We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always excellent”

Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway
Ranked #14 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have been to this fish and chip restaurant a few times and the quality of the food, the views breathtaking and the staff very welcoming The meal deal £10.95 for fish and chips, mushy peas, garnish, a roll and a glass of wine, beer or soft drink excellent value. Very popular you very often need to book in advance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    303
    96
    54
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good service, not so good food...”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Hi,

If you're looking for a restaurant in Poole that's child friendly, then this might be the one for you; yet, read on.

I'll ignore that fact that, when we went in there at 5.30pm and asked for a table with a view for me, my partner and our 2yr old, that I was told - you have an hour as you HAVE to be out of there by 6.30. She then asked if we thought we could do that? Erm, we'd read such good reviews on here that we had to say yes.

Service for our 2 year old was excellent - they brought the high chair and our waitress brought over some coloured pencils and a colouring sheet. Perfect for keeping her amused.

But, when the food arrived, it was most disappointing. The fish (although the large haddock at 10.95) was mostly batter and not much fish. You expect a good chunk of fish for that price and it was sadly lacking and very dry. The chips were ok but nothing to write home about. The mushy peas were nearly £2 an they weren't even a small can of mushies that you could buy in the supermarket.

All in all, the bill of nearly £30 for 45 mins for fish and chips that weren't anything special makes we want to write this and warn people that not all experiences are glowing.

We want to come back to Poole and make it a family tradition (as we do in Wolllacombe every year) and want a good fish and chip place to return to every year.

Sadly, the search continues...

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie3487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimborn
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips but so much more”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

8 girlfriends enjoyed a reasonably priced meal. Good selection to suit everyone… quite a surprise that it was such a variety to choose from. Very friendly staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pauffleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Poole”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is how to cook Fish and Chips no tate of oil.
Been going there since it opened and allways the same standard.
Lunch menu is great value and great views.
Parking is on the Asda car park £1.50 but you get a refund if you go into Asda and spend over £5.00.
All on the level next to Holes Bay and great sunsets.
They do a take away which again is exellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

You have to look for this restaurant, just off the car park at Asda, you will not regret the find. Looks newly furnished, overlooking the bay. We have never had batter as good as here, light crispy perfect. I had plaice, very good indeed, my partner had "fish and chips and mushy peas" as good as it sounds. The service was prompt and food delivered, frshly cooked, very speedily. All this on a Sunday evening, what could have been better. The price was outstanding value too. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan310843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing