a £22.50 bottle of wine has enough tax + corkage added without adding another 10% on top of all that tax! There isn't much skill required to open a screwcap bottle. Our biggest gripe though about our stay was that the bed was old and should be replaced. There is no excuse.

Room Tip: Rooms on south-east side should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing