We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous two nights in the Hotel du Vin. The room was large and beautifully decorated with the biggest and most comfy bed we have ever slept in. The food was exquisite and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty. This was the most classy way to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I can't wait until our next child-free break because we will definitely be returning to the Hotel du Vin in Poole.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We've stayed in a few other branches of Hotel du Vin, but this one rates as the best in our experience.

We had a fabulous large room (Balfour), with a great balcony overlooking the internal courtyard. The comfy sofa on the balcony was perfect for lying back with a drink to browse through the in-room magazines.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and had an excellent meal there, with super service. The lounge areas are perfect for pre and post meal drinks. There's a great ambience and lots of space, so even at busy times, you could find somewhere to sit.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality, stylish, relaxing and romantic venue for a special trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for another child free mini break. We have stayed in other Hotel Du Vin's and have always been very happy with the extremely good standard of service. We were not disappointed. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable with a touch of luxury. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the food was fabulous. The food was only slightly surpassed by the excellent service who were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Had a standard room (Hush Heath) – it was spacious and quiet with a great bathroom (fabulous toiletries). Service was friendly and attentive. Really enjoyed my stay, wish it could have been longer. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here recently for a much-needed one-night break, which I had booked here because I'd had such a great experience at the Hotel du Vin in Bristol and wanted to visit Poole.

We were charged £180 for the night (room only) and were told we had one of the last available rooms (the hotel did look very full). There are better deals for Sundays available, but obviously not on a bank holiday weekend!

The hotel is quite difficult to find, as it is up a quiet street but very close to the Quay, but has a lovely classic frontage when you get there. We found our own parking space right outside (but were still charged £10 for valet parking, which I thought was a bit cheeky!)

The very efficient and cheery receptionist checked us in and showed us to our room, which was pleasant enough but had a TINY bathroom with a shower over a normal-sized bath (certainly not the Hotel du Vin 'oversized bath' I was expecting). My partner, who is 6'3", had to laugh when he tried to have a shower - the 'powerful drench shower' was fixed at a height level with his chin! The complimentary toiletries were of good quality (I love it when they provide shampoo AND conditioner!) and appreciated.

Unfortunately neither of us drink coffee, but there was a very nifty coffee machine in the room and I really appreciated the fresh milk in the mini-bar fridge for my tea.

We had booked dinner in the hotel restaurant, and had a great meal there which was enhanced by the enthusiastic and jolly staff. The cheese board was particularly good. Afterwards, it was lovely to be able to step out of the hotel straight onto the lively Quay area for a post-prandial wander along the harbour front.

In the morning I treated myself to continental breakfast in bed, which was more than enough for the two of us. Check out was painless.

A great little hotel, with lovely staff - a bit pricey for the room size, but definitely worth it if you can take advantage of one of the promotions available. We left relaxed and happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom with a separate bath and shower if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

“Simply Wonderful!”

We stayed here for our anniversary on September 7th  2012. I can honestly say  Hotel Du Vin Poole is truly worth a visit and is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in... it just has it all!  Massive beds, soft bedding, soft lighting and a roll top bath in the room!,, I personally  think this hotel should be held up as a model of perfect service. Every single employee goes out of their way to make sure guests have an enjoyable stay  from the manager John through to all the employees. Tom the deputy manager was very helpful and Clare the restaurant manager was attentive and made sure that she saved the table we requested and we enjoyed our meal.
The rooms are clean, fresh and stylish.  The restaurant is top class and has a good choice. The bar and patio area is a total chill out area.
Excellent breakfast menu (and I don't really like breakfast, but there was lots to tempt me).
Great price considering the style and location (minutes walk from quay).
And above all really good service! efficient and friendly without being too formal.

We  are already planning our next visit! 
Thank you to the team at Hotel Du Vin Poole for making our anniversary so wonderful. 

Room Tip: Book well in advance it's very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My partner booked this hotel on our way from Jersey. Very convenient if you arrived late as it is such a short step from the ferry. We didn't have dinner but enjoyed a nice bottle of wine down the bar. The room is very comfortable and the bed was huge. I loved the Miller Harris products in the bathroom. Breakfast was a buffet with some nice warm bread and all the trimmings. It wasn't very busy so service was very quick. We enjoyed it so much that we stopped for some light lunch on our return journey. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £102 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing