We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel,nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel,nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for a getaway weekend.loved the monsoon shower and nespresso machine in the room.large with comfy bed.breakfast was fresh and tasty not sure how i feel about charging a supplement for hot food though.poole is a dead town bit rough and ready but surrounding area has some lovely beaches walks scenery recommend harrys rocks.Ate in the restaurant on friday night really good food they made a mistake with our table but gave us a complimentary glass of champagne which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    307
    136
    45
    21
See reviews for
117
667
26
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and ate in restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent and difficult to better. We had a superior room and it was perfect. Particularly like the coffee machine. Very good special offer on the Sunday night and will definitely visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The Bistro has the sophisticated and beautifully designed feel that you come to expect from Hotel du Vin. Welcomed at the bar on arrival, the bar staff are knowledgable and friendly - and they make a great range of cocktail. Welcomed into the bistro by friendly and attentive staff. The food was well presented and absolutely delicious. Fantastic place for a special meal - will make it feel more special

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chobham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed 8th/9th feb. Luxury room up grade was what i would consider average. why would you want a bath in the bedroom!!!!
Hotel Du Vin is now getting greedy charging for everything under the sun. £10 for their own car park when their room rates are well over the top.
Have stayed at many HDV over the years and found them very good, think they have now killed it.
we won't be going back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanwix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner and I choose the Du Vin chain whenever we can as we enjoy the atmosphere, and we are rarely disappointed, however this was our the least satisfactory branch that we have stayed in.

The air conditioning unit in the room emitted a very nasty screeching noise, which continued even after I turned the unit off. This, combined with the banging of the "sail" outside covering the outdoor drinking section meant that sleep was fitful to say the least.

My main bone of contention however lies with the wedding party that was being held in a room adjacent to the bar. We had a table booked at a local restaurant for an evening meal, so decided to enjoy a pre-meal cocktail in the bar. At this point the wedding party was self contained in a functions room, so the bar was quiet and the drink was enjoyable. However on returning from our meal we decided to get another cocktail before bed, whereby we discovered that the party had spilled into the bar. There were very few seats available, no space to get to the bar, and even worse only one person working at the bar, with another person, who seemed only to be drying glasses, not taking orders. I took a menu back to our seat, and waited for a clear space at the bar, or a passing waiter to take our orders, however as neither presented themselves we gave up and went to our room.

While I appreciate that there is plenty of profit to be made from catering for wedding receptions, the hotel staff really ought to be aware that there are other paying guests who may want a quiet drink without having to queue at the bar or dodge uncontrolled children.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustytravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Up to the usual high standards of a Du Vin hotel, lovely big rooms / bathrooms and amazing atmosphere in the lounge / restaurant.

However, bit disappointed we weren't in the main building. HDV Poole is a lovely building, but they've bought some additional properties along the street. We were in one of these, meaning we had to walk along the road to get into the main hotel, annoying for breakfast when it was the wettest weekend in history!

Other than that, super friendly staff and hangover-curing breakfasts as always.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumbleweeds1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having not done very much for Valentine's for a few years we decided to take advantage of the Valentine's Package for one night, firstly because we thought the deal was a good one and also, not having been to this venue since it was The Mansion House, although we kept meaning to, and wanting to see what the Du Vin chain had done to the place.

The greeting on arrival was excellent and check in was easy and quick. We had chosen to stay in a Studio Suite and we were not disappointed. Large room divided into a sleep area and lounge area by a unit which had a flat screen on both sides, one for the lounge area and one for the sleeping area. Bose music system. The bed was huge! Feature bath in the corner of the room and also a separate, large bathroom with a monsoon shower. Mini bar, coffee machine, hairdryer, iron and ironing board all in room, good quality towels, robes and toiletries.

The package included a 4 course evening meal and breakfast and both were of good quality, especially considering it was Valentine's and they were catering for so many dinners. Service on both occasions was attentive and helpful. We did find we had an item on our evening meal bill which was not ours and also overheard that the table next to us had the same issue - an unlucky coincidence, perhaps, but worth checking your bill! The restaurant is now a bistro with all that goes with that, wooden floors and minimal table dressings, very different from the days of the Mansion House where the setting was more that of a high quality dining club.

Would I return is always a good test for me and, without a doubt, I would.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing