We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel du Vin Poole”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel du Vin Poole”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel used to be the Mansion House. Since it has changed hands I think the quality is not as good. It used to be a special place to go and you could also join as a member. Now they have altered the building considerable and spoilt the atmosphere. There are no carpets in the restaurant and therefore is quite noisy, you sit in rows and the meal was over too quick. The food was excellent but spoilt by sitting so close to other diners and having to shout at each other due to the noise.
I am sorry to be negative about this but I remember it as it was before all the changes, maybe if you did not remember how it was before you may find it good. There is now an outside garden to sit and have a drink or a meal. Food wise 4 star

Room Tip: I have never stayed at the hotel we have only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella62cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    328
    143
    49
    22
See reviews for
131
711
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night in one of their suites - beautiful room, gorgeous roll top bath and very comfy bed. Everything you could want (although couldn't find an iPod docking station). We ate in the restaurant which felt like they had crammed as many people as possible into, not much space between tables so it didn't have a feeling of an intimate dining experience hence 4 not 5 stars. However a lovely night away and I would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxime T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just got home from spending a night in the most comfortable bed. We were there for a small party in one of the function rooms, it was a wonderful night, but the drinks are sooo expensive. There's a massive selection, which is great if you've heard of any of them! That said the staff are very knowledgable about all of the spirits, wines, lagers and ales. Our room was in the old part of the hotel with a lot of stairs up & down to get to it (a challenge when a tiny bit tipsy!), the room was clean, well stocked mini bar, lovely bathroom, huge bed. If you've got the ££ it would be well spent here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xbox_widow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here on business trip to south coast & was very pleased.
Reception staff were pleasant & showed me to my room
Nice big room. Think I was upgraded to a terrace room, which had it's own private entrance accessed from car park & included a small outdoor seating area, although I only paid for a standard room. Room was well appointed.
I ate dinner in hotel restaurant, service was good, as was the food, if not cheap. Breakfast was excellent although it was something of an irritation to be charged a supplement for a cooked breakfast given I didn't eat any of the continental selection. However cooked options were freshly prepared & ingredients seemed good quality.
Only downside was £10 charge for parking which I wasn't made aware of either when booking on website or when I checked in.
Otherwise an enjoyable stay which made an essential stay a much more pleasant experience than the majority of business trips.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We found the hotel, staff and room an excellent standard, lots of nice touches.

Ate in the bisto, they're fillet steak is to die for! only complaint is that the drinks are extremely expensive.

Breakfast did not disappoint, beautifully cooked full english breakfast! Fantastic quality bacon and sausage!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klp9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

From the time we arrived on the Friday afternoon, until the time we left on Saturday morning, the hotel staff were superb. We chose this hotel as reviews suggested the food would be good - it was wonderful. We arranged for Champagne to be served when our guests arrived - it was ready exactly on time at a table reserved for us, which was unexpected and a lovely surprise. Staff were attentive but unobtrusive, check in/out fast and efficient and room facilities were second to none. It was not cheap, but you get what you pay for and was worth every penny as this was for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Went to a wedding, so most of the drinks were for free, luckily, the floor needed a good clean, very expensive drinks were £4 for a Vodka £4:25 for a bottle of Heineken no draft lager for my partner. Most of the guests kept disappearing a few doors down to a very nice pub to get drinks. food was Ok can not say any thing bad about but I expected something very special. If you like a good cigar my partner told me their selection could probably not be beaten on the South coast. Room cost £190 so did not stay. Overall Ok, for the price and the hype I expected excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,719 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing