We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just back from our REGULAR yearly trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just back from our REGULAR yearly trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We started coming to this hotel for a long weekend away 5 years ago(some of our party 20yrs+). We have always had a wonderfull time and quite frankly cannot understand some of the comments made by previous reviews. We can only speak as we find, both my husband and i have always found the staff very helpfull and efficient, and if there has been any problem found the reception team,restaurant staff and management extremely curteous and willing to rectify any errors. No where is perfect! but i have to say we particularly enjoy the food and level of service in the restaurant. If ever there was anything amiss the staff and restaurant manager were happy to put things right. In general we have always enjoyed the food and helpfullness of all staff. Our rooms were always clean and comfortable and found all staff to be helpfull/willing to sort out any issues. Considering the level of catering and events going on throughout the weekend we consider particularly the catering and service to be of a very high quality. Will definately be back next year!!--Graham and Elaine, Hertfordshire

Room Tip: ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    495
    386
    202
    126
See reviews for
492
632
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights, had fantastic weather, felt like you were abroad with beautiful views of the sea. Direct acces to lovely clean beach with use of the hotels deck chairs. We walked to Bournemouth along the promenade, about 3 miles each way but a lovely flat walk all the way, takes an hour. We also hired bikes in the watersport hire shop located in the hotel car park, being a resident you get 30 percent off as well, cycled to swanage via the ferry, not too energetic and lovely beaches to visit on the way.
Our room on the third floor was huge with a harbour view balcony which had stunning sunset views and of Poole harbour. The overall appearance of the hotel is a little tired looking but is in the process of being decorated, this did not affect our stay. Breakfast was very good with a reasonable selection certainly not vast but what there was was cooked well. We did have dinner there the one night, the food was lovely we had a main and pudding but expensive for what it was as portions were small, don't think I would eat in there again. I can't actually fault any of the staff, all pleasant and efficient, granted they were all foreign (except for the main people in charge), but didn't have a problem with anyone understanding us. The afternoon tea was very popular, sitting outside overlooking the sea, perfect. Overall had a lovely stay, would go again, just not eat dinner there again purely because of price and portion size.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Never even heard to sandbanks before, wife booked it... beautiful area, nice people, staff were friendly, great with little ones, direct access to beach which is great, kids play area in hotel.
Nice pool with sauna clean and really nice
We went on away from school holidays and on a sunday/mon then to Peppa pig world !, so not packed, beach was busy as weather was amazing. Little one loved the ice cream boat and the sand on the beach was really clean
Hotel is old but the dinning rooms, outdoor beach/terrace area's and room we stayed in were modern and just refurb'd. Amazing views and nice balcony with large sliding doors and table and chairs, sofa fridge, trouser press ironing boards etc
Saw some of the ground floor rooms, looked small and dated.
Free parking, wifi and can link laptops /HDD's to plasma TV in room
No A/C but with a lovely sea breeze not really a big issue
Breakfasts were amazing great choice of fresh food, waiter service included too for breakfast for certain items (eggs benedict a must).
Food was reasonably priced for a hotel, had evening meal on terrace ) limited choice but nice)
Sainsbury's local is a 2 min walk away, nice jazz café 2 mins away as well
Not sure how it would be if the hotel was fully booked in school holidays.
Def will be going again (out of school holiday time), £ 189 for 1 night including breakfast and access to pool/sauna, so not a bargain but nice.
Get there early and use the facilities prior to checking in at 3 pm

Room Tip: We had room 313 top floor sea view suite with balcony, very modern, amazing views. Lifts only go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashhendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

So much potential - so little good will! Hugely disappointing experience. Most members of staff are unable to communicate in the simplest form of the English language and they display absolutely no knowledge of good customer service. Their overriding ethos seems to be that the customer is always wrong.. We were charged £89 for a meal which actually cost £59.75. Sergio did not like to admit he was trying to hoodwink us - sheer fraud, not the first time at this place. We, eventually did pay the correct amount but the incident created an underlying, unpleasant tension. It was a totally unnecessary, unattractive and unacceptable situation. Its such a pity as we were frequent patrons but recent happenings have put us off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddd3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit & I will come back again. It's location is set on the most beautiful beach where if you get great weather you feel abroad. I personally had excellent & quick service at the terrace bar on all occasions, the lads serving especially the one chap who spoke very well provided excellent customer service. The food I ordered was great & I also tried the warmed scones with clotted cream/jam - excellent.
There was a young chap I believe to be the manager on reception who was most helpful.
I kind of understand some of the reviews & my only wish for the hotel is that they have a right good refurb done. A bit of paint & new carpet here & there doesn't really help when you are a top star hotel charging top rate prices. All the carpets need changing, all the door frames need painting/replaced not just the skirting boards.The ceiling tiles in the bathrooms need changing, the shower head needed a better clean, the head itself was floppy/broke & housekeeping need to check small detail such as 'stray pubic hairs' in bathroom. If you use the tray items, they should be fully stocked for the next day. Housekeeping surely should have a check list for all rooms & notify the hotel of any repairs required before the customer spots them. Check dirty glasses with wine delivered in room, mine had 2 shades of lipstick on it, & not mine! & generally dirty glasses. I have to be honest & say if it wasn't for the beach location/terrace/sea view rooms you would not pay the prices. To help you I would ask for either a sea view room or a refurbished room, harbour view also would be nice I can imagine with the beautiful evening sunsets, before you book (ask if the scaffolding is still up so you are not disappointed as it will obstruct your view) they should be honest & advise this before you book just as you are advised should you go abroad so that is naughty of them.
The lounge area is lovely & there is always somewhere to sit, breakfast service great & plenty of choice, lovely coffee.
As I say I will come back, it has a lovely relaxed feeling & you can potter around as you wish. I just hope one day they do find the money or whatever the reason may be, management, time etc, to give it a proper refurbishment not a half hearted one & I truly believe they would get more business out of the summer season, I know I would return then & not just the summer if it were.
Sandbanks itself doesn't have much to offer in amenities, Tesco's Express, cafe jazz by the hotel, cafe shore restaurant at the end of the road but there is plenty to do out & about/visit if you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SET908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stay at Sandbanks hotel for 3 nights. Room was good size, wonderful harbour views and very clean.
Balcony was a great space to enjoy a drink and watch the world go by. My husband and I had many drinks and experienced some wonderful sunsets.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worcesterwarriors08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel that seems to of had quite a lot of BAD reviews - yes they are modernizing rooms as i speak and this is on going throughout the hotel (workmen on site) - we stayed in room 316 one word - SUPERB - staff very helpful - great location - best tip upgrade to seaview on top floor and i thought i was ABROAD (weather helps but hey i'm not GOD lol) breakfast was excellent with a very warm welcome EVERY morning off the brekkie manager - a Spanish out of work ART teacher cleaned our room - MADE ME FEEL HUMBLE - YES NEEDS A LICK OF PAINT HERE AND THERE but they are trying .... give it a go ??

Room Tip: 309-316 - BEST ROOMS .....these are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing