We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Weekend Away”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here on a three night Secret Escapes deal. For the price we paid it wasn't bad but I wouldn't like to have paid full price for this hotel which is in need of some TLC. My husband had recently undergone surgery and luckily I looked at reviews on TA and realised that there is no lift higher than the second floor. I phoned ahead and this was very pleasantly sorted. Our room was harbour facing which, of course, was a wonderful view. The room was large and strangely old fashioned. However, I have to say the bed was large and very comfortable. We slept well. The room was incredibly hot after having had the sun on it all afternoon so we fashioned a way of leaving the balcony door open and lifting the curtains over a chair to maintain darkness but to let some air in. The bathroom was old fashioned but fine with good lighting and a great mirror for make up. The place where I thought, who on earth thought this was acceptable, was the balcony. Nasty old wired glass, two old chairs, no table and worst of all, a red, badly scuffed plant pot with a dead cactus type plant in it. Why bother? This also made me notice the other planting in places like the beach bar. Great area but the plants don't appear to be looked after at all so it could look better with maybe a bigger gardening budget. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly in all parts of hotel. We ate in for dinner, due to husband needing to take it easy, and again food was good although it feels a bit big in there sometimes. Hotel in a smashing area and great to be able to get over to one of my favourite places, Studland, so quickly. Because of the wonderful location we'd go again for a weekend but only on a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

975 - 981 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have to agree with all reviews saying that the location is excellent. It's lovely to be able to enjoy such an amazing view. What a lovely sunset, it was like staring at the perfect painting!
Having said that there are quite a few things that could be improved.
We didn't pay the regular rate because we took advantage of a groupon offer. If I had to pay 180 per night I would have been really disappointed!
The room was spacious (we had a room on the second floor) but the bathroom was not very nice, looked really dated and so was the room. The cushions on the bed were scruffy and the cot (we have a 7 month old baby) was broken (it was one of those old wooden ones) making it not very safe for the baby. Furthermore there was no fridge and with a baby that was really an issue and no safe!
Spa and gym are really small so we didn't use it. I learned on the last day that we could have used the facilities of a spa close by but nobody had bothered telling us.
The staff was kind and helpful. Breakfast was nice.
This hotel has the potential to be a great place but not as it is right now

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gloriajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There are very few I hotels in the UK that can offer either a sea or a harbour view. We have tried both and for us the harbour view was the best. Alway something happening with the water sports academy being based at the hotel. Kite and wind surfing, kayaks or paddle boards or sailing dinghies close up at high tide. Then if you are lucky a fantastic sunset over Poole and the harbour. Very well managed hotel with helpful and smiley staff. The food is good too although the area is well supplied with restaurants .

Room Tip: Personally prefer the harbour view NB though the car park is below so get a second or third floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stowawae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We go to the Sandbanks Hotel every year as a family, in fact we have been going there for over 40 years. I have to say that this year, the food in the evening in the restaurant was the best I have ever had. The variation in the menu for the week was incredible. They have to hold onto this chef! They have just installed a new computer system which beyond their control adds the odd item that should not be there, so check your bill. The staff in the restaurant are fantastic. The food selection for the children's buffet was fantastic, I have never seen my son eat so much! Thank you Sandbanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivWestwood_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently stayed for 2 nights and, although some of the public areas could do with a lick of paint, our room was lovely and we had a balcony with the best view I've ever woken up to. We were lucky to have fabulous weather, which obviously is a bonus, as the hotel is right on the beach. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, only in the bar which overlooks the beach. Food was ok but very slow service but we weren't in a hurry! We stayed on a Travelzoo deal so it was excellent value and included a very substantial breakfast so we diodn't have room for lunch!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach on both sides but ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbk0fherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Sandbanks recently with my husband.
We booked a Harbour view room, definitely worth the money for the view. Our room was very spacious more than big enough for 2 people. We had breakfast in the morning, there was plenty to choose from if you wanted anything from cereal, croissants or a cooked breakfast. We also ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings food and service were excellent. The hotel was in a great location if you wanted a quiet break and Poole Quay was worth a visit. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the service the staff very helpful and may even return next year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nikkipage2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be amazing if money was invested in team training and refurbishment
The rooms are dated the public areas are shabby and need redecorating. Chipped paint work and dirty looking.
Our room was not vacuumed for 3 days until we bought it to the attention of housekeeping who replied it was done very day. ( it definatley was not) The balcony was not cleaned or swept once in our 6 night stay.
The children's outside play area is rundown and dangerous with broken equipment rough edges of wood and un suitable for young ones.
The food and wine is overpriced and boring. The usual burgers nuggets and pasta.
Thank goodness for tesco express down the road.
Despite my review I would return for the location As perfect beach holiday for kids . I just wish there was a better more superior selection of hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helsbels1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £67 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing