We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, unusually large family room, very child friendly”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We've been coming to Sandbanks for a couple of years. I love the location, the friendly service, relaxed atmosphere and very spacious family room.

Great place to visit with children!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorvlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnb2006, General Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Thank you for your kind comments, and for recommending the hotel to others.

The beachside location is great for families, and during the school holidays the Funsters team provide a real opportunity for you to relax whilst the children are having fun.

Do check out our website for special offers with the half-term holidays approaching, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,725 - 1,731 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

We had our wedding reception and an overnight stay at the Sandbanks hotel. The staff were absolutely professional and helpful for the entire event. They went out of their way and above their 'standard' duties to make our stay stress free and enjoyable. The service to our room was also outstanding from the bell service to food (which was also first rate). The hotel itself is honored with beautiful views of the beach and ocean and does them justice. The rooms are fresh and clean with good amenities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Steve and Lorna

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevelornamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This Hotel is a family fun Hotel. Lots of children when we went at Half Term. They put on loads of fun activities for the kids too. Really great. The Restaurant was OK. Very limited menu. The food was alright. If you go a la carte there is more choice but it's obviously more expensive. The service was friendly, a bit slow though. We were really disappointed about not being able to eat in the Brasserie style Restaurant. I didn't book in advance and they wouldn't accommodate you if you just turn up when it was quite early still and the place was virtually empty. Shame as the menu looked better than the main restaurant. Buffet Breakfast was really good. Loads to choose from and good quality. The room was comfortable, clean, spacious, modern with a nice flat screen TV. Good modern bathroom. The staff were OK, rooms serviced well. We ran out of milk jiggers for tea and coffee in the room but they came within 10 minutes of phoning Housekeeping. The electrics kept cutting out on the wall sockets on the first night knocking out the TV and kettle for about 20 minutes. This must have happened in several rooms on our floor as when I phoned the Night Receptionist he sounded fed up and grumpy with all the other calls he must have had. Apart from that, everything else was fine. Oh, and I must mention the childrens indoor soft play area. Our 2 year old son really loved it. It's not easy to find tucked away in the depths of the basement, but when or if you do, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddybearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We have stayed at the Sandbanks for a few days every year for the last few years and absolutely love it. The facilities are not luxurious but they are more than comfortable and anyway the whole point of staying here is to be able to walk directly from the hotel to the beach. I have to say that I have never ever used the pool and I wonder if the reviewers who ask for an outdoor pool have failed to notice the massive natural one on the other side of the beach! Twice we have tried other hotels in Dorset but on being disappointed rung the Sandbanks straight away for a last minute room. We always book by phone so that we can ask for a sea view with a balcony - you can't guarantee that when booking online.

Staff have always been helpful and on the one occasion when the room we were given was not to our liking it was changed quickly despite being the August bank holiday weekend.

This is the one hotel where we actually book a dinner package because of the special rate and the high quality and good choice of the food available.

In the summer it is very family orientated which may not be ideal for those without children (like us) but on our last late enquiry we were advised of this before booking (along with being told that there was little point in paying for an upgraded room!) We just recognise that we love what small children also love and accept the day-time noise.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The staff did not want you there and was made to feel unwelcome. I was travelling with a Nigerian colleague and am of Asian descent. The coffee in the morning tasted like diesel and was sick all day. Nasty horrible place with people to match.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We very rarely holiday in this country, but got a late booking and took a chance on Sandbanks as a recommendation of friends - thank goodness we did. My daughter is 7 and has just spent the best 6 days of her Summer in the company of 'The Funsters'. These are the guys that work around the clock to entertain the children and my word what a fab job they do. The down points I will come onto (although there aren't many and they are mainly cosmetic), but first the good:-

The location is amazing, we parked our car on the first day thinking that we would go into Poole and maybe Bournemouth, but we didn't return to our car until it was time to load the cases for our home wood journey. 95% of the staff are extremely polite and courteous and can't do enough for you and there is one exceptional lady who everyone calls 'Nanny' (she is the Grandmother of two of the Funsters and spends a lot of her time in and around the Hotel), her experience of the hotel and surrounding area is second to none, I just wish I had spoken to her earlier in our stay.

We were originally advised to book our evening meal due to a significant reduction in cost, but we didn't really think that we would eat in the Hotel much. We are Restaurant people and were looking forward to exploring the local delicacies as well as trying out new places, but once again, the Hotel's cuisine superseded this (look out for the fish and chips with homemade tartar sauce, the warm apple cake and the chocolate hot pot - decadence personified!). The produce was fresh, sourced locally, served hot and was very varied. It really was exceptional quality, the meat was cooked as requested, and all served by polite well appointed restaurant staff (with one possible exception of the Manager who looks like he just doesn't want to be there - unlike us!). The wine list was good, although the Chablis at £12.50 per glass a little top heavy!

As far as the facilities were concerned, I must admit it would have been perfect if there had been an outdoor pool, this meant that every time my daughter wanted to swim, one of us had to accompany her inside the hotel and miss out on valuable sunshine time! This was why she downgraded her verdict of the whole holiday to a 9/10. The pool area is also in need of some up to date decoration, in fact the whole hotel is a little tired looking and could do with some T.L.C. if not a complete overhaul. The lifts are outdated and the old fashioned carpet needs replacing on the stairs and in the restaurant. The lighting in the restaurant is also very old fashioned and it also needs an injection of atmosphere - music would be good.

There is no meet and greet on arrival and we had to find our way to the room by ourselves, although there was plenty of help on the luggage front. Our room had a fantastic Seaview, with a wonderful warm breeze blowing up off the beach, although we wished the siding doors had gone back a little further. It also felt safe and secure, there were no safety deposit boxes normally found in such places, but it just didn't feel like you needed it once you got the feel of the place. The Reception Staff seem a little lacking in patience, you are better off speaking to the young guys walking around the hotel and the outside in the bar area, they are dressed in black and are always willing to genuinely help with every request. Lastly, at lunchtime the bar area outside is always struggling on service, the hotel management should put more bar staff out there between the hours of say 12-2pm, we waited around 20 minutes one day to get served a couple of drinks which was a bit of a pain.

There isn't much at night in the way of Adult Entertainment, but then we didn't go there for our benefit, we went to Sandbanks for the children's schedule and boy was it worth it, we were more than happy to stay in the Restaurant eating to our hearts content, while our daughter was safely ensconced in the Ballroom with the Funsters until way past her bedtime!

I can honestly say that all the good points FAR outweighed the very few bad (mostly cosmetic) and, as for the Firework Evening on Thursday, this was probably the highlight of our stay, the best night as far as entertainment was concerned, although every night really was great. The atmosphere outside and inside the hotel on this particular night was electric and they even has music in the Restaurant and a live band in the bar area. Superb!

My last complaint is that I couldn't find Paul, one of the Managers, to make a booking for next year, so we left without securing our place, but rest assured we will be back! I never thought I would say it, but even without the sunshine, which we had all week, Sandbanks would still be well worth visiting.

Kind regards - Julia Fox & Family

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Warm welcome by reception, porters took my luggage while I was checking in. The receptionist explained all the hotel facilites. A lot to remember!!! The french manager at the desk offered me to change my room to a sea view room for the night to enjoy the firework display just right in front of the hotel for £ 40.00 extra only. Lovely room and the view was splendid from the balcony. There was a bbq but we went to their big restaurant where the food was excellent.
+ friendly staff, location, food, feature
- pool area, lift.
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £68 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing