We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were lucky enough to visit for a brief stay at the end of March as a gift from our family. Our room was very comfortable with a view over Poole Harbour, magnificent to watch Brittany Ferries sail past Brownsea Island. If the weather had been better we could have used our balcony to watch the sunset but we saw it instead from the comfort of the settee or armchairs in the room. The bathroom looked very good, it was very clean but we soon found the shower didn't have water pour out of it well, whereas the drain pipe from one of the washbasins did - all over the floor! The other disappointment was the trek to find our room - on the 3rd floor and therefore with wonderful views but the lift only goes to the 2nd floor. As we emerged from the lift and tried to work out where to go next (signage not very helpful) fortunately the charming under-manager Noah appeared and took us onward.... upstairs, along a corridor, through a door, more stairs, more doors, steps up and down. We felt we should have unravelled a piece of string in order to retrace our steps! As my husband has a wonky knee we were a little sorry this length of approach to the room was not flagged up at all, but it was ok - he just took it slowly and fortunately we only had overnight bags to carry. All was redeemed when we went to dinner - an excellent service team, very friendly and quick, anxious to please. And the food was delicious, attractively served too. Breakfast very good also. After checking out of our room we stayed on the terrace watching windsurfers the next day - good choice of bar food available and brought out to our table. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    517
    405
    214
    131
See reviews for
507
671
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We booked as a treat travelling from Surrey for a Sunday carvery with local relatives. Service was very hit and miss bits missing from starters and drinks not delivered until half way through starter and still not right! There was an issue with flies kept buzz bombing throughout the meal. Staff were not really interested in any complaints - was ok but given star rating and reputation incredibly disappointing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndez F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my second visit to the Sandbanks and unfortunately it was as disappointing as the first. On the first occasion it was almost impossible to be served in the outside bar, it was understaffed, the service was slow and there was a high proportion of pushy and self important people who decided that that they were more important than the rest of us. This was brought to the managers attention on a few occasions and he continued to observe the situation and do not one single thing to help, including maybe serving a few drinks himself.

On the second occasion this week we turned up at reception to be told that there would be a power outage the next day and that there was nothing that they could do about it - we had planned to spend the morning with our son in the pool. When I asked when this was known it was established that it was a week after our booking and no one had thought to mention it - probably on the basis that we might cancel and go elsewhere. The male receptionist made no apology or offered no alternatives simply stating it was outside of his control, the female receptionist offered a similar level of help. We asked to be transferred to the Haven, which initially was not considered possible. We insisted that they call and the Haven were more than accommodating. Sandbanks were unable to transfer our booking for the two days to Haven and credit our pre-paid stay without a further three phone calls to them.

They either can't be bothered or know no better - either way I am not sure which is worse. Go somewhere else, the Haven were very accommodating, have great staff and a more reasonable tariff. I think Sandbanks trade on an undeserved reputation and new money with no real, evident social skills. Avoid at all costs, camping on the beach would be preferable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langdon Hills, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Have just returned from 3 night stay at sandbanks hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. Although hotel could do with some updating, it is in a wonderful location. The hotel was getting ready for the summer and it would have been nice if they had advised us, prior to checking in, that some parts were not ready. However the main patio was all set up before we left. The breakfast buffet was ok but not very varied. We only had one dinner at the hotel as we were disappointed with the menu and quality of food and my husband did not eat any of his main course. In fairness to the hotel they did offer an alternative meal.

Our room was large and very comfortable as there was a separate seating area. We did not book a sea view but could sea beach and sea as we were on side of hotel.

This hotel is ideal for families as located on a beautiful blue flag beach. One of the best locations we have ever stayed in. It was also good that we could use facilities of sister hotels, the haven and harbour heights. Both of these hotels appeared better suited to couples.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which was very large and comfortable. However there was a cafe over the road w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We went to this hotel on a travel-zoo voucher, I booked this as it was my friends birthday (60th)
And this was our treat for my friend x husband so booked this for four of us.

We arrived in the afternoon and the from the front of the hotel it looks a bit tired and it looks like it had taken a beating with all the rain we have had...

Once we got checked in and got to our room we was so pleased but saying that our friends room was not so nice as ours....little dated and needed double glazing and the balcony needed painting.

The food in the evening was wonderful and complaints to the chef...the manager was great and recommend a great Indian in penn hill...

Will be booking and going back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

everything is superb, the view, the food, the staff, the amenities and pools.
rooms are exceptionally well cleaned, with lovely towels and even chocolate sachets.
there are housekeepers galore and they are always most polite and helpful.
all the staff are wonderful, it's amazing, it makes dining and breakfasting a real delight.

Room Tip: balcony is great for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 days break, a belated birthday present from my daughter. We were warmly greeted on arrival Mother's Day, very busy with people and families arriving. Our room was not ready until after 3pm, this was fine as we had booked the restaurant for the Mothers Day carvery, our daughter was joining us for lunch. The restaurant was not busy when we were shown to our table, we felt the waitress was rushing us on choosing our starter and dessert, once the restaurant filled up we were left to sort ourselves out. The food was excellent a good choice of meats, though I chose the salmon, plenty of vegetables, potatoes. Very nice meal. A nice touch all mother's were given a small pot of daffodils with voucher to use the various facilities at other hotels. Did not get to use them this time, but will certainly return. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable, quiet area. Large fluffy white towels in the bathroom, lovely comfortable bed. We had an early morning swim in the pool, though the water was not very warm, and it would not do to have too many people wanting to swim at the same time. The next 2 mornings we had a lovely breakfast, plenty of choices for everyone. Friendly staff. On checking out this morning I was over charged on a more expensive bottle of wine which we did not have, also a meal which we did not have, this may have been an oversight as they were busy, this was soon rectified by the friendly front of house staff, please check, also a 10% discretionary charge on your bill. This hotel is centrally placed to visit lots of local places, I would imagine very busy in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing