We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely let down and dissappointed..NOT 5 star”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extremely let down and dissappointed..NOT 5 star”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on a Friday for a special occasion. We stayed in "Grande Dame" and paid a lot to get it. The room was lovely, clean and tidy, if a little dated and scuffed. We used the Valet Parking, and they scuffed our wheels, dont let them park your car. We had late afternoon drinks and snacks in the bar. The service was very slow (although they did only have one waitress on....it was a friday!), we asked for a table to cleared for us to use, this was done, however only the plates were cleared, the table was not wiped over, the sofa was left with crumbs on and the floor was covered in crumbs and food...Not very clean. We then had to ask for our plates to be cleared..twenty minutes after we had sat with dirtly plates in front of us. We then had dinner in the evening...the food was superb, but again the service was very much below par..We had to wait ages for our order to be taken, (however the food then did arrive promptly..our order was incorrect, although duly changed (at our request). We had champagne and after waiting for what seemed like an eternity with empty glasses, my husband eventually got up and reached round to the ice bucket (which was out of reach) and refilled our glasses this we were paid more attention. The evening in the room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. We then went for breakfast (thinking it had to be better, right?)..firstly the breakfast was great, the food lovely and hot, however the service again was dangerously slow....we seated ourselves, no one greeting us or other guests, and then despite being passed by several servers, we were ignored for 15 minutes before we were asked if we wanted tea or coffee, or wanted to order our breakfast. So sad, as we had high expectations, the staff were all polite and knowledgeable, but sadly lacking in any form of impetus or need to deal with clients needs quickly. We were overall very dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    319
    139
    47
    21
See reviews for
123
688
26
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel on our wedding night in 2010 and went back for our anniversary in July. I booked the room, but was dissapointed after signing up to newsletters to receive many fabulous offers all frustratingly excluding the night we had booked. I phoned and made a comment about my gripe and was quickly told that they would do everything they could to give us an upgrade on our room as a gesture of good will.

The hotel surparrsed themselves on accomodating us and gave us a superbly luxurious room, far more amazing than I expected. The staff were warm and friendly, the bistro food is excellent and overall, it is a very relaxed hotel. yes it is pricey, but for a treat it is a fantastic place. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cotters26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a good hotel. The bed, and bath and shower were all epic. We were in "grande dame", which was a large room that was very quiet and looked out over the back. It was definitely worth using the valet parking (a tenner for a day) as parking in Poole is foul. We didn't think it was worth getting the breakfast and we ate out (Storm and Guildhall tavern both a few minutes walk away and worth it). Coffee and tea facilities were included with the room (good espresso machine). The toiletaries are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for a week with my partner in June. The hotel is lovely from the outsise and I was impressed but got a real shock when I went into the reception and was led to my room. Partner and I, led by the staff lugged our suitcases, laptop etc through narrow halls, fire doors and narrow starcases up to our room on the second floor, acrually though we would never find it again if we left it as the layout is so random. Or room was big, which I was happy with as I when i was looking at the fire plan of the floor we were on the other rooms were easily a third less the size of ours.

Room
The bed was very comfortable. Shower had good pressue, but the grouting was a bit grubby from age. Taps were covered in limescale. No shaving mirror. Paint work next to the door was marked/dirty. Windows were old, single glazing so no noiseproofing from out side. Air con was ok. Even set at the coldest - 16'c it still felt warm. Linen and towels were lovely.

Food
Pastries tasted like they were from a supermarket. Cooked breakfast was ok. Poor choice of fruit and fruit juices.

Parking
£10 a day for valet parking. Park instead in the pay and display car park behind the hotel for £4 per day.

Overall
A fine hotel but expensive for what you get. Poole is an expensive place to stay but Hotel Du Vin offered us nothing more special than we could have got at the chain hotels ie thistle, premier inn for half the price. Also if you have trouble walking, moving about easily consier elsewhere as there is no lift, there are stairs everywhere and are steep in places.

Room Tip: if your room seems small, it probably is! all rooms are the same rate but sizes do very so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Have just arrived home after 6 nights at Hotel Du Vin in Poole.
Our room was within the main building overlooking the street. I have no complaints with the staff very unobtrusive but ready to assist with any request. The staff particularly made the trip special. My husband was in Poole on business & as it is school holidays we joined him. Look out for the chandelier by reception, it took me days to notice it was made from actual glasses.

The breakfast staff were attentive & remembered exactly what we liked. It personalised our breakfast but not in an over familiar way. Other staff were all polite & friendly without exception. I was very pleased that housekeeping were able to count the number of beds in the room and provide towels for the correct number of guests without being asked on a daily basis. This may sound daft but having stayed at many hotels with my children all over the world very few actually manage this without a daily request for extra towels so we can have 1 bath towel each. Also had free internet in the room.

Bistro meals were expensive but no more so than many other eating establishments in the area. The food was not aimed at children so we ate elsewhere for our evening meals. We also were able to purchase lunchtime snacks from Tesco Express & Sainsburys Local both within a 5 minute walk from HDV

Kingsize Bed was comfortable, lighting adequate room temperature adjustable & windows opened so you could have fresh air. Minibar well stocked but room to add a few of your own items in the 'fridge'. I liked the fresh milk for drinks. The price for minibar was no more excessive than many other places we have stayed.

Only downside really was a little noisy at 6am from delivery lorries outside window but this can't be helped. The room we were in was the one most likely to have been affected by this Think maybe if it wasn't at time I was usually up by it would not have been an issue. Road quiet apart from this even after The Quay was closed off for fireworks still no disturbance from noisy louts/revellers.

Hotel has very small parking area at £10 per night OR they can arrange to park your car also for £10 in the public car park behind hotel for you. Our preference was to park ourselves at £4 for 24 hours & walk back to the hotel through the alleyway. If the hotel courtyard metal gate is locked (as it was only once) there is an alleyway almost next to it that you can walk through anyway,

Bathroom you are provided with shampoo conditioner bubble bath & body cream. All in good size bottles. The shower can be a little over zealous as my daughter found out on day 1. She soon learnt to control it though.

The hotel is only a minute or so walk to the Quay where you can get a boat across to Brownsea Island (much more attractive than name suggests) & definitely had a brilliant day there. Island owned by National Trust so if you are a member no landing fee. Even though did not have card they were able to check we were paid up members with details I provided so was worth asking. Also the nature reserve is £2 adults. Children cheaper, Plenty of walks even if you don't want to go to The Reserve. Beautiful Island.
Also took a boat trip past Old Harry Rocks to Swanage but did not disembark but it was an option.

Hotel is also only a few minutes walk from the dolphin shopping centre where there is a good selection of shops.

This hotel is a favourite with my husbands company & for business purposes is ideal. The hotel is not a 'family hotel' so you did not have hoards of kids disturbing the ambiance. I am not anti child as indeed I was there with my own children but would suggest this hotel is more suitable for adults trying to find some adult time. The staff are a credit to this establishment

Room Tip: Spend over £70 in the Bistro to get a deal on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kez64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We checked in to our fabulas room at the HoTel Du Van on Friday to find we had been given a room upgrade! Good start. The room was wonderful with a free standing bath in the room and a little balcony overlooking the old town.
Cocktails in the bar and into the Bistro for a magnificent chateau briand and dauphinoise.
Bed extremely comfortable .
Can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Excellent hotel - lovely food and wine (not too surprisingly!) and the decor is lovely. Definitely the place to stay in Poole. Only drawback is the parking as there is very limited capacity on site and the spaces are tight, otherwise there is valet parking for offsite car parking. Would stay there again if there was reason to visit Poole. No lift in the hotel, just a lot of stairs to negotiate depending on which room you are in, and fairly expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing