We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We attended the fireworks BBQ as non...”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We attended the fireworks BBQ as non residents of the hotel.my husband and I payed for two tickets for this event , members of staff welcomed our two teenage daughters( who were not dining)
we sat down to enjoy our drinks prior to eating only to be abruptely challenged by the over zealous female manager.
She very publicly challenged our presence, demanding to see our tickets, which had already been given in with our food order,
she neglected to explain why she was challenging us, and caused an unecessary scene,
considering this establisment is consider " upmarket" the managers behaviour and agressive approach fell well below the expected standard.would still recommend the fireworks at Sandbanks,food and ambience was excellent , but would not return on principle.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAmpbellSs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,657 - 1,663 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

Our stay at the end of July was most enjoyable. The room was comfortable and clean,the service very good and the staff most charming and helpful. Food and food service throughout the hotel was first class. The location speaks for itself along with the facilities. Our stay planned for 2 days was extended to enable more of the same, most satisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjc003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed at the hotel between Christmas and New Year with my husband and young son. While we can't fault the hotel on location, food or service there is no mobile phone reception and the wifi didn't work. This meant we couldn't use the baby mornitoring system between our room and mobile phone in the evening while we went to dinner. The staff were understanding and very helpful but there was nothing they could do on the technical side.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and although the views were beautiful, everything else was appalling.
Every single morning when we asked for tea, we had to wait another 10 minutes for the milk to arrive. There was a severe shortage of butter, tidy smidgeons put out on plates, which again we had to beg for. Glasses for orange juice were the other end of the breakfast bar, nowhere near where they should be!
On our final morning, we found out that we could have ordered other breakfast things from a menu, for an additional cost. No one had even mentioned this to us before and the menu card for this had never been on any table we had sat at previously. We did order from this menus and it took 40 minutes for a pile of pancakes to arrive!!
Our interconnecting rooms were a disgrace. The main bedroom was fine but the other bedroom with the bunk beds in for the children was no more than a broom cupboard. The children could touch both walls of their room if they sat on top of their beds, it was that narrow. The door was even a half door because it was so narrow!
Only one out of the two taps on each sink worked. The phone never worked.
Finally, to go to our room we had to trek halfway across the hotel, up and down lots of steps and walk straight across a ballroom.
Never never again will we visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy13550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I don't normally complain about hotels but when paying £200 per night, one would expect something of higher quality...especially given it's 4 star rating.

Yes, the beaches are lovely...but it doesn't make up for the poorly designed rooms or the disgusting dinner we had in the main dining room. It's a joke that they require dinner jackets in the evening as there are numbered tables similar to your local pub. Our food arrived about 5 min after we ordered it - I could honestly say this was the worst chicken I had ever eaten. Our starters and dessert (some frozen banana thing) were equally as bad. We spoke to the manager after leaving our meal unfinished and he agreed to remove it from the bill.

Upon checkout the next morning, it was still on our bill and after some confusion, was finally removed. The entire time we were there guests seemed to be complaining about similar issues. In fact, one man checking out at the same time was vocally expressing his opinion by saying, 'this place is disgusting'. I'm glad to know we weren't the only ones.

The seating area outside is nice...but waiting 15 min for a mojito isn't. There is a side area outside for 'hotel guests only' which you would imagine would be furnished to a high standard however it's a complete dump. We ordered lunch outside and my fiance's food came about 20 minutes before mine. It was certainly more edible than the dinner, so if you must eat at the hotel, stick to the grill where at least it's somewhat fresh.

Overall, the entire hotel needs a major refurb....pronto. It's certainly not worth the £200 room rate at which we booked and I fully intend to try and get a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxwell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

this hotel is very expensive, the indoor pool is very shabby. There is no outdoor pool although the outdoor pool at the Haven is very nice. The room was old fashioned and bed and sheets very old and poor quality for the cost of the room. Tv was in a separate area and you could not watch it from the bed. Staff at breakfast very disorganised.Even the fried eggs were cold, it felt like a school dining room. We went to The Chine in June and it was much nicer and better value

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSiusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Right on the beach cant be a better position on the South Coast.

Good menu for dinner and breakfast although at certain times it gets very busy in the restaurant probably good to book a table for Friday or Saturday nights if a large party.

Rooms with balconies do not have Air conditioning so it was rather hot on Saturday night even with the balcony door wide open!!! My room overlooked the car park and the Harbour more noise from the seagulls than the traffic !!

Very spacious room with extra large bed and all the usual extras of TV etc.

Seems to be the place for weddings and functions at weekends so hotel does get quite busy.

A 30 minute walk takes you to the sister hotel The Haven where we spent an enjoyable day around the outside pool and had a wonderful lunch overlooking the yachts and ferry.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann46HuntingdonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,524 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £80 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing