We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“another return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

everything is superb, the view, the food, the staff, the amenities and pools.
rooms are exceptionally well cleaned, with lovely towels and even chocolate sachets.
there are housekeepers galore and they are always most polite and helpful.
all the staff are wonderful, it's amazing, it makes dining and breakfasting a real delight.

Room Tip: balcony is great for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    496
    386
    203
    127
See reviews for
493
634
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 days break, a belated birthday present from my daughter. We were warmly greeted on arrival Mother's Day, very busy with people and families arriving. Our room was not ready until after 3pm, this was fine as we had booked the restaurant for the Mothers Day carvery, our daughter was joining us for lunch. The restaurant was not busy when we were shown to our table, we felt the waitress was rushing us on choosing our starter and dessert, once the restaurant filled up we were left to sort ourselves out. The food was excellent a good choice of meats, though I chose the salmon, plenty of vegetables, potatoes. Very nice meal. A nice touch all mother's were given a small pot of daffodils with voucher to use the various facilities at other hotels. Did not get to use them this time, but will certainly return. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable, quiet area. Large fluffy white towels in the bathroom, lovely comfortable bed. We had an early morning swim in the pool, though the water was not very warm, and it would not do to have too many people wanting to swim at the same time. The next 2 mornings we had a lovely breakfast, plenty of choices for everyone. Friendly staff. On checking out this morning I was over charged on a more expensive bottle of wine which we did not have, also a meal which we did not have, this may have been an oversight as they were busy, this was soon rectified by the friendly front of house staff, please check, also a 10% discretionary charge on your bill. This hotel is centrally placed to visit lots of local places, I would imagine very busy in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break which we were very much looking forward to. . What we got was quite a different scenario. We were shown to a room which already had guests checked into it. The room we had was a harbour view overlooking the car park. Some items of breakfast ran out before the close of service at 10am. The staff were very quick to clear everything away. The room we had was hot and the air conditioning wasn't working. We reported this but nothing was done about it. The hotel is tired and needs refurbishment as there were plenty of leaks, a lift which rattled and staff who didn't seem to know when the ferry times were to Brownsea Island. Surely we weren't the only visitors who wished to go there? The spa/pool area was 1.09 in depth, barely a bath. Customer Service was severely lacking, this was a hotel which needs to be brought into the 21st century. In addition family rooms should be grouped together as we were awoken by two babies crying three times during the night. A peaceful night's sleep? That must have been an April fool! We will never return there and couldn't possibly recommend it to others either.

Room Tip: Couldn't really say as all rooms looked shabby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miscura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I booked 2 nights B&B including 1 night with an evening meal. The hotel is in a great position near the beach but there was nowhere open in the evening to walk to. The room we had faced the car park but had a nice view of the water. We watched the surfers in the morning while having a cup of tea (watched from inside as it was too windy sit on the balcony). The room was clean with a good selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits. The bathroom was clean and we were topped up with shampoo and clean towels etc on the 2nd day.

The breakfast was great with an excellent selection of cereals, pastries & cooked breakfast items.
The evening meal we had was nice but I wouldn't have wanted to have paid the restaurant price.
The only down fall was there was nowhere to walk to at night, as the nearest bars were a good walk away and the carpets in the corridors to the rooms where a little worn, but I wasn't staying in the corridor!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel which was a late Christmas present from my partner. The setting right by the sea on the fabulous peninsula of Sandbanks and the lovely spring weather were the only saving graces for what was a poor all round experience at this 'tired' hotel. On arrival we found our room wasnt quite ready when we got up to it ; not a big deal and we were invited to have a complimentary drink in the bar while housekeeping finished it. We ordered drinks and had the spanish inquisition from the duty manager who enquired who said the drinks were free and "some people try it on you know" before he apologetically ( but after the fact) accepted the drinks were free. So this was a good start ! A second drink to be paid for was not obtained since the very slow moving bar staff staff elected to serve people out of turn so I gave up. The heating in our room was provided by some form of air conditioning which when it came on without being requested made an incredibly loud rasping sound reminiscent of a hammer drill going through masonry or a motorbike engine. On a more positive note our meal in the restaurant on the first night was very good and the restaurant staff very pleasant and providing better service. On Sunday we had relatives join us for a couple of hours at lunchtime. Ordering some refreshments - not cheap - the bar staff on two occasions took it upon themselves to remind me that between 12 and 3pm they were serving "residents only". A buffet help your self breakfast on both days was a bustling affair as the hotel appeared to be quite full ; the table layout was very tight needing a good walk around the permiter or look for a route through a maze of gaps between chairs and tall plant pots to get at the food was the order of the day. We thought about a swim in the hotel pool on Sunday afternoon but decided against as it was not much bigger than a jacuzzi. This experience spoiled a relaxing weekend I had so been looking forward to in a place that I love and I would not recomment this hotel at all. David from Buckinghamshire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, Kent
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Wow! I was expecting any old room as we booked a reasonably priced deal, but no! We had a fantastic room complete with a large balcony overlooking the bay. It helped that the weather was really good too. The room had two large single beds, a sofa, table and two chairs along with drawers and wardrobe and there was still plenty of room. Also a huge flat screen TV with Free view on a wall bracket so that it could be angled just right for viewing. The bathroom was large and had a bath/shower, toilet, bidet and sink, again with plenty of room. The towels were large, spotlessly clean and fluffy.
The breakfast included was lovely. There was plenty of choice from cereal, fruit, pastries, toast, cooked breakfast etc with juices and endless tea/coffee.
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to all

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jdunkley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights. Lovely welcome at check in, warm, friendly staff. Had a beautiful sea view room, lovely touch, the bed faced the patio doors so we're able to wake up, open doors and sit in bed listening to the sea. Very comfortable room and well equipped. Dinner on first night was nice, choice bit limited but superb service made up for that. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a pleasant, relaxing break.

Room Tip: Can't beat a sea facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stepper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing