We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime, but not beyond saving”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Sandbanks Hotel is in an idyllic location. The beach directly in front of the hotel is glorious - I forgot England had such wonderful beaches to offer. It helped that we stayed over on a sunny day.

We were a last minute booking, having stopped over at Poole unexpectedly and had no plans.

The service was very pleasant behind reception, on the terrace and at breakfast. The breakfast was good, though nothing special. the food on the Terrace likewise. the views make up for it though, so the overall experience was memorable (in a good way).

The rooms were less so. Large enough, but tired and a bit dated. The bed was reasonably comfy.
The shower was quite powerful but the shower head kept drooping, so that was a pain.

There was a lot of painting and touching up going on inside (strange time to do this - a busy, hot weekend), but I hope they go a step further and replace the stained carpets (and the awful pictures on the walls).

So, would I go back?

On balance, it was a pleasant stay and I wouldn't mind staying again, but I'd probably want to check out the competition.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank GeraintLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
There are newer reviews for Sandbanks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent two nights at Sandbanks hotel as my cousin was getting married in Branksome Dene. from the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home, my four year old daughter was thrilled to find not only her own bed, but the towels had been arranged on it for her like a crab and there was a kids activity set for her. Very thoughtful.

Great view of the sea and the bar below our room wasn't too noisy, very comfortable bed and a good buffet breakfast with lots of options including continental and full English. Staff were always very friendly and attentive and the food was good, we ate in the restaurant on the beach a couple of times. Beach immediately in front of the hotel was also perfect.

We had a swim in the pool - generous size for a hotel pool and very clean.

Not too posh, lovely personal hotel - a bit dated in places but it helped it to feel like a bit of vintage seaside glamour.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview on the beach side
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Myself and Daughter visited the Sandbanks Hotel at the weekend, whilst staying in the area and we asked if we could sit outside on the terrace for a coffee and bring our small dog with us, who is very well behaved. First of all the lady we spoke to could not understand what we were saying and said 'what is a dog'?, anyway it turned out that dogs were not allowed to even sit outside the Hotel, which is very unusual, so we thought that was a bit odd. Anyway, thinking it would be a pleasant way to finish off the day, we returned in the evening for a drink in the bar (minus pooch). Not one member of staff behind the bar spoke good English and they found it difficult to understand what we wanted, even though we were only ordering very simple drinks. My daughter asking for non alcoholic ginger beer, which they didn't have, then appletizer which they didn't have either (she was driving). I asked if they could do a non alcoholic cocktail to which the reply was 'I don't know how to do one'. Later on we ordered two white coffees which were nearly cold and took ages to come as did the previous drinks. It wasn't as if they were busy, they just seemed very confused and untrained which surprised us for a Hotel like the Sandbanks which is supposed to be' high end'. I think their staff need to go on a training course on the Cruise Ships where waiters of all nationalities can make 6 cocktails, alcoholic and non-alcoholic in the space of about 3 minutes!, no probs, By contrast, we went to the Haven Hotel and Spa at Sandbanks the next day and it was excellent. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and even though dogs were not allowed in the Hotel there was no problem sitting on the outside terrace overlooking the sea having a coffee, with the dog on a lead. A totally different experience and full marks to the Haven Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank patricia423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed a glorious English summer weekend at The Sandbanks Hotel.
The food (excellent lunch on the patio), fine wines and staff hospitality were superb - so together with the efficient check in, stunning sea view room and play time (with young daughter) in the indoor swimming pool we had a great time and will return.

Room Tip: Sea view :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerjones28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have four lovely days at the Sandbanks Hotel, Staff were very friendly and smiley all the time.
We had a Seaview Room, that was being updated, but did not hinder our view in any way. The Breakfast was very good, and they gave a good choice of fruits, yoguts cererals, plus cooked breakfast including a A la Carte menu of which we did try.

We also had their evening meals of which was also very good, no complaints what so ever and would go again.

Pam

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 day break at the Sandbanks hotel , what a great weekend. We were very lucky with the weather as it was gloriously sunny from beginning to end. We booked a special deal through Travelzoo which included a room with a Harbour view. The room was very big, clean and comfortable. A little dated in areas and could do with some updating but didn't prevent us from having a brilliant stay. There is some refurbishment taking place at the moment but this didn't really affect us. It would be nice to have a fridge in the room , as I said weather was glorious and therefore we were drinking lots and would have been nice to have cold drinks in our room. There appeared to be space in the cupboard where one was previously. The shower was disappointing , very weak water pressure we meant it wasn't an enjoyable shower.

Parking is provided on site however there was a wedding Reception on the Sat which meant the car park was full and we had to pay to park on the main rd. We were able to move our car back later in the evening.

Although there were a few things that could be improved, overall we were happy with our stay and would return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne9215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a three night break in mid June. The hotel is located on the beach, consisting of fine sand, which is cleaned and levelled every morning by the local council. The front rooms have good views of Poole harbour with all the leisure activities and the back look across the bay with "Old Harry's Rocks" in the distance. The hotel is situated at the end of the promenade that stretches all the way to Bournemouth providing a lovely walk.
It is a solid traditional sea side hotel with lots of comfortable seating in various lounges. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and there was broad band connection. The bathroom was good with twin hand basins and a very good bath/shower. We had a balcony with views over the terrace to the sea where we could sit and watch the various sea sport activities.
We found that all the staff were cheerful and very helpful and would like to particularly compliment Sergio the restaurant Manager
Buffet breakfast in the restaurant, with sea views, was excellent with a good choice of hot dishes and (important to me) hot plates. Immediately the tables were vacated they were cleared and relaid.
The food at all the meals was excellent
Well done we certainly hope to return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,508 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,188 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £93 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing