We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, staff try hard!”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #236 of 366 Restaurants in Poole
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value, staff try hard!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I can't be too hard on this place because what you get for your money is excellent value.
This Slug & Lettuce in Poole is light and airy, the staff do their best to keep up with a full restaurant on a bank holiday Monday. The tables are cleared and wiped down quickly.
We had to wait nearly an hour for our food but we warned about this delay.
The food was not too bad, I enjoyed my salmon salad and my husband had the biggest beef burger ever.
You get what you pay for, so with a starter, a main course and two lots of drinks we only paid £16. We will go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zipperhead2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    59
    48
    38
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service,”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend decided to visit here for a meal and a drink. Went onto the website first and found a 25% off voucher which was great. They have 2-4-1 cocktails available all the time which we went for. The food came quickly and was lovely and couldn't have been better we also had desert which was also 2-4-1. Overall prices are reasonably cheap. I would defiantly recommend this place and will be visiting again soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bargain monday”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a lunch when we were in poole on a monday ( 50% off) day.
It was heaving.we found one empty table ( which was dirty).
Quite promptly a waitress came over and cleaned it.
We were then told it was a self service table.
So had to write down what we wanted and go to the bar.also get our own drinks. (This is quite difficult with a tray of drinks and packed restaurant. A lot of baby buggies everywhere taking alot of room).
Food was good.a 40 minute wait though.we were warned about it first, which is good.
A meal for four with a bottle of wine and drinks for kids only £38 .
If you dont mind abit of chaos this is ideal.
I think I would go back but not on a monday.

Helpful?
Thank doobi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

ok for a quick lunch.was quite busy for a sunday.reasonable prices.waitress was friendly and helpful.food arrived quickly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“slug about right”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

nice food shame about the service.we visited the day before mothers day so the granchildren could treat their grandmother for mothers day.the place was clean staff friendly and cheerful the menu pretty well what you expect from this sort of chain.there were 5 adults and 3 children so not a large group the food was average about what you would expect for the prices but the time it took to get each course out was just a bit longer than you would want to wait with 3 young children in all i think we arrived at the booked time of 1pm and didnt get out until well gone 3 to nearly 3-30 ive had better philly steak sandwiches but the calimari was good and i think most of us were happy with the food

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing