We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent , but please do not try to hide extras”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent , but please do not try to hide extras”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Great hotel , fantastic food , just outstanding.

But why charge for parking and also a service charge added to the bill , I tipped when in the bar , so was amazed when I also hit with the service charge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsandlotsoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    321
    142
    49
    22
See reviews for
127
703
27
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel du Vin. It's a charming warren of connected houses right by the Marina in Poole (although five minutes' walk away, so nice and quiet). All the little touches are perfect - great minibar, fluffy bathrobes, beautiful monsoon shower and fresh milk for tea and coffee. The staff were as delightful as the hotel - funny, natural and really welcoming.

We'd booked for a romantic night after a day exploring the sights of the Dorset coast and the valet parking was great. We wished we'd taken up the offer of a table for dinner though, as on a Saturday night all the nicer places were booked. We walked back to the hotel around 7.30 and found that there were no sittings left - and had a terrible meal in a pub on the Marina (avoid the pub with the green tiling front and the deeply offensive and unpleasant owner who objects to having uncooked and inedible fish returned). The breakfast was great - there was a slight mix up in that I thought we'd paid for this in the rate, and the desk staff removed this from our bill. I subsequently found out from my sister who is a frequent du Vin-er that this is never the case, so the way it was dealt with was doubly good. It is however expensive at 220 GBP for a nights' stay but I think provides good value.

All in all a fantastic first stay with the du Vin chain and I'll definitely be booking future weekend breaks away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were welcomed by helpful and pleasant receptionists who showed us to our room. As we were only staying one night we cose a standard double room and was very surprised at the quality of the room. Huge shower room with lovely toiletries and soft fluffy towels. I stay in hotels regularly and would say the bed was one of the most comfortable ever. The breakfast was amazing and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Although the hotel was busy we felt like we were the only people in the restaurant. Overall lovely hotel with exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is a must hotel to stay in when visiting Poole. The location is fantastic and the staff are very friendly. From the moment we checked in until the day we checked out nothing was too much trouble for the staff. As for the room, it was exceptional. Quality furnishings and a bathroom which was out of this world. The breakfast was I thought a bit pricey as was the white wine (we payed £10.00 for one glass!!!!! which was quite a shock). Also the car parking charge was a bit expensive (£10.00 per day) Overall though we would definately stay there again. Thinking of booking for June this year. Highly recommend this hotel - the best by far.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel du Vin in Poole, Dorset. The hotel is in a great location just off the harbour in a nicely refurbished Georgian building with the more modern rooms at the back. The hotel has a really nice bar - as you'd expect - and we spent one night working our way through the special whiskies with the support of the very knowledgeable bar staff!

We booked one of their studio suites - La Grande Dame - in the new extension.

The room big with a lounge area including a bath, plus a large bathroom with an enormous shower. The bed was very comfortable - great mattress and pillows. On the whole a great room but a few niggles which, given this was the brand new part of the building, were a bit odd...

The room didn't have much light with just a small porthole and French doors onto a Juliet balcony which didn't open more than a foot because the sofa was in the way. There was a huge dark-wood shelving unit in the middle of the room which housed flat-screen TVs for both sides of the room but which blocked out any light from the French doors. The only place for clothes was a hanging rail in one half wardrobe, no shelves or drawers; the tea/coffee facilities were housed in the other half of the wardrobe but there was nowhere to plug the kettle in other than on the other side of the room on the desk.

The final annoyance is being asked to pay £10 a day for internet access which on a room rate of £295 a night seems a bit of an insult.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinsonadamjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Last minute booking though spent two phone calls and several minutes looking at google map to see what the secure parking was like. I had been informed that their car park was secure was next to the hotel had CCTV and had staff keeping an eye on things.

This was a special weekend using a special car for the trip. Given the assurances by the hotel we booked for 2 nights

On arrival the secure car park is actually a massive car park covered in rocks at the back of the hotel which is part shared with other local companies/ individuals. The small 5 space secure car park within the hotel was not available .....

The assistant GM/ car park attendant James let the hotel down. Bad attitude, rude and obnoxious. Reluctantly, he allowed us to use the small car park (there were already 3 cars using it) but told me I would have to move the car out by 7am the following morning as there was a farmers Market using it the following day. I later found out through the Manager that, we did not need to move our car until at least 8.30......funny that

If you really love your car, don't use this hotel unless you get assurances of the space in the small car park. Recommend you speak to the John the manager in this respect. Both car parks are £10 per night but the main car park was fully accessible to anyone on the Saturday daytime.

Rest of the hotel and staff were excellent. Dinner superb, bar lovely. 1st breakfast amazing, 2nd breakfast order got lost was then rushed and was average(they didn't charge which was nice).

The immediate area around the hotel is nice but Poole high street needs a good wash......not very nice. Best to get a boat or drive around to sand banks - a different world! With a stunning beach and cafe.

Hotel Manager John was a star, if only James could learn a thing or two on how to speak to hotel guests and how to accommodate their various needs without the attitude.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueboy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My wife booked the Hotel du Vin for a last minute get away. The last time I was in Poole was c.1997 and my memories of it were good. First impressions of the hotel were good - very impressed with valet parking and the friendly reception staff. We were able to access our room early and were not disappointed by the standard of the room - stylish with two sash windows, very comfortable bed with linen to die for and all the little touches you could wish for, including robes, quality magazines, lovely toiletries and fresh milk for your tea or cafetiere coffee in the morning.

Location was good, though our room looked out over some modern townhouses and felt a little overlooked. The hotel is a stones throw from the quay and tucked down a small road in the Old Town and we woke to the sound of the churches bells in the morning. We didn't eat in the Bistro in the evening, however breakfast was served in the Bistro and was excellent. There was a great choice of food and whilst the service we received was a little slow, generally service seemed very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredPornStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,471 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing