We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked 21 rooms over last weekend for my husband 's 50th birthday celebration. The service wax excellent and the staff very helpful.

We are going back to Sandbanks for New Year's Eve and will stay at the Sandbanks or Haven.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony is the best, however everyone had a hood room either sea or harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenjeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    528
    411
    218
    136
See reviews for
515
685
45
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at the sandbanks hotel in a very nice sea facing room with balcony. The service was good as was the food - especially the breakfast. If you think you will be using the swimming pool facilities then I would suggest that you use their sister hotel down the road (Haven Hotel) as the facilities at the Sandbanks are very sub-standard for a 4*. The pool is very small and there is only one shower cubical containing two showers - which were communal for both sexes! Location is fantastic and has sea and harbour views, bar area's are nice (though better at the Haven) and has great outdoor seating for the summer months.

Room Tip: Beds are soft, therefore if you require beds with more support, request a board to go under the matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from spending 2 nights (Groupon Deal) in this lovely hotel right on the Sandbanks.
We could not fault it, reception staff very welcoming, bar staff friendly and the restaurant staff are very polite and work very hard.
The food - Breakfast is a buffet, Cereal, Full English, Croissants & Fruit.
Evening Meal was a set menu with a choice of around 4 of each course, gorgeous food.
The Room - ours was on the 2nd Floor and easy to get to via lift or stairs. Room overlooked the Sandbanks & Harbour, it was a lovely room, very clean and lots of room.
We would defiantly stay here again. Great location for a great break.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochesterWtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I booked a single room, at the last minute, for £54 including breakfast.

My room was small, but perfect - comfortable bed, clean, and with a perfect
beach view.

Everything was well kept, and a lot of rooms have views either of the beach, or of
the lower part of Poole Harbour - magnificent!

Breakfast was either from the menu or the buffet. The coffee was not very tasty, so
I got some fruit juice, instead. Breakfast was fine!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just spent an enjoyable couple of days at this excellent hotel. We booked through Travelzoo and the deal was for two nights with a three course meal included on the first night.
We found a parking space quite easily in the car park, although it was fairly full.
Our room was on the ground floor and had a sea view, although we did look out over the childrens playground, which was fine for us but maybe noisy in the summer. It was a lovely size with a comfortable seating area with a sofa and two arm chairs. Ideal for relaxing with a coffee whilst catching up with the news on the large screen TV. We had twin beds linked together, so plenty of room, without disturbing your sleeping partner; and plenty of wardrobe space and 'his' and 'hers' wash basins in the bathroom!

Our evening meal was well cooked and nicely presented. I had the duck 'meat balls' for starters and my husband had the fish cakes. He then followed on with the Rib Eye steak, and cheese and biscuits, whilst I chose the salmon, followed by the Banoffee cheesecake. All very tasty. The Restaurant is fairly large and we did find it fairly noisy with all the diners seated on one side leaving the other side virtually empty. Maybe if the diners had been spread out a little then it might have felt a little more relaxing.

The breakfast each morning was really well presented, plenty of everything and freshly cooked. Both mornings we were seated by the large windows that ran along one side of the restaurant giving us a sea view for breakfast.

The position of this hotel makes it ideal for exploring the area. In a few minutes you can be in Poole, or a little longer to Bournemouth. On our first morning we took the road along Sandbanks to the ferry at the end and crossed over to Studland Bay and on into Swanage. We found Swanage very pleasant, and having browsed around the shops for a while we had a coffee before heading off to Corfe Castle and Wareham, finally arriving back at Poole.

We ate at the Grasshopper on our way back through Poole as we hadn't booked a table at the hotel for that evening.

All in all a very pleasant couple of days, and very good value.

Room Tip: Maybe a first floor room would give better views without looking through childrens play equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was the forth visit to this hotel over the last 10 years and again we were not disappointed in any way, in all 140 of descended on the hotel last Friday 14 March and departed Sunday 16, not one complaint from anyone the food was exceptional for both evenings and the service was second to none, bravo to all the staff.

Room Tip: Request a room with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sandbanks Hotel for two nights with their Winter Offer. Two nights B&B and 3 course evening meal on the first night. We arrived early, but our room was ready. Lovely big room, with balcony and views overs Poole Harbour. Located on the third floor, the only snag was the lift went to second floor, then a lengthy walk and flight of stairs to get to the room. Evening meal options were varied and we were both more than pleased with our choices. Beautifully cooked. Breakfast could not be faulted, everything you could want. Excellent position with the Harbour one side and Sandbanks the other.

Room Tip: Our room was 320. If you don't do stairs choose a lower floor. Help was offered with our luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
898 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing