We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't look any further!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't look any further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking for a one night stay and wanted something a little bit special and in a great location. So often hotels bill themselves as luxury or high end and fall short and disappoint - The Hotel du Vin, did not disappoint. We booked a superior room with a claw foot bath in the bedroom. The super king bed was dreamy with Egyptian cotton linen, beautiful soft pillows and mattress and the room had a pretty balcony overlooking a courtyard. Thankfully the room was also air conditioned. The room came with Smart TV, a mini bar and a Nespresso machine.

The hotel itself was charming, elegant and quirky. Lovely bar with a sunny terrace, attractive dining room and just a minute round the corner from the quayside. Parking was not a problem as we were lucky and found a space in the small hotel car park, however we were told there was another if this was full. There is a £10 overnight charge though for both! Staff were really friendly and helpful.

We dined at the restaurant and the food was good although the breakfast didn't quite meet the same standard. I would not hesitate to stay again - however I might choose a room only rate and dine out next time, as eating and drinking at the hotel can push your bill up quite considerably and frankly there are some fantastic places to eat nearby and worth a try. Thank you - fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Kristina C,

many thanks for your fantastic review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay.
Kind regards
HdV Poole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    306
    136
    45
    21
See reviews for
117
665
26
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lochranza, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Usual issue with no room numbers with this chain ...really not cool!
Tour party with a lot of luggage which is a problem in this hotel
Great staff very helpful and good service
Great breakfast
Good vibe in the hotel

Room Tip: Check on booking.. room sizes vary and some locations difficult if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solymar, Hungary
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good location, a few steps from the 'promenade'. A good hotel in an old building, rooms named after French vine regions or vines. Rather good restaurant with good vine selection. Friendly staff, helpful reception. Poor internet access and terrible porrige (this is what I did not expect in England...)

Room Tip: The AC is rather noisy and at the ground floor no windows to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, following a stay the previous night at HdV Bristol. That was good but this was better still.
1. We nabbed the last parking space on the car park when arriving. (Tiny but public car park next door)
2. We then found out we'd had a free upgrade.
What a start.
The young receptionist was v v attentive (sorry no name) and from then on the stay was fantastic. Great room, great breakfast, newly rebuilt outside terrace and even though no view from it whatsoever, a very nice bright space. Lovely bar, but best of all very very quirky! That's why we love HdV. It never feels like a chain.
Bonus, the wife's first time in Poole, she loved it!!!
Finally bit cheeky this but on the night we ate a nearby brand new thai restaurant called Sakuna Khrua (or similar) - next to Siam Thai. So new not even on TA yet to review. Despite the service being a little intermittent (only second day of trading) the food was awesome, best had in UK (and we are seasoned Thai travellers) and the staff very very enthusiastic. We even had photos with them all at the end and a gift. Sure it'll be in website soon.
Thanks HdV. Sakuna and Poole, all perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADEPC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Given that it is part of the Mal Maison group, I was slightly disappointed.
To get to the room, I was led up a narrow staircase with what appeared to be damp on the walls as well as a damp smell.
The room was of a reasonable size but the low ceiling made it feel claustrophobic.
The decor of the room was to the usual high standards of this group.
The Nespresso machine in the room is always appreciated.
The customer service was also good with the staff very friendly.
Had dinner in the Bistro. Onion soup was delicious but the steak was too tough and I gave up half way.
Breakfast was reasonable but the selection appeared to be much smaller than that of the Malmaison, Aberdeen.
Breakfast was accompanied by Radio 2 over the dinning room loudspeakers plus a different radio station blaring out from the kitchen serving hatch. The conflicting music bombarding my eardrums at 7am meant that I downed my coffee and left quite quickly.
The ultimate test is, 'would i stay again?'
Answer - Whilst it wasn't bad, I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break and must say we couldn't fault the hotel. The room was light and airy and the food we had was excellent. The staff all seem very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here and have to say it's amazing beautiful rooms and good and staff are lovely. The walk to the centre is literally 2 minutes away and the hotel has a special feel to it. Expensive but well worth it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nieve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Property: Hotel du Vin Poole
Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing