We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value for money, best things are the view and the use of the Havens pool”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“poor value for money, best things are the view and the use of the Havens pool”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

this hotel is very expensive, the indoor pool is very shabby. There is no outdoor pool although the outdoor pool at the Haven is very nice. The room was old fashioned and bed and sheets very old and poor quality for the cost of the room. Tv was in a separate area and you could not watch it from the bed. Staff at breakfast very disorganised.Even the fried eggs were cold, it felt like a school dining room. We went to The Chine in June and it was much nicer and better value

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSiusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    517
    405
    214
    131
See reviews for
507
671
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Cambs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Right on the beach cant be a better position on the South Coast.

Good menu for dinner and breakfast although at certain times it gets very busy in the restaurant probably good to book a table for Friday or Saturday nights if a large party.

Rooms with balconies do not have Air conditioning so it was rather hot on Saturday night even with the balcony door wide open!!! My room overlooked the car park and the Harbour more noise from the seagulls than the traffic !!

Very spacious room with extra large bed and all the usual extras of TV etc.

Seems to be the place for weddings and functions at weekends so hotel does get quite busy.

A 30 minute walk takes you to the sister hotel The Haven where we spent an enjoyable day around the outside pool and had a wonderful lunch overlooking the yachts and ferry.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann46HuntingdonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at Sandbanks on 20 June2010 (room 119), wife and 3 year old and baby

Arriving at 11am we were first confronted by a barrier and a gentleman who wanted to know what our name was (I guess this is to ensure that only guests use the car park)
After lots a paper moving he found our names and let us through.

We made our way to check in, where we had to give our names again (pity they didn’t communicate as they had our names when we passed the gate, would have been customer services if they had greeted us by name at the desk). As the previous night had been busy the rooms weren’t ready, so we had to wait to check in.

Had a look round and the outside bar is wonderful, with great views and very lively. (It was a very sunny day), we looked at the pool, which is on the ground floor but is accessed by steps. The pool area is very dark and there is no lifeguard just a large camera pointing at it. In general there is a good choice of gym equipment. But you have the feeling they don’t expect it to be used. The pool whilst fairly large and clean looks a bit run down and old.

Now the room...
Very spacious with an awesome view of the beach and sea (hard to believe this is the uk). Our room was split in two, with a separate room with bunks for the children, not ideal for babies but better for slightly older children. I didn’t think about this at the time, but I did tell them we had a baby and i cant remember them offering a cot, would have been nice if they had checked at check in time. Tea and coffee in the room and iron and board. Down side about the iron was the hanging cord, perfect height for a child to pull (would have been worth having something to keep it up for safety as this was a family room)
Double sinks and spacious bathroom.

We had room service and the gentleman on receptions was very helpful and quick to answer the call. Prices are same as any other 4star. Food was of good standard, asked for milk for our small child with straw and was offered warm or cold, which may appear to be nothing special but shows an understanding of what small children like.

Another thing I liked was that no occasion did we feel pressurised to tip either for room service or delivery of our luggage, which is a welcome feeling (if you have stayed at a five star hotel you will know what i mean)

Just one other small points, as my wife was carrying the baby she had two cases that she came to a door when a member of staff was there, first one was what appeared to be a manager who could see she was carrying a baby but appear to be in to much of a hurry to spend the extra second to hold the door, second was a gentleman cleaning who went out of his way to get the doors.

In the morning we had breakfast, which was included in the rate.
Milk and Juice machines, could be a bit better placed as they appear to be behind the counters, also glasses should be placed a little bit closer to them. Food was well presented and not overcooked.
Staff in the restaurant were happy and attentive.

When we booked we had put a note in the booking that it was for a wedding anniversary, they didn’t appear to pick up on this.

Interesting they don’t offer a feedback card, just a how was your stay as you leave.
When you leave you need a code to raise the car park barrier, it would be a good idea that they offered this to you as you leave as you end up getting to the gate with your car and then have to reverse up to go and ask for it, we saw this with another couple as well.


Overall great location, great view, spacious rooms, child friendly (some safety issues), Staff were polite. Pool area and gym could do with some work. Bar in summer is amazing.

Couple of simple points they could work on to give a slightly more customer friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I Stayed at the Sandbanks hotel on the 19th June 2010 with a colleague travelling on business.

after looking at the website we chose the hotel due to it's location and fantastic looking rooms and services.

We checked in and went straight to the restaurant where we had a reasonable meal, the food was OK but the service was terrible. We had to remind the (disinterested) staff several time about the simple things that you would expect from a four star hotel (bread with soup, drinks ordered etc) it was obvious that we were being forgotton as they were working between two large funtions in other parts of the hotel.

Once we had finished our meal we went outside to check out the beach and chill out for a while. The location of the hotel is exceptional and right on the sea front.

We then went to try to find our rooms...

After wandering around for 20mins or so with no luck (the hotel is like a maze) I gave up and asked at reception and a member of staff kindly showed me the way. Down this corridor, up these stairs, along another corridor, down these stairs, across the dancefloor of a private function, up some more stairs and eventually finding my room.

Upon entering my room it was like stepping back in time... the room was TINY, painted a horrible "tobacco" yellow with horrible green carpet and fixtures and fittings taken straight from your Grandma's house. The room had a small single bed and bedsheets that were obviously years old. It was an oppressive room and there is no-way this has been refurbished in the last 10 years (as claimed on other reviews by the hotel management teams replies)

The heat in the room was unacceptable and there was no Air-con or even a fan to try to move some hot air around! luckily the room had a balcony so I opened the door to try to cool the room down a little. I had a lovely view of the car-park!

I then tried to get some sleep as I was working early the next morning, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and really old, they are in dire need of new beds!

In the morning I just wanted to get showered and go. The shower head was broken and just dangled down which made showering very arkward. The shower curtain was hung to close to the bath which meant you had limited room to move or you were "hugged" by the shower curtain which has obvioulsy not been cleaned between guests (this is one of my pet hates with hotels, the new Holiday Inns have a curved shower rail which gives you more room inside the shower. Great idea!)

I checked out and left as soon as possible.

Two points I want to add:

1) Smoking. I am a smoker who feels offended when a hotel ignores the needs of smokers. I am aware of how anti-social smoking is but feel discriminated against when a hotel has no smoking rooms (I would pay more a night to help fund the cost of re-decorating) This hotel is totally non smoking, even on the balconies of some rooms. With respect, what kind of stupidity is it to state a balcony is no smoking? it is in the open air and does not effect others as they are enclosed. By the way FJB: take a look at how many people do smoke on your balconies... It wouldn't be so bad if the walk to the outside wasn't so far.

2) I have read the reply to many of the reviews posted by the hotel management team. They state "you should of raised this issue to our reception etc so we could of rectified your issue" I last thing I want to do after a 4 hour drive is start complaining to a receptionist or duty manager. I expect a four star hotel to pro-active in looking after their customers and working to impress their guests. I am a business traveller who stays away most nights in the week and I was new to this hotel. I would of expected them to go out of their way to impress to guarantee a loyal return visit. To this hotel, no chance.

If you are looking to stay in this area, the Sandbanks is in a great location but even a Holiday Inn Express would give you a better quality of service and standards.

With this loaction, some major investment and staff development this could be a World class hotel.

Room 20. 19/06/20.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grapesmugglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here so that we could attend a family event near by, the receptionist told us there was a wedding the Saturday night, but good to their word, the very nice music stopped at midnight. The staff were the most helpful we have been served by for years and the whole break was brilliant - we will stay again. We had a quiet sea room and the view was breathtaking.

The hotel is getting a bit tired in some places - but it does not detract from the experience and the staff more than make up for it.

Hotel food is normally pretty average - but having had a terrible journey down M25, M3, M27 and everyone wanting to get back for the football - we just went to the bar and sampled the restaurant.

Sparkling Rose was superb, the duck confit really tasty - as was the fish and chips (could have done with some mushy peas!!) - the cold salmon starter and sea trout was also very good - the sweets - well we did make room.

This is a real gem, a family hotel, great staff and superb location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Old fashioned games on the beach or indoors, happy kids, and therefore very happy parents. Which is amazing because the rest of the hotel is as described by other reviewers. Saddest is that the other staff in the hotel look so unhappy. Big contrast to the lovely smiley kids' team, who are just the best in the business. Our kids beg and beg to go back. We give in for the view and the happy children. Management -please do something about the rest of the place!! It so needs it. My rating above is all for the Funsters.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London3plusMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed one night for our silver wedding anniversary, the lady on reception upgraded us to a room with a balcony which was a lovely. The hotel was in a great location, right on the beach with the bay on the other side, we loved it. The evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. We were lucky and had gorgeous weather which obviously was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzy47_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing