We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tim and Sam ”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We live in London and stayed in the hotel as we are property hunting in sandbanks ! The room was amazing ! Reception was fast and easy to use!

We booked a table for Friday evening for 745 . We had heard big expectation of the bistro as we dine regularly in the one in London ! Well I have one thing to say about the service on Friday . AMAZING!! We were welcomed in the bar by a smart looking , helpful , smily young chap called William . He welcomed us sat us down gave us drinks menus ,then a couple minutes later came back to take the order.My wife at this point was undecided of her cocktail he asked her what spirit she liked to drink then recommended serval cocktails on and off the bar lists. Which helped my wife a lot . Dinner was brill except they didn't have any chateau bewen left which was disappointing .

We finished dinner late, we were one of the last couples out . We went back to the bar to only be greeted by William again ! He made us several cocktails which were very nice. He looked after us all night and was brilliant at serving and recommending drinks .we were so please with the service he gave us ! All in all fab night.


Overall such a wonderful stay all the staff did a fab job.Great weekend in fact we are going to book other table and come down very soon .

Thanks hotel du vin

Tim and Sam

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Abcd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Tim & Sam,

Many thanks for your fantastic review.

I showed William your comments about his service on that night and he just said: “This made my day!". It means a lot to all our staff when they are being mentioned.

Please feel free to contact me directly to make your next booking with us. (01202 785570)

Kind regards
Christian at HdV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Poole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently visited Poole,to visit an elderly relative.
We dined at a restaurant nearby(with an amazing view of Poole Harbour and Brownsea Island)but decided not to stay at this particular venue as we wanted a hotel that would be more contemporary.
We did some homework,and fortunately for us,came upon the Hotel Du Vin.
We booked a superior room,as the suites seem to be offering that trend of baths in bedrooms- a modern trend that we old fogies are not keen to emulate-I like walls to my bathrooms!
The room was large,chic,bathroom was magnificent,huge roll-top bath,large monsoon-shower wet-room,great coffee machine,huge elegant sleigh bed.
We ate in the lovely dark ambient hotel in the evening,and the food was superb-scallops and fillet,with an excellent bottle of red.
Breakfast was comprehensive,and I managed to find room for the breakfast Haddock.
On a negative point,WiFi was hopeless in our room,car-parking is tight,although there is an NCP behind for the same charge,and while the advantages of having a wonderful old building and subsequent creaks may be atmospheric,our fellow guests moved around the building quietly,but were still heard.
However,we have just made our second stay-we asked for the same room,and found it to be just as comfortable as before.We plan to visit Poole a lot,to regularly visit our 85 year old relative,and I think we have found our new base.It does not have the views of some of the competition hotels,but it does feel a league above them,even though a lot of Poole Old Quay seems a little,erm,ready for investment!
Once you know how to get there,and where to park,you don't need to leave the hotel-it's quirky,elegant and we have found the dining to be superb.It isn't cheap,by any stretch,but it does feel smart and substantial,and we have been delighted by the reception staff,and other members of staff who we've interacted with.
We look forward to returning !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Rick M,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review.
It is always great to hear when guests enjoyed our hotel and will continue to do so.
We will be upgrading our Wi-Fi next month and this should solve the connection issues. Our guests have access to two multi storey car parks, for both we are able to validate tickets at reception. They are located on Strand Street BH15 1SB and Hill Street BH15 1NR.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

good quality all the way through this hotel- a class act opposite the sun seeker yacht co.
excellent bar with improved outdoor area for summer drinks.
beautiful building in peaceful part of a busy area.
welcoming staff and would highly recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 474vod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear 474vod,

thank you for your time writing your great review.
All comments good or not so good are passed on to all relevant departments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities.
Kind regards

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I can't thank hotel du vin enough, nor can i recommend them enough.
During our stay at Poole the rooms were, well maintained and kept to a high standard, the rooms are some thing special to say the least.
As for the food and service, 5 stars all the way, if you enjoy fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere then this is the place for you.
it certainly has changed its look since it was the Mansion House, so don't go expecting the same hotel, saying that,i loved it then and i love it now. i would recommend the hotel to all i know wether it is for a weekend away, business trip or even a longer stay.
Again thank you for a wonderful stay and see you again soon.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any room i would imagine
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Philip S,

thank you for your fantastic review.
I have passed on your great comments to all relevant departments and please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay. (01202 785570)
Kind regards

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had checked out of another hotel that we were disappointed in and managed to get 2 nights here.
Our Superior room was excellent, with a good extra king sized bed and quality linen.The bathroom was a treat. We asked for a quiet room and got just that.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful - in particular those on reception.

Dinner in the bistro each night was reasonable, my only complaint being the price of the wines. There was only one bottle under £20 and many much more. Whilst I would expect that in a Michelin starred restaurant, I wouldn't in a casual bistro. However I assume this is head office policy.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel has an old facade with new parts behind. There is a warren of staircases up through the 3...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear PJJersey,

Thank you for your time writing your review.
Our prices for food, drinks and wines are set by Head Office and are the same in all our hotels.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and looking forward to see you again soon.
Kind regards

HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed at HDV, Poole about 10 times when visiting relatives who live nearby. Always a great welcome by staff who always go out of their way to ensure you are happy. Our aged dog, Henry the Westie, always welcome in a courtyard room and in the garden area and bar. Food excellent with the extensive breakfast choice a real plus. Food cooked to order, not a buffet. In the evenings choice of beers and wines second to none. High quality all round, catering to vacationers, lovers and business people equally well. Slightly negative points are the restricted car parking which raises the heartbeat if you can't get in and a recent reduction in maintenance. Our aircon was blowing ambient, not chilled, and the bath needed a sink plunger as it drained very slowly. Nonetheless a great example of its kind.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wideglides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear wideglides,

Many thanks for your great review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities. I have passed on your comments to all relevant departments.
We have sorted out the little niggles with maintenance and have secured parking at two local multi storey car parks. Details and directions can be found on our website.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend loved our stay at Hotel du vin!! Excellent food, loved the Chateau Briand, highly recommend it.. Quick service, knowledgeable staff, couldn't have done more for us. Loved the cocktails. Room was gorgeous! Definitely coming again for our next weekend away!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPPSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear KPPSTA,

Many thanks for your time writing your fantastic review.
I have passed on your great comments to all departments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay. (01202 785570)
Christian & team at HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £109 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing