We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit and looking forward to #4”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We've stayed here several times and the high standards that we've enjoyed previously have been maintained. Well equipped rooms, very good food and excellent staff. the restaurant manager was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

A bit of a mixed bag....

The hotel itself is in a lovely building and we were lucky enough to stay in the main bit, which meant we had high ceilings and a lovely view of the Church yard and Georgian terrace at the front. The room was spacious, the bathroom clean and tidy ('tho not a patch on HdV Newcastle...) and the welcome very warm. We went on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate, which I thought pricey but, on reflection, was pretty good value at £195 as I suspect that the restaurant is probably the best place to eat in the town. But we got no sleep - the aircon in the room had something of a mind of its own coupled with a recurring clunk, which kept both of us up all night. Not great.

To their credit, HdV were very good about it. We were late for breakfast because we were exhausted but they sent breakfast up to the room after the 10am cut-off and when we raised the issue upon check-out, they knocked £50 off the bill, which basically covered the drinks we totted up whilst we were there, and defused most of the anger - although didn't stop the yawning!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trigger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

superb location for boat,bicycle,car trips around Dorset,from the quay. Great front of house staff and manager with hands on personal approach. A really friendly atmosphere and ideal to chill out and have those romantic moments. Bistro restaurant was superb with great afternoon cream tea. Sun trap outdoor terrace. Rooms & suites are excellent with all you could ask for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrunchieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We spent 8 days in the west country staying at various hotels. This was by far the best hotel. Exceptionally clean, large and well decorated bedroom and bathroom. A nice touch was the fresh milk they provide in the fridge rather than that horrible UHT stuff. Lovely breakfast and a great location by the old quay.
Our only very small niggle was the £1 automatically added to your bill on check out for the Variety Club. Surely a charity box in reception or an envelope in your room would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryStyle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This was the third time we have visited this hotel and often when you return, things never seem the same . Well they were better and the new manager (ex York DuVin) has addressed some of the areas that in the past were worthy of the odd niggle.
The hotel, its location, and particularly the staff made sure we had a memorable stay.
As an added bonus this is one of the few hotel chains that do not have an infernal machine where you are supposed to toast your own (poor quality) bread. Fresh toast and tea from the kitchen - the start of a perfect breakfast. Holiday Inn, Hilton, Marriot & Raddison take note...PLEASE ditch the toaster it doesn't work!!
You will be very very unlucky if you come way from here not having had an enjoyable experience .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed for the weekend in early September. I can confirm that the good reviews on Trip Advisor are accurate. The decor was lovely, service excellent, good atmosphere in the bistro and bar. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gumboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Don't get me wrong, this is a lovelly hotel in an ideal location for Poole harbour .. But you would expect it to be nice at £190.00 per night with no breakfast included !! .... What i found unnecessary were the petty charges made during our stay like :- £1.90 for the buscuits with the tea in our room .... £8.00 charge for them to take my car no more than 200 yards around the corner to a car park that resembled a building site and this ... the cracker ... adding £1 to my bill, without consulting me, for the variety club !!! Had they asked me prior to printing the bill or, had they had a collection tin on reception i would have been happy to donate but come on ... adding it to my bill then asking if it was ok with a reception full of people behind me checking out ... Not impressed !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superduke99026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
854 reviews
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £100 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing