We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin Poole
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pine Ridge(Poole)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ox(Poole)
US$118
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
727
367
156
51
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
367
156
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathmonsoon showernespresso machinemansion housechateaubriandcar parklovely buildingmini barparking is limitedmulti storeymain buildingwine liststandard roomeggs benedictper nightafternoon teagreat room
Filter
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Have stayed in most of the HDVs as they seem to have it just right, big comfortable beds, monsoon showers, fast filling baths, relaxed atmosphere, good food and amazing wine. Stayed for the first time in Poole with some friends on a Saturday night a few weeks ago. Pulled up outside, valet parking ready to go, quick check in and very warm welcome, so far so good. Showed to our room, back outside and along the street (hmmm, not expecting that, as it was raining hard, we had to put coats on to return to the hotel for dinner, never done that before!) ) to another door, up the stairs and into a very nice large room looking just like a HDV experience. We were fooled... the walk in shower looked the part but had such low pressure it was definately not a HDV experience. The bath was the same. The manager promised to investigate and let us know as we said it would put us off returning but, 10 days later, no news. So if they put you in the Moet and Chandon or the Villa Maria rooms, ask them if the water is sorted out before unpacking. The bed was standard HDV Vispring comfort, bliss. The demise of the fresh milk and snacks in the minibar is a definate backward step for HDV. The restaurant and bar were a mixed experience. Staff didn't clear previous occupants items from the tables when taking our bar order, waiting staff brought most of our food but had to be asked for one person's food, they didn't seem to think it odd that only 3 out of 4 of us had food. The surety of cooking we have experienced elsewhere in the HDV group was missing from Poole (things missing from dishes, tough meat etc) and the Sommelier seemed to not know anything about the wine he suggested! Breakfast on the other hand was superb. So overall, good in parts but not up to HDV standards for the price. I guess the original owners knew exactly when they had maxed out HDV and wisely sold out and moved on. The new owners have either not quite understood the essence of HDV or are finding it impossible to keep the control now that it has got bigger. What a shame, we are almost dreading going to the other HDVs in case they are slipping and sliding away from the original concept too. Think we might be checking out the LIme Wood and the Terravina Hotels in Hampshire, where the HDV founders have started again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LappersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I really like du vin hotels. I am prepared to pay a little more (and it can be just a little more if you get a deal) to get something better than the average Holiday Inn but when you do opt to pay more, you expect to get better and should make a fuss when you don't. This hotel has a great location just set back from Poole Quay and you can drool at the wonderful Sunseeker motor yachts as their factory is just across the harbour. We have visited here before and will certainly do so again. This time we had an even better room which was extremely comfortable and well appointed. We didn't have the best of experiences in the restaurant with dinner which was unfortunate but this can happen anywhere. To their credit - and this is where they score over lesser places, they have bent over backwards to put matters right to ensure that we are completely satisfied - clearly their customers are important to them.
I do think that maybe some of the chefs and those who order the meat are getting a little carried away. For example on the menu is a section entitled "Simple Classics"
No steak and ale pie here....but oeuf cocotte au roquefort et noix and even better Rabbit rillette with prunes. Simple? Classic - what a hoot, sounds very 60s to me.
Du vin seems to have a love affair with Donald Russell for its meat. Apparently this is a corporate directive. A shame really, firstly because it is eye wateringly expensive if you look at their website - or the mail order catalogue in the bedroom and no better or worse than many other butchers I am sure. Secondly I think that quality hotels like this should source locally and build up a rapport with local suppliers and support their local economy - but what do I know about running a hotel?
All in all a great location, very comfortable and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights during a recent visit to Poole. First time in an HDV, and booked a studio suite. Pleasantly surprised to hear we had been upgraded to the executive suite for our second night when confirming booking on telephone.

On arrival, car valet parked and into reception. Swift check in, and escorted to room. First impressions really good. Plenty of space, nice tv's, sitting area, free-standing bath in lounge. Cool. Settled in after very long drive and went to bed around 11pm. Woken many times during the night by the room upstairs. We could hear their conversation clearly, and their tv may aswell have been in our room !!. Called reception at first light to advise I was less than impressed, given the £265 per night price tag. Reception apologised and when we passed on the way to breakfast, we were told that they had made note of our issues and that this would be reflected on our bill. £65 reducton................which is something, but not enough for me, given that the HDV chain shoots at the highest level of customer service within it's image.

Second night, moved to top floor room, executive suite. So no problems with noise from rooms, but when people walked past our room door, it was as if they were in our room again. The corridors are tiny, and floor boards very squeeky.

What is the problem ?. I will tell you. It is simple. You cannot put this level of luxury into an old building unless you (the HDV management) have absolutely nailed all of the sound issues that old buildings suffer from. The floors in the HDV Poole sound like they are original, in that, there is so much movement in them the noise is considerable. The sound insulation between floors is non existent because the old floor cavities have not been dealt with or sound-proofed at all. The only way to put a luxury hotel into an old building, such as this one, would be to gut it, and put new floors and walls everywhere.

HDV Poole has not had this done, and you can tell. Such a shame. £265 for a disturbed nights sleep is not right. Got to get it sorted. Would we go back.............I am sorry but no. And I am really sorry because the place is presented so well. Almost everything right but the sound proofing is so bad.

Oh, and if I had guests that called me to tell me how badly they had slept due to the room above, I would not charge them for a night where they could have got more sleep sat up !!.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Wonderful hotel. Fantastic large rooms are individually decorated (I've seen 2 and loved them both), great amenities, good location, very tasty breakfast (good variety as well!), good service. There is nothing wrong with this hotel! Superb experience. Enjoyed the bar quite a lot as well ). Special thanks to Joakim!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We’re a little delayed in writing this review – simply down to time, as it was a wonderful stay!

We booked a Sunday night deal to stay at the HDV in Poole, at the end of a holiday in Spain. We arrived during the hot last weekend in September, to a bustling scene in Poole Harbour. We timed our arrival perfectly as the valet parking gentleman was just parking another car, so we followed him to park our car in the private external car park area at the rear of the hotel – it’s worth the small overnight parking charge as it’s so convenient.

The hotel is set in a quiet side-street, just behind the lovely harbour area of Poole. The hotel is very well positioned, with everything almost on your doorstep, but in a sleepy, quiet residential street.

We had a standard room which was beautifully decorated, with the usual high quality furnishings, mini fridge, wardrobe, TV etc and superb much-needed air-con in the Indian Summer heatwave! The bathroom was immaculate and very well designed and throughout our trip, having stayed at a hotel with a Michelin starred restaurant, was the only bathroom which was totally up to date and completely damp/grubby grouting free! Gorgeous fluffy towels and robes too and as always, lovely products in the bathroom in generous 100ml sizes, which you are encouraged to take home.

We enjoyed a lazy couple of cocktails (which were fabulous) in the very sunny courtyard garden, with stylish wooden furniture, parasols and very effective sail-type canopies, providing shade from the sun, or rain for cooler, damp days.

We did dine in the Bistro, which was part of our deal – for a Sunday evening, the place was buzzing with atmosphere. Our food was good, although not overwhelming. We then enjoyed a cheeky digestivo in the bar area after dinner. Our deal didn’t include breakfast and having over-indulged for a week, opted for healthy fruit and yoghurts from the supermarket prior to having a lazy lunch elsewhere before departing home. However, we’ve no doubt that breakfast would be lovely.

We would definitely return – loved the hotel and loved Poole Harbour!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews