We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - beautiful room, quiet location in the center of town”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent - beautiful room, quiet location in the center of town”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a lovely 3 nights aty in the Balfour room which has its own balcony and outdoor sofa suite. Lovely fictures & fittings friendly staff and great setting the historic back streets of Poole. Really quiet location but literally less than 100meters from the quay area.

Room Tip: We had Balfour; spacious and with an outside area with sofa and table /chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    321
    142
    49
    22
See reviews for
127
701
27
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Recnt one night stay on a DBB basis.
Room (Penfold) reasonable size but rather dark and dismal. Poor TV reception and unable to recieve (free) WI-Fi. Comfortable bed and quiet room.
Dinner service slow. We waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and our starter did not arrive until we had been there for 50 minutes. We were on a dinner included basis but the set menu was so limited we went on to the a la carte menue and were charged accordingly. However, food was a good standard and the waitresses very pleasant.Breakfast was good and prompt.The sting in the tail is the additional charges. Parking is £10 per night and they add a service charge of 10% for food (even the prepaid element). Generally very average.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highexpectations520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grande bretagne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We also had the disabled room which your guest wrote about on the 17th August. We found it rather dark and dingy, no bath, but in fairness good quality fittings, bathroom toiletries etc. The receptionist on the day we arrived was a little frosty, and didn't advise that there were two car parks. We managed to squeeze ours in in the courtyard outside the room. We didn't experience breakfast as we had a very early start for the ferry. Having read all the reviews we can see that it is generally a well run hotel, and if we had been in the main building rather than the annexe we would probably have thought differently. We may after all try it again, but again I think it was a bit pricey

Room Tip: try not to have one in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay for my birthday weekend. I felt very spoilt from start to finish. The bed room was lovely. Coffee selection was great. Everything you need was provided within the room/bathroom etc. We were lucky enough to get a parking space at the hotel at £10 per night. (I now know what the other reviewers are talking about when they mention small spaces!!!! )The hotel staff are excellent. I've stayed in lots of hotels in England and this was the best breakfast. Well worth £14.95. We had an evening meal in the restaurant. Again superb. They brought me celebration chocolates at the end of the meal as it was my birthday. This was a really nice touch. Don't get me started on the cocktails!! They are fantastic. I could sit there all night. Oh yes I think I did!!!! This is the 3rd HDV I have stayed in. It makes me want to try them all. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Sign up to there website. They send you good offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous two nights in the Hotel du Vin. The room was large and beautifully decorated with the biggest and most comfy bed we have ever slept in. The food was exquisite and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty. This was the most classy way to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I can't wait until our next child-free break because we will definitely be returning to the Hotel du Vin in Poole.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We've stayed in a few other branches of Hotel du Vin, but this one rates as the best in our experience.

We had a fabulous large room (Balfour), with a great balcony overlooking the internal courtyard. The comfy sofa on the balcony was perfect for lying back with a drink to browse through the in-room magazines.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and had an excellent meal there, with super service. The lounge areas are perfect for pre and post meal drinks. There's a great ambience and lots of space, so even at busy times, you could find somewhere to sit.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality, stylish, relaxing and romantic venue for a special trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for another child free mini break. We have stayed in other Hotel Du Vin's and have always been very happy with the extremely good standard of service. We were not disappointed. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable with a touch of luxury. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the food was fabulous. The food was only slightly surpassed by the excellent service who were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing