We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in poole area”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

good quality all the way through this hotel- a class act opposite the sun seeker yacht co.
excellent bar with improved outdoor area for summer drinks.
beautiful building in peaceful part of a busy area.
welcoming staff and would highly recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 474vod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear 474vod,

thank you for your time writing your great review.
All comments good or not so good are passed on to all relevant departments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities.
Kind regards

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I can't thank hotel du vin enough, nor can i recommend them enough.
During our stay at Poole the rooms were, well maintained and kept to a high standard, the rooms are some thing special to say the least.
As for the food and service, 5 stars all the way, if you enjoy fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere then this is the place for you.
it certainly has changed its look since it was the Mansion House, so don't go expecting the same hotel, saying that,i loved it then and i love it now. i would recommend the hotel to all i know wether it is for a weekend away, business trip or even a longer stay.
Again thank you for a wonderful stay and see you again soon.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any room i would imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Philip S,

thank you for your fantastic review.
I have passed on your great comments to all relevant departments and please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay. (01202 785570)
Kind regards

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had checked out of another hotel that we were disappointed in and managed to get 2 nights here.
Our Superior room was excellent, with a good extra king sized bed and quality linen.The bathroom was a treat. We asked for a quiet room and got just that.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful - in particular those on reception.

Dinner in the bistro each night was reasonable, my only complaint being the price of the wines. There was only one bottle under £20 and many much more. Whilst I would expect that in a Michelin starred restaurant, I wouldn't in a casual bistro. However I assume this is head office policy.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel has an old facade with new parts behind. There is a warren of staircases up through the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear PJJersey,

Thank you for your time writing your review.
Our prices for food, drinks and wines are set by Head Office and are the same in all our hotels.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and looking forward to see you again soon.
Kind regards

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed at HDV, Poole about 10 times when visiting relatives who live nearby. Always a great welcome by staff who always go out of their way to ensure you are happy. Our aged dog, Henry the Westie, always welcome in a courtyard room and in the garden area and bar. Food excellent with the extensive breakfast choice a real plus. Food cooked to order, not a buffet. In the evenings choice of beers and wines second to none. High quality all round, catering to vacationers, lovers and business people equally well. Slightly negative points are the restricted car parking which raises the heartbeat if you can't get in and a recent reduction in maintenance. Our aircon was blowing ambient, not chilled, and the bath needed a sink plunger as it drained very slowly. Nonetheless a great example of its kind.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wideglides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear wideglides,

Many thanks for your great review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities. I have passed on your comments to all relevant departments.
We have sorted out the little niggles with maintenance and have secured parking at two local multi storey car parks. Details and directions can be found on our website.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend loved our stay at Hotel du vin!! Excellent food, loved the Chateau Briand, highly recommend it.. Quick service, knowledgeable staff, couldn't have done more for us. Loved the cocktails. Room was gorgeous! Definitely coming again for our next weekend away!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPPSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear KPPSTA,

Many thanks for your time writing your fantastic review.
I have passed on your great comments to all departments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay. (01202 785570)
Christian & team at HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The restaurant was full to capacity and the atmosphere was lively and relaxed. I'm sure the staff must have been run off their feet but you'd never have known as their attention and customer service was excellent!! Other customers and parties at other tables were laughing and enjoying themselves and we felt totally relaxed and looked after. The wait for each course was reasonable and the food was amazing!! Fine dining yet excellent portion sizes. Cannot recommend highly enough. We weren't rushed and stayed well after closing. The open kitchen was spotless and the staff attentive. Will definitely be returning to try the Sunday lunch. Worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochamama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Rochamama73,

Many thanks for your time writing your fantastic review.
I have passed on your great comments to all departments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next visit. (01202 785570)
Christian & team at HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I were treated to a short stay. Having stayed in many local and national top hotels I can safely say this is right up there with the best of them.
The room was clean and offerred everything and more than I expected but what really stood out was the service from start to finish that we received. This excellent standard of service and local knowledge of events made our stay stress free and fun filled. Enjoying fireworks on the quay was a great addition to our stay.
The food was truly amazing and the atmosphere alone was worth every penny. We had a table near the open kitchen, I got to see first hand the high level of skill and passion that the entire restaurant team put into the service throughout the night.
The manager on duty and the hotel manager should be proud of their entire teams work ethic and great can do attitude. It wad a special stay that I hope to repeat very soon.
Thank you hotel du vin.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear craigallard,

Many thanks for your time writing your fantastic review.
I have passed on your great comments to all departments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay. (01202 785570)
Christian & team at HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £102 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing