We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights. Lovely welcome at check in, warm, friendly staff. Had a beautiful sea view room, lovely touch, the bed faced the patio doors so we're able to wake up, open doors and sit in bed listening to the sea. Very comfortable room and well equipped. Dinner on first night was nice, choice bit limited but superb service made up for that. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a pleasant, relaxing break.

Room Tip: Can't beat a sea facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    513
    400
    210
    128
See reviews for
505
663
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I bought a 1 night stay for me and a friend and a 2 night stay for my parents. The reception staff were very friendly. The room was overlooking the sea, lovely views, although the windows need replacing or draught excluding as it was very draughty. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent. My ONLY complaint was the rudeness of the maître de. He insulted my mother by implying she was disabled, which she is not. His approach to her was just rude sadly. Other than that we had a lovely stay. Beautiful location.

Room Tip: Sea view 222
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNADZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here on a 2 night Travelzoo deal and have to say of all the similar deals we have done this hotel is top of the tree. It is in a stunning location with views front and back, it is also next to a marvellous beach and is on bus routes to Poole, Swanage, Bournemouth etc. We stayed in a sea view room with a balcony and it was fabulous. The restaurant food both dinner and breakfast was excellent and the service by all of the staff we encountered could not be faulted. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with balcony are large and a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

excellent value for money and hotel staff brilliant the maitre d made the dinning experience fantastic and a brilliant menu choice and good quality only fault was the music in the restaurant and bar very poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We are leaving now after a three night stay and just do not want to leave. There is nothing negative I can say. Everything was perfect and I just do not understand the negative comments and reviews read on this site.
Booking was superb Lauren did everything she could to accomodate us. On arrival the reception was excellent, relaxed but professional. Our room 131 was more than we expected, spotlessly clean, large and very quiet and comfortable. Cleaning each day with fresh towels from kind and polite staff.
The restaurant was superb and many many thanks to Joseph and all his staff friendly and nothing too much trouble. The food every night was sublime and to die for and left us shouting we will soon be back!!
What more can we say Sandbanks Hotel is SIMPLY THE BEST !!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joylaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at The Sandbanks on an "offer". We are willing to overlook the stained carpet in the room & worn sofa bed covers for the excellent service from all the staff. The restaurant is run very efficiently by Jose, who has EVERYTHING under control. The evening meal (part of the offer) appeared at first to be disappointing as we looked at the menu, but how wrong we were! It was delicious, although for people who love food like us, may find portions small. In some areas there's need for some maintenance, but no fault whatsoever on the cleanliness everywhere. Bar prices are on par with any other 4* hotel & the bar area is very welcoming & comfortable. Would recommend hotel to anyone, just in the most amazing position.

Room Tip: The sea view side is just lovely.Wake up to the sun & sit on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked 21 rooms over last weekend for my husband 's 50th birthday celebration. The service wax excellent and the staff very helpful.

We are going back to Sandbanks for New Year's Eve and will stay at the Sandbanks or Haven.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony is the best, however everyone had a hood room either sea or harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenjeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing