We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from a 6 night stay in the Hotel du Vin.
POSITIVES
The room was fabulous - a de luxe with a balcony 'Catina Zapata'. The rooms all had names, not numbers.
The bed/pillows were superb.
The decor and styling of the hotel was lovely.
The housekeeping staff were excellent - the hotel was exceptionally clean throughout.
The reception staff were fabulous, we had a lovely welcome from Hannah who went the extra mile, all receptionists are a credit to the hotel.
Josh, (bar staff) was also great, a lovely lad who was extremely helpful.
The dining room staff gave a fantastic service throughout our stay and the food was very good.
A nice local pub, (the King Charles) is at the end of Thames St. We saw 2 really good live bands there.

NEGATIVES
The hotel clearly has a problem with plumbing. There were water stains on the bathroom and bedroom ceilings, probably due to leakage from poor fitting of the good quality bathroom furniture in the room above. Water was leaking around a ceiling spot light which kept going off and on.
Noisy floorboards in the corridor and the room above affected a few night's sleep.
We noticed the majority of people were staying only 1 or 2 nights. As we had opted for dinner, bed and breakfast we were allowed £20 per person from the main menus or 3 courses from the fixed price menu. Unfortunately the soup du jour was on for 3 days and the banana bread and butter pudding was the only hot dessert for 5 days unless we selected the main menu and paid more. Apart from that the food quality and service was excellent.

Despite the negatives I think it still deserves a great score and I would readily stay there again, mainly due to the staff delivering an excellent service. I will also check out the rest of the chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapingfromwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    328
    143
    49
    22
See reviews for
131
711
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked online standard room and breakfast. Got an email asking if I wanted an eupgrade if available. I replied yes On arrival we're told we had an eupgrade. We're taken to the room which was dingy and dark with a standard double bed and "terrace" which actually was a concrete balcony overlooking the rear yard, northwest facing so no sun. Also noise from ventilation units. The bathroom bath panel had damage where stuffing was coming out of unit due to water ingress. All in all not a superior room.

Husband complained at reception and we were shown a standard room. This was much better, a nice room with a king size bed and nice bathroom, one thing to note is that while there's a safe the safe can just be taken from the room, as it is not fixed to anything!

The evening meal was inedible, The starters were okay. Chicken parfait and mushrooms on toast basically. All under seasoned.

The main courses were fillet steak and rump of lamb. Both were tough and Inedible and had to be sent back. The replacement steak hache was equally overcooked and inedible. The tarte Tatin was also overcooked and tasted burnt except the pastry was uncooked

None of this was cheap on the menu. The only good thing was that the whole bill was credited by the duty Manager who admitted there "had been a few niggles" in the restaurant

The whole experience was embarrassing and disappointing. This was supposed to be an enjoyable one night break for our wedding anniversary.

The staff were friendly and helpful particularly the receptionists.

We have been to HDV. In Winchester and Brighton and have good food. Will we use HDV again - Not sure now as we were really shocked at the poor diner. However, the breakfast was perfect, eaten outside on the terrace in the sun, it almost made us forget the dreadful evening before!

The dark overrated room was Krug. Our standard room which was excellent was domaines de Banun.

Room Tip: Do not book Krug. Domaines de Bunan is good and a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank millgood0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel - with a stylish and modern interior. The reception staff are very good, friendly and efficient. I really liked the informal and relaxed registration process. Our room, purely by chance, was named after my favourite wine. It was comfortable and clean, with a modern bathroom with everything in working order. A hot 'power shower' and nice coffee machine really made the difference! The Du Vin is close to the waterfront were there are pubs and places to eat. The high street shops are near by and the car park had direct access to the hotel. There is a charge for parking. We had the Sunday night deal - where you pay £75 for dinner in the Brasserie and then pay £25 for the room. The initial introduction was lovely. We had a nice table and picked a wine. Starters and main courses were delivered which were excellent. We had breakfast the following day, again the food being very good. However, on both occasions we would have appreciated the warm and friendly service to continue right until the end of our meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel continues the high standards of this chain well designed mixing old with contemporary new superb location we could see the Cherbourg ferry captains bridge from the room car park is extra great atmosphere not cheap but quality assured great breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for a business trip with two other colleagues having had a good experience dining here last year.

My standard room was very well presented with a comfortable bed, nice firm pillows, large flat screen TV and a Nespresso coffee machine. Bathroom (shower only) was also clean. The location of the hotel (away from main roads) meant that there was little to no ambient noise from the outside and I had a really good nights sleep.

I was generally happy with the room. Well I was until I spoke to my colleague who was also booked into a standard room at the same rate. His room was larger than mine which and so it appears I drew the short draw in terms of space.

My colleagues and I again chose to dine in the restaurant and had another enjoyable experience - great food and good service. Breakfast was also a similarly good experience.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. It's just a shame the rooms are of such differing sizes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concealers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a wedding held at the hotel. Had a fantastic time, lovely large bedroom with balcony, with everything you'd expect and more. Staff were courteous and attentive and couldn't do enough to please, the food was of a very high standard and I'm already planning a return for a meal with friends. Great hotel in a really good position can honestly not think of any negatives.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My wife & I enjoyed a 2 night break for my 40th birthday and were both looking forward to a couple of nights away from the kids in a boutique hotel & some nice food & drink. We both loved the hotel & bar, including outside terrace, however the restaurant left a lot to be desired.

We booked the Sunday night dinner special offer...what a disappointment! We were greeted by the waiting staff who informed us that they had run out if lots of things on the menu. This was then repeated by the Manager. Not a great start. We were the lucky ones as by the time the last guests arrived there was barely a dish available.

Breakfast was another disappointment. How can you run out of black pudding by 9am? The full English breakfast didn't quite live up to its name!

All in all our stay was great, lovely room, excellent bar & superb location. They just need to work on the basics & improve their customer service in the restaurant as this is letting the team down.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mrelston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,723 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing