We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening entertainment”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
jennylord
1 review
“Great evening entertainment”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Warm welcome by reception, porters took my luggage while I was checking in. The receptionist explained all the hotel facilites. A lot to remember!!! The french manager at the desk offered me to change my room to a sea view room for the night to enjoy the firework display just right in front of the hotel for £ 40.00 extra only. Lovely room and the view was splendid from the balcony. There was a bbq but we went to their big restaurant where the food was excellent.
+ friendly staff, location, food, feature
- pool area, lift.
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    517
    405
    214
    131
See reviews for
507
671
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
watford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I have 4 kids, the older 2 (aged 9 and 5) absolutely love it, can't wait til their next visit and my daughter was devasted when we had to say good bye. The Funsters (childrens' entertainment team) are exceptional - they have boundless energy and are full of fun. The weather is irrelevant as the entertainment is very flexible and the kids don't notice whether it is raining or sunny outside.

This was our 5th trip to the Sandbanks hotel. Frankly if I didn't have kids, I wouldn't visit the hotel for the accomodation and the food. I agree with a previous review that the leisure/spa facillities are poor and the hotel could benefit from an outdoor pool. Yet, I love that there are kids from age 2 through to 15 all playing sleeping lions, hide and seek etc and enjoying it. There is also the option for over 8's to take part in water sports.

There are fireworks every Thursday at 10.00pm during August, accompanied by a BBQ and live band, when the hotel is heaving. This can be a great evening and is a pain if you want to get little ones to sleep.

It is not 5* luxury and the weather can be poor . Somehow there is a magic about the place that capitivates all that enjoy watching their kids have some good old fashioned fun whilst they sip on a cafe latte/Pimms on the gorgeous terrace.

Once again we couldn't resist booking for next year as we left....................

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I have just come back from my 2nd visit to The Sandbanks Hotel and once again I have to say that the bad reviews of this hotel are so unfair! It is a brilliant place to be. I am a vegan and my husband and children are vegetarians...the staff bent over backwards to make sure we had a perfect stay! The food was unbeatable, the service was outstanding, the kids club...well...outstanding too!

I would most definately return again, in fact we are going in October! It is not the cheapest place to stay but you absolutely get what you pay for.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so great!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I've been going to this hotel since i can remember + the people there are just so lovely! The entertainment team are great + the teen + adult zone gives me + my friend space away from our brothers! They funsters also have a childrens club which I used to go to + enjoy loads. I have to say I love everything about this hotel + cant wait to go again next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_the_gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I have been coming to Sandbanks every year since i was born, i am now nearly 14 and i'm still in love with it. The funsters team is what makes it better than anywhere else, they are all lively and energetic and they always have big smiles on their faces. When i was 6 i met some people there and ever since me and my family have been going there with them as we live 5 hours apart, Its magical. I look foward to it every year and it is the highlight of my summer, i definately recommend it. For younger children there is daily entertainment led by the funsters team, but also there is now an adults and teens activities section which keeps me entertained.The funsters Jimbob, Dizzi Danni, Jiggy Gemma, Fab Fran, Funky Faye, Mad Matt all deserve a special mention as each year they make my holiday extra special. My younger brother thoroughly enjoys it too, because aswell as the funsters enertainment there is also a soft play area aswell as pool tables, ping pong tables and outdoor play area and much much more. The pool is great and is quite big aswell as the food which is absolutely delicious. It's also nice being quite literally 'on the beach', wiht the soft golden sand. All of the staff are very friendly and they all make you feel like they are willing to help you and that nothings a problem. So overall Sandbanks is my favourite holiday resort ever and I look foward to going there in the future. I definately recommend it to anyone of any age as there is always something going on there and everyone is always happy and bubbly. Its an amazing place, everyone should go there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesandbanksgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2009

In summary. We had a great day and Sandbanks (and the weather) delivered.

Minor constructive critiscism:
Sebastien the organiser isn't the faster returner of communications - especially a few months or weeks before. But (probably cause he has many weddings to sort) as the wedding got closer he got quicker! On the whole though Sebastien was great, especially on the day. Silently lurking in the background making things happen very professionally and discreetly.

We would have welcomed templates for table organising.

I think the disco lights in the wedding ceremony room are tragic and the hotel should invest on a screen. We saw it done by a company for a day so its easily possible.

The ceremony room definitely benefited from chair covers. Expensive but transforming.

The Brassiere/reception was perfect. As was the food. Mark, the Chef is quiet and unassuming but very talented. He was SO helpful and up for any suggestions. The food was exactly as we tested and was a hit with everyone. (We had a hot and cold buffet).

Lots of space designated to the wedding.

Top tip, stick a child entertainer in the bar area for the speaches. Worked a treat.

The staff were a professional friendly team, no fuss, no trials and tribulations, no attitude. Perfect.

Highly recommend it if you want a relaxed informal-ish but classy wedding at a surprisingly good price.

Stephen & Lydia

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apersonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We had great weather, the staff were very polite and helpful, our rooms, 3, were clean and spacious. I was with my children, grandchildren and my elderly mother., and the location was good for my Mum to get down to the beach to be with the toddlers. Also, the food was very varied, and catered well for the vegiearian we have in our family.
So, what a pity that the lift's sensors did not appear to work well, and that my mum was hit twice on the arm as she was getting into the lift, causing bruising. However, she determined not to be put off and continued to use it. Going down to dinner with us she was again caught by the lift, even as she was clearly in, beyond the sensors, causing her to fall backwards, banging her head. She didn't want to 'make a fuss', but I reported it to reception and showed the receptionist her, now grazed, arm. And that was it........ no enquiry by the management as to how she was, absolutely no care taken and no apology. Also no health and safety record filled in.
I have since been in touch with the deputy manager, who tells me that the incident wasn't reported, but did send me a form to fill in.
Strange, that management was unaware, as the dining room knew, many guests knew, and certainly 2 receptionists knew.
Bad show Sandbanks! The lift clearly is old, it creaks, and in its present state is a danger to the more vulnerable.
Sharron Phillips

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnb2006, General Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2009
Dear Mrs. Phillips,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and for confirming that you would recommend the hotel to a friend.

I note that you have a further visit planned shortly, and this will provide me with an opportunity to show to you the improvements which have been made to the lift to ensure that no further situations arise such as caused your mother to fall.

The information which you provided to us enabled us to explain the situation clearly to the lift engineers, and they recommended the installation of a system which greatly increased the number of sensors.

Their recommendation was implemented immediately and the system is now in place.

I do apologise that a misunderstanding by a member of my reception team resulted in the lack of enquiry relating to your mother’s welfare. I do assure you that our managers and staff are very caring people.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
877 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing