We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect night's stay”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We arrived at the HDV Poole looking and feeling like drowned rats after having left a festival and packing up our tent in torrential rain. And what an oasis it was.

The staff were warm and welcoming from the minute we arrived. Our standard room was spacious and spotless.

In the bistro we experienced the usual hdv/malmaison standard of service - attentive and friendly yet inobtrusive. the food and wine were also excellent.

On to a hot bath with gorgeous toiletries, and a perfect night's sleep in the obscenely comfy bed.

Very happy! A perfect end to the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fi_earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Poole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip in January.

What can I tell you? I normally prefer serviced apartments for longer business trips but could not find anything with availability on my required dates. HdV came up with a superb deal I could not refuse, so I took the plunge.

And I am glad I did. Excellent service, excellent food (I had in-room dining every night - I had to work!) The room was spacious, glamorous, chic and luxurious. The staff were extremely welcoming, believe me when I say, nothing was too much trouble, sir.

Room service was universally excellent, all meals being to an extremely high standard and delivered promptly.

The high speed internet a tad expensive but worked well.

Normally a hotel I would associate with leisure travellers, it nevertheless fit the bill for me as a business traveller.

I want to go back. Now.

Room Tip: Flirt with the check in clerk
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrigntonIsTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

After all the cool photos of fab bathrooms, tales of magical upgrades and some good dinners at other Hotels du Vin....we were shocked by the poor value for money here. We stay in dozens of hotels a year, in various countries. This was a 5-star price, without the experience to support it. The georgian building has charm, the fittings in the modest-sized rooms are good quality, the food delicious, the staff friendly and attentive. Perhaps I should have complained at the time, but I thought I'd just be offered a better room at a higher price, and didn't relish the thought of being the complaining guest. Fleeced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRestedMyCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at Hotel Du Vin Poole for 4 nights in early June. The hotel is in a great location in Poole old town. This was our first stay at the HDV chain, and I would definitely consider staying at one of their other establishments in preference to other hotel chains.

The room was lovely and a very good size - the monsoon shower in the bathroom was an absolute highlight, and the bed was very comfortable. The TV channels provided in the room were however quite limited - I was surprised that there were no 'digital' channels - instead there were the 5 standard channels and several Sky sports channels, which is fine if you are into sport I guess!

We ate in the Bistro/ restaurant 3 times - the service was excellent and the food was very good quality, but I found the menu a bit limited and some of the food was not quite to my taste.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in Poole.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ClareCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Great hotel , fantastic food , just outstanding.

But why charge for parking and also a service charge added to the bill , I tipped when in the bar , so was amazed when I also hit with the service charge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotsandlotsoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel du Vin. It's a charming warren of connected houses right by the Marina in Poole (although five minutes' walk away, so nice and quiet). All the little touches are perfect - great minibar, fluffy bathrobes, beautiful monsoon shower and fresh milk for tea and coffee. The staff were as delightful as the hotel - funny, natural and really welcoming.

We'd booked for a romantic night after a day exploring the sights of the Dorset coast and the valet parking was great. We wished we'd taken up the offer of a table for dinner though, as on a Saturday night all the nicer places were booked. We walked back to the hotel around 7.30 and found that there were no sittings left - and had a terrible meal in a pub on the Marina (avoid the pub with the green tiling front and the deeply offensive and unpleasant owner who objects to having uncooked and inedible fish returned). The breakfast was great - there was a slight mix up in that I thought we'd paid for this in the rate, and the desk staff removed this from our bill. I subsequently found out from my sister who is a frequent du Vin-er that this is never the case, so the way it was dealt with was doubly good. It is however expensive at 220 GBP for a nights' stay but I think provides good value.

All in all a fantastic first stay with the du Vin chain and I'll definitely be booking future weekend breaks away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were welcomed by helpful and pleasant receptionists who showed us to our room. As we were only staying one night we cose a standard double room and was very surprised at the quality of the room. Huge shower room with lovely toiletries and soft fluffy towels. I stay in hotels regularly and would say the bed was one of the most comfortable ever. The breakfast was amazing and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Although the hotel was busy we felt like we were the only people in the restaurant. Overall lovely hotel with exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,758 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £107 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing